BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

At first I didn't like it, but then...

truth is, like everyone else, i was skeptical at first to find out that anne rice of all people, would write a book about the early life of jesus. So I read the book out of curiosity, and found it dull. Couple of months later, I tried reading it again and loved it. It i...
truth is, like everyone else, i was skeptical at first to find out that anne rice of all people, would write a book about the early life of jesus. So I read the book out of curiosity, and found it dull. Couple of months later, I tried reading it again and loved it. It is an incredible book and one that I somehow felt, sooner or later, anne rice would write. And to those who didn't like it because it portrayed as 'sinful' jesus (which is a stupid thing to say, for in the book Jesus is a child and killed the boy by accident, not intentionally) or because 'it was a complete turn from her vampire books', I can just say that they are being very closeminded. Anne Rice does not say this is a true story, she says it a fictionalized account of all her research on the early life of jesus (which in itself is very scarce). And just because she wrote books about witches and vampires and sadomasochism doesn't mean she shouldn't have written a book about Jesus. If you read all the vampire chronicles, in every book of the vampires, there is an underlying message that anne rice is telling that somehow God, or something, exists, that we are not alone in the world, despite everything. Somehow she had always believed in God, wheter or not she was conscious of it, and that showed a lot in her previous books. Catholic saints, a divinine comedy-like journey from heaven to hell? No one should be surprised Anne Rice would return to Christianity. I'm not christian myself, but I did enjoy this book so much it is my favorite. It was a bit slow at times, and not as descriptive and detailed as her previous books, but it was amazingly written. It is a work of art, and I hope that everyone reads this books at least once.

posted by Anonymous on July 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

scary for people who are not Christians

I enjoy fiction as much as the next person. I am a sinner just like the rest of us. However, I am a Christian and have to write to the non Christians that read this book. Jesus is God in man form. He was, and still is, without sin. This book leads people to think of...
I enjoy fiction as much as the next person. I am a sinner just like the rest of us. However, I am a Christian and have to write to the non Christians that read this book. Jesus is God in man form. He was, and still is, without sin. This book leads people to think of him as sinful in an innocent way which would never happen. This is deceiving if you do not know the Lord Jesus Christ. Please understand that this is only a fiction book. If you want to know about Jesus Christ this is not the book to read.

posted by Anonymous on March 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    At first I didn't like it, but then...

    truth is, like everyone else, i was skeptical at first to find out that anne rice of all people, would write a book about the early life of jesus. So I read the book out of curiosity, and found it dull. Couple of months later, I tried reading it again and loved it. It is an incredible book and one that I somehow felt, sooner or later, anne rice would write. And to those who didn't like it because it portrayed as 'sinful' jesus (which is a stupid thing to say, for in the book Jesus is a child and killed the boy by accident, not intentionally) or because 'it was a complete turn from her vampire books', I can just say that they are being very closeminded. Anne Rice does not say this is a true story, she says it a fictionalized account of all her research on the early life of jesus (which in itself is very scarce). And just because she wrote books about witches and vampires and sadomasochism doesn't mean she shouldn't have written a book about Jesus. If you read all the vampire chronicles, in every book of the vampires, there is an underlying message that anne rice is telling that somehow God, or something, exists, that we are not alone in the world, despite everything. Somehow she had always believed in God, wheter or not she was conscious of it, and that showed a lot in her previous books. Catholic saints, a divinine comedy-like journey from heaven to hell? No one should be surprised Anne Rice would return to Christianity. I'm not christian myself, but I did enjoy this book so much it is my favorite. It was a bit slow at times, and not as descriptive and detailed as her previous books, but it was amazingly written. It is a work of art, and I hope that everyone reads this books at least once.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    scary for people who are not Christians

    I enjoy fiction as much as the next person. I am a sinner just like the rest of us. However, I am a Christian and have to write to the non Christians that read this book. Jesus is God in man form. He was, and still is, without sin. This book leads people to think of him as sinful in an innocent way which would never happen. This is deceiving if you do not know the Lord Jesus Christ. Please understand that this is only a fiction book. If you want to know about Jesus Christ this is not the book to read.

    9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    NOT the Gospel!!

    I admire Anne Rice for returning to the Catholic Church but I feel I should warn folks about this book. While it has some interesting ideas about the humanity of the young Jesus which one may take to meditation, there are some very troublesome notions in the book as well. Just as the DaVinci code is an injustice to all of Christianity, there are some quite liberal ideas included in the 'Christ the Lord out of Egypt' book. Premier among these notions (though there are many more) is that Joseph and his brothers murder a man and Jesus himself murders a young boy who was bullying him (rest assured Jesus returns the boy to life afterward!) I'm sorry, but these are situations I can not imagine nor do I think they will lead a soul forward! We must be VERY careful to explain that this book is a piece of FICTION for fear of misleading any faithful person's heart away from our Lord in any small way! Instead of proclaiming this book as some new gospel account of our dear Lord's early childhood, and that its scholarship is without question, I think we should first probe its accounts which can NOT be found in sacred scripture.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    Perfect Timing

    I have read just about every Anne Rice book, and while this was quite a departure for her, I found the book to be quite good. Reading about Jesus as a young boy and what sorts of things he might have done is fascinating, as well as timely for me. I could see the young Jesus through my own son. A very touching book from a solid author. I can't wait to read the next...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great portrayal of Jesus as a young child

    At seven years of age Jesus was living on the Street of Carpenters in Alexandria Egypt, an ordinary child who played and learned the studies all Jewish boys must know. The fact that he turned clay pigeons into real birds and that he struck dead a child who bullied him and then brought him back to life didn¿t really impinge on his consciousness although Mary and Joseph know who he is and why he was born to the Virgin Mary. An angel tells Joseph it is time for them to return to Israel so they travel to their homeland. They stop at the Temple in Jerusalem but a riot breaks out between the rebels and Herod¿s troops. They journey to Nazareth, but on the way Jesus stops to heal his Uncle in the river Jordan. A curious child, he listens to the hints about his birth and wants to know what was so special about it. Neither Mary nor Joseph feel he is ready to know these things but when Jesus heals a blind man, he knows he must find out the truth including why his mother says he was born not of man. --- Anne Rice¿s portrayal of Jesus as a young child shows him as both divine and human though he is not aware yet of his origins or his purpose in life. The character gradually comes to realize he is not like other children and wants to know why, something any curious seven-year old would try and find out if they were in his shoes. Perhaps the most beautiful trait Anne Rice¿s Jesus possesses is a wisdom that belies his years and comes out at the most inopportune times. Though well-written, reader bias will either laud Ms. Rice¿s latest work or condemn her interpretation of the boy destined to become the Savior.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    Not Anne at her best

    I found the book painfully slow and not Annes' best work. The idea was good, but it lacked the excitment that her readers are use to. I think that new readers to Anne should start with a different set of her books.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Boring

    All I have to say is this book was boring, I forced myself to finish it hoping it would get good.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    Awful

    Christ all mighty it was, slow and awful. I am an avid reader and I put it down. Stay away from this one. Save your money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    BORING

    Anne Rice is one of my favorite writers and I waited a VERY long time to read this book and was EXTREMELY disappointed. There was no plot and very repetitive........read to the end hoping something would happen - not so. I wouldn't buy this book if you're hoping for anything that will keep you awake. Good alternative to a sleep aide!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    Disappointing

    I was looking forward to reading this book. It sounded like a great idea for a story. But, it turned out to be a very boring read. She was very repetative. No real plot, just too many detailed descriptions of random characters, things, and events. I kept reading and finished the book. I even read the author's notes as other reviewers had suggested. But it never got any better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2005

    INSANLY BORING

    ok i bought it thinking it'd have a nice new view on it , and idk be intresting like her other books. this book is so boring i'm STILL not done with it and i bought it the day after it came out. all it is , is jesus as a child following his family on their trip i mean i dont get the point of the book or anything all they do is journey to their family. Nothing else, only crying and young jesus , saying he's scared/crying/praying. this is one of the few anne rice books i wouldn't recommend to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2005

    Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt

    I thought the premise of this book sounded really interesting, but in reading it found that it never got past that point. The writing was as if reading a first draft, sentences repeating or starting mid-thought. The story plodded along and there were far too many characters that really had nothing to do with the story. The end had a good point but was not enough to turn this book around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Best Part - Author's Notes

    The book is mediocre. The best part of it is the Author's Notes at the end of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt

    I had high hopes for this book. The premise seemed great but it never got past that point. If this is how Anne Rice writes, it's beyond me how she has succeeded as this book read more like a rough draft. Sentences that repeated, others that started as if they were in mid-sentence. Very poor. The story itself was flat, the characters never really stood out and there were way too many. Details were odd, and repetitive. As you read you keep thinking that things would liven up a bit, but no, it just continued to drag on. Only minor bit that was decent was the very last two chapters, bringing up a point I had not considered before, but even then I don't think it was enough to want to buy the next volumes in this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Well intentioned... but...

    This is a weird book. Told in the first person by a seven year old boy, it recounts the return to Nazareth of the young Jesus and his family after their sojourn in Egypt. Ms. Rice's research is remarkable and obviously painstaking. In her notes she states that she has returned to her original faith after many years being married to an atheist. In light of what is happening in the Catholic Church today I find that pretty amazing. But - what the hey - to each his/her own. Based on the author's previous works, this will no doubt be a best seller - it just doesn't deserve to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Not to appear anti anything but this change of genre

    Is only because now she can afford to write non erotica but she would have never been able to make a living if she did this first her wriing skills just aren t up to it nor is her the historical background research. She depends on her name and subject for sales the theme of and avoidance of blood in the old testament and the recurring symbols of blood in the new to drinking of and re life gives a strong sub conscious reason for her choice of this new genre there are certain native tribes that refuse to adopt because of this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    great story

    love all of her books but this was so good such a unique story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Out of Egypt by Anne Rice

    Anne writes well and her conversion story is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    I will look at so many things.........................not necess

    I will look at so many things.........................not necessarily differently, but forever enhanced!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Nursery

    Nursery

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7