Customer Reviews for

Christine

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2003

    My thoughts ad opinions ... =-)

    I liked the car songs introduction in front of every chapter.I loved how King portrayed all the major characters - Arnie , Leigh , and Dennis , but I wish he had given more detail and information on Roland LeBay and his car Christine - why it's cursed , etc. The ending was surprising , unexpected , and a little dissapointing , but in all a terrific book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    Get ready for a scary ride!!!

    This story of a love struck teenage boy is my favorite of Stephen King's. Arnie Cunningham a pimple-face seventeen year old sees an old '58 Plymoth Fury and instantly falls in love. The previous owner told him he called her Christine, but didn't say what came with her. Through out the book people who previously beat up Arnie mysteriously began dieing. I find this to be the most depressing and exciting of all Stephen King's novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2002

    No one writes horror like him anymore...even the Master himself

    It is a pity that no one writes like this horror anymore. Even old King himself. Christine is a perfect round-the-camp-fire story with chilling moments, incredibly real characters and a sad, very sad feeling washing over you. I don't know about anyone else but I liked 70's and 80's King's more than anything he wrote in 90's (except Dreamcatcher and Wizard and Glass) In those days King was writing horror in a way no one has written and no one will ever write again. Christine is a very fine example of his unique writing. Maybe there are better horror books than this (and than Stephen's whole bunch)but as a whole they lack something King's books (early ones at least) were carrying. Christine is not only a demonic car book, as many mentioned here, it is one of the most agonizing love and coming of the age stories, with a very depressing atmosphere and very tragic ending. This is what makes Christine (and all King books) so terrific: The real horror of the world is essential in his books: People we love die...people we love leave us...we remain alone in the world.we lose...you lose... All the staff that seems pretty silly in Christine wonderfully works in King's hands. It is, in fact, a very fast paced story and it flows smoothly that the pages flip almost on themselves. The writing is very vivid and energetic. Along with the story, you are tangled with the characters...you are drifted along with them helplessly into an ever-growing climax full of suspense, horror, breathless reading and tension. Christine is a very good horror story...but also a very good loser yarn, which only King could pull off and which would be a total flop in any other hand. That must be the reason why people come back to Stephen's books again and again in flocks after so many years and books although he does not (stubbornly) write anything like this (or Pet Sematary or It or Salem's Lot). He always talks about the loser inside us. Perhaps he knows better than all the people in the world that it is really a very hard thing to beat real Christines and he is trying to tell this all along those years. Read it...There is so much in Christine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    The Book

    This book was SO cool! It is DEFINETLY Stephen King's best. He has some of the best books ever, and I am only a kid, but I have been reading his books since grade 5. I would definetly recommend his books to other people, and I would postively read more of his books. I can easily say that Stephen King is one of my favourite authors. When I grow up I want to be an author, and I think of his books as a influance to me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2002

    This Book Is Superb

    This is the first Stephen King book I ever read. Probably the best book I ever read as well. The plot is great and the characters are so believable it's almost like you know them. For those who saw the movie and haven't read this book READ THE BOOK. When you read the book forget everything from the movie and pretend like you've never heard of this title before. I reccomend this title for mature readers. Once you start it'll hurt to put it down. I LOVE THIS BOOK.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    Mickster716

    Christine is a cliff-hanging,on the edge of your seat, thriller. It is one of the best thrillrs by Stephen King. Once you start you can't put it down. Calling Christine 'scary' would be an understatement. Two thumps up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2002

    Never forget

    This was the second Stephen King book I ever read. But, it made me want to read more books by Stephen King. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down, it was that good. I will never forget this book, or what it was about. The way it's written makes me feel like I'm actually there watching what's happening. The book has vivid details that are forever branded in my mind.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2001

    One of the greatest I have ever read....

    This book was very exciting and frightening to read. The plot was masterfully designed to get my attention. This is a must-read for people of all ages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2002

    This is awesome

    This book really got my attention and I couldn't put it down. Man it was scaring me at times but it had a great plot. A killer dog and a killer car. I love this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2001

    Gave me chills!

    This book is absolutely great!! Everytime I continue to read further, I get sucked back into the story. I haven't found one part that I thought was dull or dragged on... Highly recommended!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2001

    Love it

    Hi i am Justin Macri, I read the book trying to get to the end. The Book is great i am reading about 2 or four pagers. Please buy this book you will want a 58 Fury I do. Christine is all about a teanage kid that rebulds a car and the car is a killer. His Parents his best friend and his girlfriend hates the car. in the movie Leath Cabot (Alexandra Paul) hates the car and nearly gets killed. and the person played Dennis is the one on the 1986 Hit flim Top Gun is Cuguer and if any of you love Christine please mail me at Jmacri29@hotmail.com and if your a Knight Rider fan why not make a Christine/Knight Rider crossover. Justin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2001

    His best work. Or close to it.

    This is one of my all time King novels. It has some of his deepest characters and some of his tensest horror and tragedy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2001

    LOVED IT

    GREAT, AWESOME, SUPERB, i like the way King gives very elequent details, and i liked the car in it. everyone has to read this. but it is a bit boring in the beging, but either or I LOVED IT. and i think u would to. Christine is awesome. if any one want's to e mail me about stephen king books go ahead.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2000

    The Car That Drives By Itself

    It is an awesome book. Arty (the main character) drives a 1958 Chevy. The car drives by itself and freeks his best friend. The movie was great also. You should see the movie and read the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    The Car Fights Back

    This book is amazing!!! If you are a car lover than this is the book for you. Usually cars are the ones who get hacked up but this time it is the other way around. I loved the movie too! Read this book. It will change the way you look at cars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2000

    Super Awesome Book

    This Book is really cool. You should really read it. Its so descriptive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Amazing

    Thrilling, fast-paced, unpredictable!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 1999

    Chiller and Thriller

    Want a book to read. Don't waist time, read this! It is an amazing book, chock full of mystery, gore, chills, thrills...hey, nothing new if you've read something from S.K. before. Even if you have, this if amazing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4