BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Box

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A lovely short book

This book was given to me by Angel of Hope in my local area. Angel of Hope is a group that supports grieving parents in the loss of a child. The Angel in this group is based on the Angel in Christmas Box book. It is a very touching story of family and strangers and what...
This book was given to me by Angel of Hope in my local area. Angel of Hope is a group that supports grieving parents in the loss of a child. The Angel in this group is based on the Angel in Christmas Box book. It is a very touching story of family and strangers and what is really important in life. It is a short read and while not a great book, is a nice heart-felt story. It does reflect Mormon religious beliefs, but does not try to convert.

posted by timetravel on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Are you kidding me?

I was duped into paying $10.00 for a 45 page lame story. I hope the money goes to charity.

posted by v-v on November 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    A lovely short book

    This book was given to me by Angel of Hope in my local area. Angel of Hope is a group that supports grieving parents in the loss of a child. The Angel in this group is based on the Angel in Christmas Box book. It is a very touching story of family and strangers and what is really important in life. It is a short read and while not a great book, is a nice heart-felt story. It does reflect Mormon religious beliefs, but does not try to convert.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    The Best Book Ever!

    This book was the best book I have ever read. I don't like reading, but when read this book it brought joy and happiness to me. Yes I did cry at the very end, but it the best book I ever read. I can't stop saying that, it was so good. Richard Paul Evens did a very good job. I encourage you to read this book, it will make you notice things in life that you can't see. Thats my story, now go read the book ,and right your story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    A tale to warm your heart.

    This book is a warm, inspiring Christmas tale, although a little sad. It demonstrates in a very real way that family is to be more cherished than any career ever could be. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Are you kidding me?

    I was duped into paying $10.00 for a 45 page lame story. I hope the money goes to charity.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Good Christmas Story

    A good story about love, friendship and family during the holiday season.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    Outstanding!

    Wow, this touched me in a way that I never could've imagined. It's truly a touching story with a VERY important message. If you're the kind of person who likes to curl up with a good Christmas story during the holidays, look no further. I loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2006

    The best book I have ever read!

    Beautiful, touching, heartwarming are all words that I would use to describe this book. It not only tells you what Christmas is all about, but ultimately what life is all about. This story will touch your heart and soul and stay with you forever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Tap

    This made mcry. Its such a beautiful book. I dont care what anybody says, it was a true story and it touchef my heart enough to readit one more time. This is kind of selfish, but dont read any ba comments. The werent acceptin what they were reading. Read it. It will bribg you cloder to christ i yiu are mormon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    I thought this was going to be a good read; IT WAS NOT AT ALL ..

    I thought this was going to be a good read; IT WAS NOT AT ALL ..... even though it was a short read; it had no substance. Yes, it was about the value of family verus career but it was also about the life of a woman who just waited for death so she could be with her 4 yr old daughter who had died. The story line didn't involve any details adding to the woman's sorrow or anything. As I said there was absolutely no substance or "why am I reading this book". And for it to be called the Christmas Box and supposedly the story was based around Christmas, actually it was very depressing.....there was absolutely no joy in this story....not at all...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Sweet Christmas Story

    A short powerful book which demonstrates the importance of life and putting priorities in place—love the ones close to you as you never know when they will be taken away. The novel involves love, pain, and death and family commitment. We all as busy adults get busy and forgot our children and skip much needed time with them. This young couple and daughter rented an apartment from this lady in a huge house, which turns out is dying and has lessons to be taught to this sweet family. As usual Evans does not disappoint – a short nice Christmas story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly recommended Love this story

    I was glad to see this 20th Anniversary Edition come out. I purchased it as Christmas presents for my granddaughters and their spouses to read together since they just became parents the last 2 years. I have read the book several times. The moral of the story is for you to read and find out. Enjoy. Cactus1575

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I enjoyed every minute of this book. Wish it were longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Renee

    This is a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    great little book! Will read each Christmas

    great little book! Will read each Christmas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    A must read

    You don't have to be religous to enjoy and get something from this book. I think everyone who enjoys Christmas should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    Recommended- great book!

    The Christmas Box by Richard Paul Evans was published November 2, 1995. It is a great story. This book teaches you the true meanings of Christmas. Anyone could read it, especially those who need to find the meaning of Christmas.
    The book taught me how we all need to relaize what Christmas is realll about. We sometimes get wrapped up in life and take things for granted. When reading this book it puts a reality check on life over the holidays. It should be recommended because it will have significance to anyone that reads it.
    The characters grow throughout the book. The learn about themselves and change for the better. All of the characters are believeable and likeable because they can all be related to real life people. They are all kind, caring, and loving. They help each other to be as best as they can be in life. I think the other focuses on two of the main characters becasue one is teaching the meaning of Christmas and the other is learning.
    The book teaches many great lessons throughout the book. Everyone should read it. And during the holiday seasons you should reread it in order to remember the true meanings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    Best Christmas Story!

    This book could be read by anyone. It is not a complete romance novel for girls or an action novel for boys but it is a touching story about a man who is just trying to get by. He works at a formal-wear rental business but is invited for him and his family to stay with a lady named Mary so long as they attend to the household needs. He starts having dreams about an angel made out of stone. Later in the story he learns what it means along with the first gift and the true meaning of Christmas. He also gets closer to his wife and daughter. This a great story that you could read year after year every Christmas season and it never gets old. It is a good book for any age group and definitely a good buy. This is a great story to own for when your kids want a story over the Christmas season or if you want to sit down on the couch next to the fire and get into the Christmas spirit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    Amazing!!

    I was a heartfelt and heartwarming..its makes you want to laugh and cry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    A Touching story

    I had read this book before but forgot about it. It was a pleasure reading it again and the true spirit of Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    We will be reading this with our online group

    Feel free to join us reading this book together online. We have a yahoo group called 'Christmas Book Club.' We will start June 8, 2008. We read the book and then discuss it together online. This is a Christmas Online Book Club. We read only Christmas books all year long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3