BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Chosen to Die (Montana 'To Die' Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great read. Minor upsets.

First of all....I LOVED the book and it will, as have all Lisa Jackson's books, be kept on my book shelf.
I DO have a question, however. In "Left to Die" at the end of the book, Jillian's attacker, who was originally thought to be the Star Crossed killer, was killed in...
First of all....I LOVED the book and it will, as have all Lisa Jackson's books, be kept on my book shelf.
I DO have a question, however. In "Left to Die" at the end of the book, Jillian's attacker, who was originally thought to be the Star Crossed killer, was killed in a fight with Jillian in the hotel room but in the sequel she is mentioned a number of times as "being in custody" or "being questioned". I thought maybe I misread the first book so I went back and read it again and there is no question Falda was dead as on page 492 the author says "From the glassy stare of Falda's eyes, she knew it was over" and on page 494 Falda's husband says "I'm dying. Falda's gone. She won't hurt you ever again".
Am I losing my mind? Did anyone else notice this?
Also, Elyssa's car is found, and the police talk to her parents, but several chapters later the neither of the cars of the two missing women has been found and the police postpone talking to their parents. And again, Regan's kid is on the ridge watching the tow truck pull his mother's car out of the ravine. Several paragraphs later he spots a tow truck.
Minor details, especially considering what a riveting book it was, but things like this bug me. I also felt Padgett's story was left hanging but perhaps she will reappear in a future book.

posted by Darsey_spudnick on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

intriging

This the second book in the series. After reading the first book, I found you don't know who the killer is until you read the second book. Her books are a little like John Grishams. Good read.

posted by 9398399 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    intriging

    This the second book in the series. After reading the first book, I found you don't know who the killer is until you read the second book. Her books are a little like John Grishams. Good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Easy read

    fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    A must read

    Read the first book of the series and was immediately drawn in. Had to purchase the second. Very engaging, kept me wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Not as good as the first book.

    I don't "review" books - I just say what my impression was and, in this case, there was not enough "foreshadowing". I don't like giving things away but the truth of the matter is, the identity and motivation of the killer was just so obscure... There was a fair amount of switching back and forth between places and points of view, and that just broke the book up in an awkward way.

    But it served its purpose - I'm neck-deep in studying and sometimes I just need to read something mindless to get me to sleep. This did the trick.

    Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I'm glad this book was under $5. All of the script flaws are dis

    I'm glad this book was under $5. All of the script flaws are distracting and this author seems to be stuck on the characters "setting their jaw". Every chapter someone is setting their jaw. The story is ok, but she needs a better editor.,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Better

    The second book in Jackson's Montana series is a much better read. Though still somewhat repetative it is much more exciting and leaves the reader with a real hunger to get to the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Okay.....

    Overall an okay book, just not my style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Pretty good

    I like Lisa's writting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Recommend to people who have read: "Left to Die"

    Good follow up to Left to Die but too much time spent on self examination on the part of the main characters and repetition of past events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Inconsistencies and hanging story lines.

    This was the second book by Lisa jackson that I have read. The only reason I read it was the need for closure. Going into the first book I did not realize it was a two-part story. The characters were well developed and the story line seemed solid in the first book. Starting the second book there were major inconsistencies to the first book. If not for the nagging whodunnit feeling I would have put the book down. I do understand there is a third to the series and am torn whether to read it or not. The inconsistencies in the first two are enough to keep me away while the unfinished storylines keep me mildly intrigued. Does Padgett's story pick up in the third? I do not know and probably never will. It is a shame that these two books were my introduction to this author as other reviewers claim her to be their favorite. Reading these two books left me with a novice author feeling and disinterested to read more of her work. While I finished both books i would NOT recommend them to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    I did not know that this was book #2...

    I really couldn't get into this book and now I know why...I needed to read Left To Die first. Bummer! I already skimmed this book, only because I hate to leave a book unfinished and I know how it ends. OOPS! Maybe I will give several months and go back and begin at book 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    not as gruesome as some of her other books

    This was thrilling as well as gruesome and finding out who was the killer was good but not all things as to how the killer picked his targets were completely explained.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    A shocker

    This book was a "follow-on" book from 2008. I had been waiting for its release in August. I was surprised that it started out with a victim right in the beginning. There was some reference to the previous book on this topic, and those reminders were good. The author supplied much drama and suspense, and a very interesting (if not somewhat disturbing) plot. I look forward to more of her books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2