Customer Reviews for

Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A New Dimension Of Our Lord

Anne Rice has done it again! Through this new book, she has again presented our Lord Jesus Christ from an inspiring and historical viewpoint. The writing was so vivid that I felt as if I was seeing the story unfolding as it happened. Anne's research is amazing. She brin...
Anne Rice has done it again! Through this new book, she has again presented our Lord Jesus Christ from an inspiring and historical viewpoint. The writing was so vivid that I felt as if I was seeing the story unfolding as it happened. Anne's research is amazing. She brings to life the background of Jesus with all of its culture and human presence. For those who desire to experience and know more of the day-to-day life of Jesus, this book is a must read.

posted by Anonymous on April 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I dont know why anyone would read this.

Ms.Rice should stick to her vampires and erotica. This philosphy is way out of her league, which is obvious in her writing.

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    A New Dimension Of Our Lord

    Anne Rice has done it again! Through this new book, she has again presented our Lord Jesus Christ from an inspiring and historical viewpoint. The writing was so vivid that I felt as if I was seeing the story unfolding as it happened. Anne's research is amazing. She brings to life the background of Jesus with all of its culture and human presence. For those who desire to experience and know more of the day-to-day life of Jesus, this book is a must read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    See Christ's world from his eyes!

    You can smell the dust in Cana. You can feel the water of the Jordan as Christ felt it. It is a beautiful story every Christian should read. It shocks you by making you think about things you never thought about. I could not put it down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    This Anne Rice series gives Jesus a characteristic that encourages people to relate to him in a more realistic sense than as the Son of God. Rice¿s depiction of Jesus allows us to see him as `just¿ a man. She does this masterfully by writing from a first person point of view allowing her readers to sharing his thoughts, his conversations, and his humanity. ¿The Road to Cana¿ gives us possible insight into how difficult Jesus¿ life must have been due to the conflicts with temptations of the flesh versus the destiny of the Son of God. ¿The Road to Cana¿ begins shortly before Jesus¿ baptism in the River Jordan by John the Baptist and concludes with the miracle at Cana, in which Jesus casts out Mary¿s demons. For some reason, no one ¿way back when¿ thought it necessary to chronicle his whole life. Maybe it was too boring, and there was nothing significant. In my mind, his humanity as a man, and not the Son of God, is extremely significant. There are so many beautifully human moments in both of Rice¿s ¿Christ the Lord¿ books. Interestingly, Ms. Rice held to the belief that the angel came to Mary, the wise men came to celebrate his birth, and Jesus was the Son of God. This surprised me a bit. To be honest, I really expected that she would have taken a slightly different approach. I thought it would be a ¿normal¿ birth. All through this series she references the Christian story of Jesus¿ birth. I think Rice did a wonderful job of pulling me back, not letting me forget that this is a story about the Son of God. Anne Rice has branched out with the ¿Christ the Lord¿ books. As far as fans go, you either love her writing or you hate it. However, I foresee a whole new genre of reader will pick up these books and truly enjoy them. She may have some fans from her previous works that will not like this venture but if they are loyal fans, they¿ll read the ¿Christ the Lord¿ books. They may not like the story, but they will fully appreciate her writing. This particular series will not cause a decrease in Anne Rice fans at all. While I could see Ms. Rice could get much criticism for daring to write a story about something that could be construed as blasphemous, I recommend this story to religious believers and non-believers. The writing is beautiful, the humanity presented is very believable, and the story is a wonderful possibility of what could have been.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    Yes, It's Christian

    Sorry, I have to disagree with John, below. This is ideally Christian -- we're SUPPOSED to tell people the Bible story. Jesus Himself told stories. The Bible is a story, and a book of stories, NOT a book of doctrines and legalisms. Anne Rice may bring people to an interest in Christ and His Word that Pat Robertson or Jerry Falwell could never have hoped or imagined. And Ms. Rice's book is far more scripturally accurate than the gnostic, dualistic sci-fi fantasies of the Jenkins & LaHaye series. Five stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana

    Run, don't walk, to purchase this outstanding continuation to Ms. Rice's first Jesus volume, Out of Egypt. This is a stirring, heartfelt book obviously wrought from a deep, abiding personal faith as well as a wealth of painstaking biblical research. It is an excellent book that can be read as both a 'great read' and a serious, moving testament to the Lord of both history and faith. A GREAT BOOK!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    WOW

    talk about enriching you spiritual life.............fiction can add color even to stories we know so well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    Great Read!

    If you like to read biblical stories, you will like this, as good or better than red tent. I read two of her biblical books found them satisfying, educational and fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana

    I thoroughly enjoyed this fascinating novel, the second in a series and the latest from this always amazing, always surprising writer. Rice makes Jesus as wondrous, even more so, as any of her other unforgettable fictional characters. I loved it and highly recommend it! Congratulations Anne Rice! I look forward eagerly to the next installment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    ONE OF THE BEST CHRISTIAN BOOKS I'VE READ.

    'CHRIST THE LORD ROAD TO CANA' is truly one of the most anticipating books I have ever read concerning the BIBLE. The interactivity of this book has caught my eye than most projects!! NONE OTHER BOOK CAN CATCH MY ATTENTION!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Christ books

    Anne Rice has used her considerable researching gifts to produce two believable and satisfying accounts of Christ's mostly undocumented early years. His pain and suffering, his little joys in daily life and nature are compelling and magical. Our Lord comes alive for me in a way that He never has before. This is witnessing on a grand scale! Bravo Ms. Rice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Warriors den

    Warriors den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Great read.

    Very moving presentation of scripture based story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Beautifully written

    I loved how Ann Rice portrayed Christ's life. Beautifully writen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow - This was a great fiction piece on Jesus!

    I just finished Christ the Lord; Out of Egypt and The Road to Cana, and I really enjoyed BOTH of the novels but I liked this one the best. I cried throughout both of them - not only because of the realistic imagery but because my adoration for my Savior increased (which I didn't think was possible). As a mother, the thought of being Mary seems a cruel gift and Anne Rice wrote her splendidly. The light she shed on the downtrodden woman in the Middle East is essential for teaching compassion for the past, and necessary for igniting change for the future. The families were a very human touch and I also believe very probable. The accurate history and geography was exciting to read in a fiction novel with stories and faces to bring alive boring stats. Rice's spin on John the Baptist was so cool - I bet he was a feisty piece of work! To be a strict Jew back in the day, and to hear a person speaking to Pharisees the way Rice played out the dialogue; wow! That would have been mind blowing! And the painting of Rice's pen on Jesus was beautiful. The real man that once walked this same dirt earth that we walk on; and yet the Lord? Unimaginable for me, but Rice really brought it to life. I especially loved His human love and desire for Avigail. I think there was some criticism about her character and relationship with Jesus, but what's sinful about falling inlove? Nothing inappropriate was written and the story only exalted his character. If the Scriptures tell us that He has suffered as we suffer then I believe it's very likely He would have loved a woman....someone His family would have already planned for Him to marry when He came of age. Since practically every person on planet Earth feels the heartbreak of love then I see it as a perfect opportunity for people to go to Him if He has truly felt the heartache they feel. It would also be a great example for people to live by to abstain from sin until they have made their vows to their betrothed.
    I am looking forward to the next book in this series and to see what works Jesus will do with his new disciples.
    The coolest part was that I wrote an email to Anne Rice to tell her how much I enjoyed the books, and SHE WROTE ME BACK! A REGULAR SCHMOE LIKE ME! Now that is an amazing author. Yes, I recommend this book - it was touching, beautifully written, imaginatively insightful, and it will get your brain working with your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Wonderfuland faith filled

    I found the book to be an easy read, easy to follow and comprehend. I was entrolled with it from the beginning to the end. It never left me not wanting to read more. I can hardly wait for the next book for Anne Rice to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    This book by Anne Rice is wonderful it makes you feel as if you are in the book. Its wrote in first person just like the first book Christ our Lord. It is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent, Unique

    I am not a huge reader of Christian novels, I just haven't found the right fit for me, except for maybe Terri Blackstock. So when I saw this book on my library shelf, I grabbed it half-heartedly and figured I most likely would not read it. I mostly wanted to see what kind of novel could be made out of the life of Christ. I mean, the greatest book of all already tells His story, how can you beat that? <BR/><BR/>Anne Rice wrote a very distinctive book. I found myself mesmerized. Rice managed to credibly portray what the human side of Jesus could have experienced. While taking very limited liberties with the account of Christ as told in the gospels, Rice brought his culture and social existence to life with vivid, poignant scenes, aspects of his life that aren't always addressed in the gospels. It was emotional at times, enlightening, humorous, & very empathetic. I enjoyed the book, devoured it. It motivated me to read parts of the gospels again and see Christ in a new light, from a different angle. <BR/><BR/>I very much recommend this book, it's such an intriguing concept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best wedding I've been to this year!

    The Road to Cana, like Out of Egypt before it, paints a believeable and engaging picture of life in Nazareth. Rice brings Jesus to age in this small town, amidst a large family and a crowded house. Rice's portrayal of Jesus' baptism by John and the temptation in the desert are masterful. She has taken the biblical account of the wedding at Cana and made if far more beautiful and much more meaningful. I read the whole book in just over 24 hours.<BR/><BR/>Christopher Marilce, author<BR/>"The Jesus Priorities: 8 Essential Habits"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    TALENTED WRITING

    The headline is an understatement. Anne Rice uses fact and educated reasoning to tell a really great story of Jesus Christ. I admit I enjoyed her previous titles immensely, but this asked questions that I sometimes ask about Jesus. Although it is a fictional account I felt the humanity of Jesus. I felt his youth, he was not sure quite at first but always knew he had an immense mission. I reccommend this whether you believe in Christ or not and do your own research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    Beyond Incredible

    People fear what they do not understand. But what if you feared yourself?---- Jesus, or Yeshua Bar Joseph as he is known to his family, is just past thirty years of age. He is well aware that there are those around him who still whisper about his birth: the Magi, the gifts, the Angel coming to prophecy his coming. But he wants nothing more than to live a normal life amongst his family. ----- He longs to be a normal man but those around him watch. They wait. The winter has been cruel, dry and no rain has graced the land around them. And so they hope that Jesus will bring great change. It is only a matter of time. ---- While those around him wait for his greatness to reveal itself, Jesus struggles with his lot in life. In love with a kinswoman, Avigail, Jesus knows that he cannot marry her. He does not know everything that is planned for him, but he knows she is not for him. ---- Torn inside, Jesus wonders what his lot in life truly is. He wonders how long he will have to wait before his true purpose is made clear to him. When brigands attack Nazareth, Avigail is harmed, shamed. To save her virtue, Jesus prays to God to bring rain. ---- And he does. When the townspeople come to Jesus to ask him to stop the rain, He again asks God for help and the rain stops. The whispering around Jesus reaches a fever pitch when news reaches them: Jesus' cousin, John, has emerged from the woods speaking of a prophet, a Messiah. John knows that this Messiah is Jesus. ---- Now Jesus must come to terms with who he is and his destiny or succumb to temptation by the Devil¿---- Having read Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt, I was more than eager to get my hands on Anne Rice's new novel Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana. It continues the story of the life of Christ as he heads towards his destiny. ---- Frankly, I was a little worried. I was worried that the second book wouldn't be as good as the first one. I loved Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt so much. I've read it countless times and it's become one of my all time favourite books. Would The Road to Cana be as breath taking, as incredible, as beautiful? ---- I needn't have worried. Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana is just as meticulously researched as Out of Egypt was and just as beautiful if not more so. In Out of Egypt we saw Christ as a boy. Now we come to know him far more intimately as he struggles with the man he has to become. ---- What I love most about this book is that, though Jesus is divine, Rice has done an amazing job of portraying him as human. She has really given us the ultimate study in human nature as Jesus struggles and then accepts what he is, what he must do. She shows us a man who knows what he must do and the sacrifices he makes to do it. ---- Now, I'm not a Christian. I normally don't read what I would call Christian fiction. Most Christian fiction actually makes me a little uncomfortable. But that doesn't matter. Rice has written a novel that goes beyond the religious aspect of Christianity and embraces the spiritual. This is not a book about religion but a story of love, family, forgiveness and redemption. ---- You don't have to be a Christian to enjoy this book. I know that there are plenty of people out there who probably don't want to give it a chance based solely off of its subject matter. I've had people scoff at me when I told them how incredible Rice's Christ the Lord books are. ---- I know that some of you, reading this review, are still scoffing. But they're amazing books, people. And Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana is the best book that Rice has ever written. It transcends genres and religion and is seriously good storytelling and amazing historical fiction. Its prose is like poetry and I was moved beyond words as I read it. ---- I know that I will be reading Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana again as I eagerly await the next instalment in the life of Jesus. ----

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3