BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Chosen Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I esp liked "Chosen Prey" for a variety of reasons ...

I esp liked "Chosen Prey" for a variety of reasons - not the least of which was the always enjoyable Sanford writing style & story construction. However, "Chosen", more than any other of the prey series thusfar, revealed in greater depth: 1) The complex nature of law en...
I esp liked "Chosen Prey" for a variety of reasons - not the least of which was the always enjoyable Sanford writing style & story construction. However, "Chosen", more than any other of the prey series thusfar, revealed in greater depth: 1) The complex nature of law enforcement & the legal process & 2) A more personal side of its recurring cast of characters. As an added bonus, we also got glimpses of the direction Lucas will be taking in his personal & "business" life.

I'm already on to the next installment & want to re-emphasize that the best reading experience for the prey series is to read them in order.

posted by 9798329 on February 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

BIG tumbs up

The last book in the series i think was just bad and i was almost going to stop with the series for fear that the rest of the series was going to be like that but i was glad when my friend told me that this book was so much better

posted by 6658663 on June 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    I esp liked "Chosen Prey" for a variety of reasons ...

    I esp liked "Chosen Prey" for a variety of reasons - not the least of which was the always enjoyable Sanford writing style & story construction. However, "Chosen", more than any other of the prey series thusfar, revealed in greater depth: 1) The complex nature of law enforcement & the legal process & 2) A more personal side of its recurring cast of characters. As an added bonus, we also got glimpses of the direction Lucas will be taking in his personal & "business" life.

    I'm already on to the next installment & want to re-emphasize that the best reading experience for the prey series is to read them in order.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    A must Read

    Davenport is an amazing character. For anyone loving murder mystery, this is a great pick!! I recommend srating form the first in the series to get the full effect of Davenport and his wild life!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2001

    Excellent Prey Book

    This, along with the rest of the 'Prey' books, was excellent. It was nice to see Lucas back with Weather, and I think this is the first book where I have not seen him involved with more than one woman! REFRESHING..... The only dissapointment was, I don't want to wait for the next book to find out if Weather is pregnant!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Itt.yi

    Gjd . ?myr ..t . i .te .jfh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    My favorite LD novel because it depicts a criminal as being happ

    My favorite LD novel because it depicts a criminal as being happily aware he is a homicidal maniac. The circling Davenport bothers the villain but that doesn't stop him. A nattily dressed neat freak mass murderer haunts the pages of this novel. Sandford's character construction is flawless in this one and in my opinion deserving of as the professor would say "High Marks".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Gripping, thrilling, couldn't wait to turn the page!

    Very well-written by Sandford! Lots of twists and turns to add to the exciting, almost eerie, plot. This book kept my undivided attention and had me glued to the pages and unsuspecting turn-of-events. I highly recommend this title to anyone who enjoys suspense and the twisted mind of a murderer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Another great Sandford novel

    I found this book another fast paced read. I have loved every one of his books but I would recommend that you begin with the first one he wrote Rules Of Prey. Reason being that the characters develope along the series and its easier to understand who is who.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2001

    FANTASTIC SUSPENSE

    I listened to this book on CD during a long road trip. It made the time pass SO FAST! I've read all of his books, and each book is better than the last!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2001

    Lucas Davenport rides again

    Ihave read the whole prey series up to date! rules of prey was the first! and chosen prey was the last and until sandford creates another prey novel i will read no other! his kidd novels are also great reading! ive read everything he has to offer under the name sandford and all his books have glue on the cover 'they are hard to put down'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2001

    Davenport is great!!

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat. I could not put in down. Again, the author has done a great job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2001

    One of the best Preys

    I have read all of John Sandford's books, including all of the Kidd novels, and this on ranks right up there with his best. I loved how he introduced Kidd into the plot, and I hope to see more of this in future Prey novels, and Kidd novels. I had been a little disappointed with Easy Prey, but Chosen Prey cleared all the doubts I had that Lucas would grow up. I can't wait until the next one!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2001

    love it, keep them coming

    So far the best prey. Funny,very good detail.Qatar was one sick puppy i loved the ending.Also like the crossover with Kidd, great.I hope he does that some more with Kidd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    My first from Sandford...

    but it certainly won't be my last. I've never read a John Sandford novel before-and this is my first. I was very worried that I would not comprehend now that it is his 12th 'Prey' novel. But Sandford is truly descriptively amazing as he weaves a riveting story. Though it does not live to what I expect-lots of gruesome death-it keeps you glued to the book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2001

    Totally Awesome

    If you have ever read a James Patterson novel, then you MUST read John Sandford's Chosen Prey. It is a page turner and forget about any sleep, you can't put this book down. Lucas Davenport, once again, shows his expertise in solving cases. Always be on the lookout, you never know who is watching you or sizing you up. After reading this book, you become more observant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2001

    Choise A Very Well Written Book

    CHOSEN PREY Chosen Prey by John Sandford. This is another excellent book from John Sandford. Readers who know and like his past characters like the Minneapolis police, who are friends from past novels, especially an old friend Deputy Chief Lucas Davenport, will read it with pleasure. Lucas is his old self, doing what he does best, catching a perverted killer and politicking to keep his job. The perpetrator has been in the game so long and has made so many girls disappear that he has to find a place to dispose of them. He has his own special graveyard, which is on a beautiful wooden hill, no gravestones of course, all blond, beautiful girls, not overly bright who disappear with out a trace. Our pervert is a very well educated person who likes pornographic art and produces it. He is an excellent contestant for Lucas Davenport.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Greta police procedural

    Colleagues respect St. Patrick University associate professor art historian James Qatar for his collective works. This includes one book and several scholarly articles published in highly regarded journals and magazines. Unbeknownst to his peers is that Professor Qater has a second life in which he hunts blondes, has sex with them, and kills them. <P>When an early victim is found, the police link her to photographs that are part of Qater¿s hobby of creating pornographic works with womemen he knows bnut who don¿t really know him.. Being a political appointee, Minneapolis Deputy Chief of Police Lucas Davenport expects to lose his job within six months when the mayor retires. Lucas intends to use his time wisely to catch the killer. <P> John Sandford is one of the top authors of police procedurals due to his three dimensional characters that consistently turn the ¿Prey¿ books into great reads. The hero is a flawed individual with a complex and realistic personal life that places demands on him even as he risks everything because he believes in the value of justice for all. CHOSEN PREY is the best of a great series. The audience knows the identity of the killer early on, but watch in fascination as Lucas tries to do likewise while balancing his complex personal life. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2001

    A MATCHLESSLY ARTICULATED READING

    With 'Chosen Prey,' the 12th novel in his blockbuster Prey series, author John Sandford again reinforces his standing as one of our nation's top suspense writers. Yet, he surpasses even himself in this extraordinary story of a sanguine art professor, a deviate who secretly photographs women and then converts the photos to sexual drawings. The professor's predilection soon turns to murder. Minneapolis Deputy Police Chief Lucas Davenport takes the case himself little realizing the dangers he will face or the perverted villain he is tracking. Available on audio cassettes in both the abridged and unabridged versions and on CDs, this harrowing tale is can't-stop-listening. Richard Ferrone, who reads the unabridged version, is a master of the spoken word. He delivers an exhilarating, emotion packed rendering to this, his ninth Prey recording. Eric Conger, voice for the abridged recording, is exceptional. His theater, radio and television experience stand him in good stead with this, his third Prey recording. Matchlessly articulated readings bring pursuer and pursued to dramatic life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3