Customer Reviews for

Chosen Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I esp liked "Chosen Prey" for a variety of reasons ...

I esp liked "Chosen Prey" for a variety of reasons - not the least of which was the always enjoyable Sanford writing style & story construction. However, "Chosen", more than any other of the prey series thusfar, revealed in greater depth: 1) The complex nature of law en...
I esp liked "Chosen Prey" for a variety of reasons - not the least of which was the always enjoyable Sanford writing style & story construction. However, "Chosen", more than any other of the prey series thusfar, revealed in greater depth: 1) The complex nature of law enforcement & the legal process & 2) A more personal side of its recurring cast of characters. As an added bonus, we also got glimpses of the direction Lucas will be taking in his personal & "business" life.

I'm already on to the next installment & want to re-emphasize that the best reading experience for the prey series is to read them in order.

posted by 9798329 on February 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

BIG tumbs up

The last book in the series i think was just bad and i was almost going to stop with the series for fear that the rest of the series was going to be like that but i was glad when my friend told me that this book was so much better

posted by 6658663 on June 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    I esp liked "Chosen Prey" for a variety of reasons ...

    I esp liked "Chosen Prey" for a variety of reasons - not the least of which was the always enjoyable Sanford writing style & story construction. However, "Chosen", more than any other of the prey series thusfar, revealed in greater depth: 1) The complex nature of law enforcement & the legal process & 2) A more personal side of its recurring cast of characters. As an added bonus, we also got glimpses of the direction Lucas will be taking in his personal & "business" life.

    I'm already on to the next installment & want to re-emphasize that the best reading experience for the prey series is to read them in order.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    BIG tumbs up

    The last book in the series i think was just bad and i was almost going to stop with the series for fear that the rest of the series was going to be like that but i was glad when my friend told me that this book was so much better

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    A must Read

    Davenport is an amazing character. For anyone loving murder mystery, this is a great pick!! I recommend srating form the first in the series to get the full effect of Davenport and his wild life!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2001

    Excellent Prey Book

    This, along with the rest of the 'Prey' books, was excellent. It was nice to see Lucas back with Weather, and I think this is the first book where I have not seen him involved with more than one woman! REFRESHING..... The only dissapointment was, I don't want to wait for the next book to find out if Weather is pregnant!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    John Sanford knocks a homerun!!!

    Sanford really knocks it out of the park on this one. A really great read, with a fasinateing ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Itt.yi

    Gjd . ?myr ..t . i .te .jfh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    My favorite LD novel because it depicts a criminal as being happ

    My favorite LD novel because it depicts a criminal as being happily aware he is a homicidal maniac. The circling Davenport bothers the villain but that doesn't stop him. A nattily dressed neat freak mass murderer haunts the pages of this novel. Sandford's character construction is flawless in this one and in my opinion deserving of as the professor would say "High Marks".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Back on Track

    Easy Prey, #11 in the series, was just not very good. With Chosen Prey, Sandford returns to what this series is all about - great characters, great plot, some heavy duty evil and serious twists and turns along the way. This is one of the best in the entire Prey Series and, while the ending becomes predictable towards the last few chapters, it is still a thrill ride. You can probably read any of the books as "stand alones" but reading them in order adds depth to the characters and story lines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    What a bust

    Its not all too often that while reading a book that I decide what will happen to a point based on how an author works a character. While reading this book it was all to clear what the outcome would be and I was 99% right with about 119 pages left. That is too bad, this book started out really good. Had a nice pace going until mid-way through and it started to unravel page by page. Sandford seems to have hit a wall with this Prey series in my opinion. I have liked just about all of them but I have noticed a small decline in his writing, he is still good at what he does but maybe hes becoming bored with it himself. One other thing I have noticed is alot of time the same things are said in each book. I am not talking about a desciption of a character such as how Lucas looks or an item he is describing. Its more of a chain of words he uses alot, every book it seems. Just something personal I dont like is all but other than that Sandford is a good read but this book is lacking, you will figure it out before you get to heavy into it and that takes all the fun away from it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Arranged Murders

    Chosen Prey's, by John Sandford, characters are real as is the plot of the mystery. Although one can see where Mr. Sandford is going, it's fun to read/listen to how he gets there. Eric Conger who narrated the audio is very good. I recommed this book/cd/cassette to all mystery fans. Kit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    not my cup of tea

    this was my first and probably last book ill read by sanford. im mainly in to horror and thriller writers. when i read the description of the book i thought it would be good reading but after the first chapter which was the best part of the book it got into the long boring investigation of the detective and not enough was writen about the killer. if you like perry mason and murder she wrote then go for it. Me ill stick to dean koonze S. king John Saul Richard layman Bentley little.michael prescott to name a few. Sanford is too tame for my blood and booring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Gripping, thrilling, couldn't wait to turn the page!

    Very well-written by Sandford! Lots of twists and turns to add to the exciting, almost eerie, plot. This book kept my undivided attention and had me glued to the pages and unsuspecting turn-of-events. I highly recommend this title to anyone who enjoys suspense and the twisted mind of a murderer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    Not great but not bad

    I think this book was very intresting with the different points of view. At times it was hard to keep track of who was who but overall it was a very thrilling book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Another great Sandford novel

    I found this book another fast paced read. I have loved every one of his books but I would recommend that you begin with the first one he wrote Rules Of Prey. Reason being that the characters develope along the series and its easier to understand who is who.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2002

    Language unnecessary

    This was the first book I have ever read by this author, and it will definately be the last. Sure, the story was great...my type of read, except for the fact that it had the most awful language in it that I have ever read!!!!!! The story would have been a lot better if it didn't have ' G.D.' and ' F' about 5 times on every page. I understand some language to set the atmosphere and so on, but THAT WAS RIDICULOUS!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2002

    Chosen Prey Not First Choice of Prey Series

    If you're going to read the Prey Series, start with the first book Rules of Prey. By the time you reach Easy Prey and Chosen Prey, the twelfth and thirteenth books in the series, you will be a prey aficionado and able to better appreciate John Sandford's prolific prescience peddling prey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2001

    FANTASTIC SUSPENSE

    I listened to this book on CD during a long road trip. It made the time pass SO FAST! I've read all of his books, and each book is better than the last!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2001

    Lucas Davenport rides again

    Ihave read the whole prey series up to date! rules of prey was the first! and chosen prey was the last and until sandford creates another prey novel i will read no other! his kidd novels are also great reading! ive read everything he has to offer under the name sandford and all his books have glue on the cover 'they are hard to put down'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2001

    Davenport is great!!

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat. I could not put in down. Again, the author has done a great job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2001

    NICE JOB

    The first of Mr. Sanford's books I have read and I am impressed. Good pacing and fun story. Will read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5