Customer Reviews for

Chosen by a Horse

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chosen by a Horse is a must have!!

I could not put this book down. It is written beautifully. I recommend it to horse lovers and non-horse lovers. I'm now reading Chosen Forever.

posted by Cherilynn_R on July 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

poorly written, and a bit preposterous.

I thought this story was disappointing. I couldn't relate to the woman at all. It's one thing to love animals and quite another to be obsessed with them.

posted by bookedupLA on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Chosen by a Horse is a must have!!

    I could not put this book down. It is written beautifully. I recommend it to horse lovers and non-horse lovers. I'm now reading Chosen Forever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    I love this book.

    I have loved horses for as long as I can remember. Having one was never an option unless I would have boarded it somewhere, which would have left somone else taking care of it. I so understand Susan. Unless someone has been repeatedly hurt by people they have no idea how loving animals so completely is their way of life are how much animals teach one how to begin to love and trust people. I was there my whole life. There have been many kinds of animals over the years. Just never got a real horse instead of the imaginary one I would ride everywhere as a child. Like Susan alcohol was present in my life and lost many people because of it. I'm now a senior...to late to have a horse, but I have friends now who do and are only to glad to share. I have always felt God out did Its-self when the horse was created. They take my breath away. I feel close to Susan because of this story and wish I could spend time with her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    This book changed my life!

    I love this book! It truly made me look at my life and be honest with myself about what I wanted. I was a lot like Susan, terrified of relationships, but hearing her story and understanding her bond made me look at my life a lot closer. Like Susan, I was able to have an amazing realtionship with a horse named Marley. I definately recommend this for anyone struggling with relationships, but also anyone who loves horses and understands or wants to understand the amazing bond between human and horse! I cant wait to read the next two books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    A Must Read for Animal Lovers

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book about the special relationship between a woman and a horse who captured her heart. The story is proof that animals can be good for the soul. I wanted to read the book quickly but didn't want it to end. Now I'm looking forward to reading "Chosen Forever."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    poorly written, and a bit preposterous.

    I thought this story was disappointing. I couldn't relate to the woman
    at all. It's one thing to love animals and quite another to be obsessed
    with them.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    So many lessons to learn from horses

    I loved this book so much! I laughed, cried, and thought so many deep thoughts while reading this beautifully written memoir. We make life's simple lessons so complicated. Leave it to the animals to teach us about humanity!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Horse

    Well im a horse person

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    This book was well written and heart touching. I highly recomme

    This book was well written and heart touching. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Best book ever

    The book made me laugh and cry i love horses and susan richards is amazing u must read saddled by her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    To both two posts below mine

    Theres probaly horses somewhere in the story.~Violaclaw and Clarinettail (I play viola and clarinet. I also love horses, foxes, and wolves. But I love all animals.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Is it about horses or Christmad?

    ???????????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Horses?

    What does this have to do with horses???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Wonderful book for horse lovers!

    Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Awesome

    An amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Excellent read!

    This one gripped my attention from the very beginning to the last word...... must be the horse lover in me!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great book

    I think this is he bes book inbthe world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Great Read!

    I could not put this book down! It will make you laugh and cry! I love horses which helped me to relate to Susan Richards, but I lent this book to my sister who is not a horse person and she also loved it! Must Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Touching & moving

    Loved this book (and Richards other book, Saddled). Great author, wonderfully written. Amazing how when we rescue an animal we end up being the ones saved!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Hello

    I like it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    ????

    Could someone tell me what Dickens "A Christmas Carol" has to do with a book supposedly about a horse? It's in the synopsis. I would order the book but not if I'm going to receive a moldy old Dickens novel.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6