Customer Reviews for

Chosen at Nightfall (Shadow Falls Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(194)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

** Spoiler alert ** NOOOOOOOOOO! Kylie chose Lucas. I was furiou

** Spoiler alert ** NOOOOOOOOOO! Kylie chose Lucas. I was furious then knowing the fact the Derek also found someone (Jenny) I was pleased that both Lucas and Derek fond their life partner. And the ending was awesome. Believe it or not it was amazing knowing that Kylie ...
** Spoiler alert ** NOOOOOOOOOO! Kylie chose Lucas. I was furious then knowing the fact the Derek also found someone (Jenny) I was pleased that both Lucas and Derek fond their life partner. And the ending was awesome. Believe it or not it was amazing knowing that Kylie was able to defeat Mario and kill John because believe it or not John was Mario's brother. It was amazing how CC Hunter tied everything back to her main quest: finding out whom she is, who to pick, and how to defeat Mario and free herself from his clutches. Moreover, Lucas was able to make it on the Council because of his grandmother. Oh, and I was heartbroken when I read that she died because she was the closet of family to Lucas since she loved him more than his own father. And a huge thing that happened was that Holiday got pregnant and Burnett and Holiday are getting married since their love has compelled them to. And since Kylie had to free her mom of John's clutches she had to tell her mom about her being a chameleon and the other species living at Shadow Falls. Luckily her real father - Daniel was granted time to come and help explain it all to Kylie's mom. Daniel ends up becoming a death angel himself. And the ghost that told Kylie that she will have to kill someone is Red's mom and she saved her son from dying because Mario and 2 other guys were the ones to kill her. Kylie learns how to sword fight because that was the strategy she had to use to kill Mario and the death angels send her one that was going to kill him. Lucas and the ghost trained Kylie how to sword fight. I think that I covered all the major things that happened though if I missed anything please tell me.



posted by Patch_Vincent_Edward_2013 on April 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

The best book ever

Good and not good

posted by Anonymous on December 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    ** Spoiler alert ** NOOOOOOOOOO! Kylie chose Lucas. I was furiou

    ** Spoiler alert ** NOOOOOOOOOO! Kylie chose Lucas. I was furious then knowing the fact the Derek also found someone (Jenny) I was pleased that both Lucas and Derek fond their life partner. And the ending was awesome. Believe it or not it was amazing knowing that Kylie was able to defeat Mario and kill John because believe it or not John was Mario's brother. It was amazing how CC Hunter tied everything back to her main quest: finding out whom she is, who to pick, and how to defeat Mario and free herself from his clutches. Moreover, Lucas was able to make it on the Council because of his grandmother. Oh, and I was heartbroken when I read that she died because she was the closet of family to Lucas since she loved him more than his own father. And a huge thing that happened was that Holiday got pregnant and Burnett and Holiday are getting married since their love has compelled them to. And since Kylie had to free her mom of John's clutches she had to tell her mom about her being a chameleon and the other species living at Shadow Falls. Luckily her real father - Daniel was granted time to come and help explain it all to Kylie's mom. Daniel ends up becoming a death angel himself. And the ghost that told Kylie that she will have to kill someone is Red's mom and she saved her son from dying because Mario and 2 other guys were the ones to kill her. Kylie learns how to sword fight because that was the strategy she had to use to kill Mario and the death angels send her one that was going to kill him. Lucas and the ghost trained Kylie how to sword fight. I think that I covered all the major things that happened though if I missed anything please tell me.



    20 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Got no parts for me but it is very good forr a little girl The best book every

    Good

    19 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    AMAZING!

    This series ended great! There are still those moments that your mouth hangs open, laugh till you cry, and also the heartwrenching ones. I could not stop reading this! I loved that everyone ended up with somebody other than Kylie's mom. It's a gotta read and there is only one problem with this series. That problem is that it is going hard to find another book that can even compare to this book!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    I LOVE THIS SERIES

    I love the series but whats next i would like fir there to be a new series were kylie actually knows how to use her powers correctly to save people from gangs and why not make a movie about the series like harry potter i actually want to see kylie and all her friends so please c.c.hunter think about making a movies to the series

    IF YOU AGREE HIT YES LETS TRY TO GET AS MUCH YESES AS WE CAN BECAUSE WE ARE SHADOW FALLER

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Anonymous

    WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILERS

    I'm sad to say that I didn't really like this book. It wasn't a strong conclusion to the series. I feel like the author was just in a rush to finish. The author didn't fully develop some of the characters opinions. Take Lucas for example, in all the other books he was very attached to his pack and it sometimes seemed like he was conflicted when it came to prioritizing between his pack and Kylie, but now in Chosen at Nightfall Lucas trails Kylie like a lost puppy and completely disregards his pack. I'm not saying I have a problem with the plot, it's just that whenever a character changed their opinion it wasn't gradual which made them seem a bit indecisive and rash. Another thing I didn't like was how fast Derek got over Kylie. It was like Romeo getting over Rosaline but quicker, but that might just be me since I was such a Derek and Kylie shipper and I had only gotten half an hour of sleep the day I read this. Whatever the case, I didn't particularly like this book. The series as a whole was good though. Thanks C. C. Hunter :D

    Still pretty miffed Kylie chose Lucas :(...

    -A (no, not from PLL)

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Chosen at Nightfall is the 5th, and final, book in the Shadow Fa

    Chosen at Nightfall is the 5th, and final, book in the Shadow Falls series by C.C. Hunter. This is a wonderful young adult series that I'm going to miss. Kylie has a lot on her plate in this book. She feels overwhelmed between deciding which guy to choose, dealing with a ghost who wants something from her, someone wanting to kill her, etc... At the end of the last book, Kylie left Shadow Falls to find out more about the special kind of supernatural she is. Luckily in this book, it doesn't take her too long before she decides that Shadow Falls is where she belongs.

    I was just a tad bored in the very beginning when Kylie was staying with her grandfather. I couldn't wait until she was interacting with the other characters again. Once she's back at Shadow Falls, there's never a dull moment. Every background character plays a big part in making this such a great series. I normally don't even care about the background characters in most books, but C.C. Hunter does a great job of giving each one their own distinct personality in this series.

    In this book, Kylie has finally found herself. All through the series, she struggled with who and what she was. She hated being different from everyone else. In this book, she finds out about even more special qualities that she has. She's not exactly happy about it, but she accepts it. She has a large role to play, and must learn to fight in order to save herself and the ones she loves.

    The love triangle finally comes to an end! I have been going back and forth between Lucas and Derek during this whole series. In the last book I was definitely Team Derek. In this book, both guys were back on equal ground. Both of them are great guys, but they have also both done something to hurt Kylie. I actually ended up being a little surprised by her decision, but in the end I think it was the right one. I was completely satisfied with the ending – everything was wrapped up nicely. I'm going to miss all of these characters. If you are a fan of YA paranormal romances, then I definitely recommend this series!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    SHADOW FALLS <3!!!!

    I still cant believe this is the end to Kylie's story, Ms. Hunter did an amazing job. This is officially thebest series i've ever read! ( ok ok. Twilight was good too, but this series blew me away)
    I was hooked eversince Born At Midnight up to Chosen At Nightfall and i stilll don't want it to be over!!! But i can't wait for the next book she publishes and i DEFF RECOMEND IT!!! <3333

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Best book!

    This was a good wrap up of the shadow fall series! I loved the ending because i was always team Lucas :) i really enjoyed reading this series and i look forward to reading other books written by c.c. hunter! I wish this series wouldnt end here...... well this book was fabulous and i finished it in several hours because it was so good!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Cant wait for saved at sunrise!!(:

    I loved this series more than anything!!! Im kinda hoping that c.c.hunter will include alittle more on the next book about how they end up later on though....yeaaah.(: But im excited to reread everthing until Saved at sunrise comes out in april 2nd!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Awesome!!!!

    The cutest and funniest book ever!!
    I totally loved it. It kept me reading and i couldnt put it down!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    I love these books

    I can't wait to read this! I've been waiting forever! So exited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    The best book ever

    Good and not good

    3 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I love these books it was hard putting it down

    Cant wait for the next books

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I love this series sooo much!!!

    I've been readin this series since it first came out. I'm in love with characters. I'm in love with how thois book and glad with the chocies with who ended up with who. I can't wait to read the series on Della. Thank C.C. hunter for righting such an amazing series!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    GREAT END TO A GREAT SERIES!!!!!

    This has been an absolutely GREAT series in the YA paranormal genre. I loved the way Ms. Hunter wrapped everything up. I absolutely hate reviews with spoilers, so let me just say that I was not disappointed in any of the choices made in writing this final book.

    I love that Ms. Hunter knows when a series has run its course. I used to love the House of Night series, but it has drug on sooooo long that I am completely over it. This series was perfect in the way it has held my attention. It didn't drag on and on. Each book was very exciting and full of action and drama. It is a great series not just about a group of paranormal kids, but a series on growing up and learning to accept changes. It was about love and friendship and choosing a future. LOVED IT! LOVED IT!! LOVED IT!!!!!!!

    I also loved to hear that Ms. Hunter is currently working on a spin-off series centering around Della due out next year. I cannot wait.

    Thanx for a great series Ms. Hunter. I will always be looking for more from you.

    -- SPeeD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Loved not like

    Yesss loved this book amazing
    First off my team won haha to team derek and up top to all my fellow team lucaus lovers
    Second I loved this book a ton this was my obsest seires for a while some of these books I have read like seven times that is how much I was A) bord because some times I don't have a life or I don't want to hang out with my friends because they give me a head ache B) Loving the books and paying my respect to them.
    Third this book was AMAZING only thing I would change is to add a scene in the future when she and lucuse are married and have some very cute children a boy and get this a girl

    Over all take my advice get this book as in right now !!! I dare you all right so dont be a dushbag and get this book put this away and get it this very secound so stop reading these crapy reviews with all there "spoilers" as they call them that ruen the book and so thanks for reading my crapy review !!!!!




    One word for you person who kept reading this ' A-hole ' ! that is what you are at this momet
    So you better stop reading this right now and get that book other wise you are going to contiue to be a A-hole the rest of your A-holeish life because you didnt get the book when I told you to get so my final words in this review are stop being a a$$- hole

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Great!

    Great ending to a great series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Very good!

    Very good!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    A great end to a great series!

    I would read it again and again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    no

    The butt

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13