Customer Reviews for

A Christmas Carol

Average Rating 4
( 573 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(340)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Best format for nook

This edition was carefully created with the nook specifically in mind.

posted by matsu on November 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great story. So so ebook quality

Readable but some strange type conversions

posted by 10100769 on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 576 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Best format for nook

    This edition was carefully created with the nook specifically in mind.

    26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Great! Highly recommend--

    This classic is well presented in a very readable format. A good choice.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Anonamous

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Wonderful Classic

    A wonderful, quick read during the holiday season. It's a great story that I will most likely come back to again. I seen so many adaptations in movies and plays, it was nice to finally read the original story.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Best version for nook!

    This version was crafted with nook's screen in mind.

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Wow

    Its such a good book! What a tridition

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    It's a great Christmas Classic

    The character Ebeneezer Scrooge has to be one of Dicken's famous characters. In his novella, Dickens portrays a man disappointed with himself and who regards the world with contempt. I always thought of the visits by the three spirits as therapy. Modern pyschology hadn't evolved in the 1840s and somehow Scrooge's breakthrough comes through as a recovered patient.
    I read that Dickens was a contemporary of Karl Marx and as Marx advocated social change to improve the conditions prevalent during that time, Dickens believed that change could come about by social awareness. Laws could be legislated because society felt compassion.
    The two children Ignorance and Want, who are hidden under the cloak of the Spirit of Christmas Present were not intended only for plot of the story but as a reminder for Dickens' readers.
    Are not the 21st century readers still having to think of that boy and girl today? The media presents us news of children in refugee camps,starving children, and homeless families. We are confronted with the reality of want during this time of joy.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Great christmas read!

    This is a great christmas read for all ages. Im 16 and i loved it. There are some typos, but nothing that would make it difficult to understand. I definately would reccomened this book to a friend!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Great story. So so ebook quality

    Readable but some strange type conversions

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Unreadable

    This is a scanned document and is unfortunately unreadable

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Good, but too much detail

    The book was really good, but it went into a lot of unneccesary detail. Up to FOUR pages of describing unneeded things. Otherwise, it was really good!! --Caleb Shenk, 10 years old, 4th Grade:)

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Ehhhh

    I love the story but it was hard to read it was in script form

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Always entertaining. One of our Christmas traditions never fails to move me.

    I have always loved this book and began a tradition of reading it to my children when they were young. The writing may not be the peak of Dickens's style but is still excellent. And the story never fails to move and entertain me. This year I read it on my new Nook -- and once again, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good, rousing and touching story and a well-written book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Horrible formatting. Pay the $0.99 for a version that is made fo

    Horrible formatting. Pay the $0.99 for a version that is made for the Nook.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Wonderful

    I enjoyed this book! It was mysterious and funny! Great for all ages!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Awsome

    One of the best books ever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    So Amazing to read

    This book is awesome! When my teacher read it to us for the hoiliday season! It was what I would say fantastic! I looooooovvvvvvvveeeeeeeeddddddd this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    If i could give less than 1 star i would

    Book itself is great, however this ebook copy is terrible and filled with errors, its almost unreadable

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    CFGCTFTGYGHGUGYGYGYYGYGYVYGYVYVYGHVHVHVYVYVHVTVGGGFFTGTGTFTFTFTFGYYGYGYYTGTFTGTGTGTYVTGYTTYTYGYGYGYGYGTYGYFTFTTGGVTTGTGTTCYVJGJGYGYGYGYGYGYVYVHVHHHHHHHGYGYVGVHVHVHVHVYGYGYGYGYVYVHTFCTCVGCHGTFTGFGTGGFFGCTFTFTFGCGCGCGCGCGGCCCTGYGYFTFTFTFGFFTFTFTFFFTFTF

    TCTCTCRCCEXEXEXDXEXWXEXEXECFCFCRCXDXDFCRCRRXRXEXEXEXEXEXEXXEXEXECXRCTHYHYTVVTTVTVGVTCTTVTVTGTVRCRCRRCRRCRYGYGTXXEYBTVTVTVTCCTSXRVGBJBYFTGYITFVVTCRXFFHGTCFCVCTCFCFCGCGGGVGFCRCRXEXWXWXWXEXWWXWECGVTVGVVVHBHVGVGVVVGVVVGVFFCFCFCEECEXEXXEXEXVHVHBUBHJBUBUBVTXFDRXFYHMINBUBUVCDZDXCVGVYVYVYYVVYVVTVGCTCGTCCGCGGCGCFCXRXEXEXRCRCFRCCGFCGCTCCSEXGHUBYBJBHHVYVYVVTVTTVTVTYGTGTGGTGYVTVGVVGVTVGHGGGGGGGGGFTCRCRRCEXERTFTCGCGVGGGCGCRCRCRCRCRCRCCTFTFTFTFTGCTCTFRCTGCGCRCFCRCCCRCFCTTVYBYBYVTVGCRCCCRCRCRCRCRCTFCTFFCECECHNNININIKINUUVYBUHUBUBJUHUNTCHVTVTCRRCRCRCRTVGCGVGVGGGCGCFCFCRCFCCFCFCFCFCFCFCFCFCFVTCFCTCTTCFCCCCGCCTVTCCGCCCCGCRCCRCRCRCCRTTFRCCRRRRRFRDRXEXXRXFDXXDXDDXDXDXDXDXDXDXDXRXXRXRXRXFXXRCRFRCDCCRCFTFCCTCTCCCVVGVFCGFCFXDXDXDDXFXFXDXDXDXDXDXDXDXDXRXRXRCTVYVYBHVHBHBYVYVYVTVTVTCTCCRCRCTCTCRRCTFRCRCRFRRGTYBUINKBJJUJIJUJUNUBUBYVYVYVTVHYBYVGVGCCRCDZDXRCRRCRRFRFRDRXRDRDRDRXRXRXRXRDRDRDRDRDRDRXRDRDRDRDRDRDRDRRDRRRDRDEXRXRXRDRDRDRDRDRDRXRXRXEXEXEXFXFXXFXCXFXRRRXRXRXRXRXRXFCCRCFCFCFFCRXRXRXRXRFRXRXRXRXRXRXRCRRFXRRXRXRCRCCRRRRCRCRCRXRXRXRFTFRCRCRRRXRXRXRCRRXRXXRXFXRCRRXRFTGYVTVTCTCTTCRCRCRCRCRCRRCRCRCRRFRCRRCRFRRFRCRCFRTTCRCRXRXRXRXRCRCRCTCRFRCTCRCRRCRTVYVVYGYVHVTCTCGCGCGCGGCGGCFFCGCGCTCCRCRCTCTCRCRCCCRCRCTCCGVVVVHCTTCTTTVYVTVTGVTVGTVTTTCTCGCTCCGCFCFCFCRFCFCFCRFCCRRCRCTRCRCTTYBJBJBUBBBUBUBUBUBBUBUBBUBUBUHUUBUBBUBUUBUBBBBFTVTVTVTVTVTVTVVYYVYTFTFTCFCFCFCFCRCGCGCGCFCFFCGFCGCGFCGCGCGCGCGFCGCGCFXRDRCRXRXFXFXRXGXFXFXFCGXTXGCRXRXRCCGCGCGCGCTXTCTCTDDRDCRCTCGCDTDRXRFRFTFRCTCFTFGFTTCCTFTFRFCRFTFRFRFRCDRCRFRFCTDRCRCFRFRCTCTCTCGCGCFCFXRCRCRFRFRFRFRCRFRDRCRFRCRFRFRRCRRXRXXRXRXRXXDRDRFFYGTVGVTVGVGVGVGCGCGCTCCTCGCGFTCTCTCGCTFCRCTCFCTCTFRFTFTCTCRFRFRFTFTFTFTFTFTFTFTDTFRCRXGYHIBUUHHGUGIBJBBJHJHBJVVHJBBJBUBJBUBHGYBHVHVYVTGTVTGVGVGVGCGHJHUINHGGHGGHVVHVCRFRXRXXDRHBJBJHJGHGHGHGHGHGHGHGTGTCRCCRCRCRXRXHUHJFFFFFBUBJNKMOMIKQQQQQBJVJVHVHVHGYGHYVYVYGYGTGTGYGYGYGYYGYGYGGYGYGYGYGYGTYYYVHVYGYYGHVHVHVYGYVYGYGYYGYGHGGHVYYGYGYGTGYVYGGVYVTVTVTTFYFYGYGYGGYTVTGYGHVHVYGYGYGYGGYGVYGYGYGYYGYGYGYVVYYGYGYYGGGGGTTTTTGTTTGYTGYGYGHGUBJKKNONHVGCHVTCYCYVHGYVVYVYVYVTVTVYTYGYVYVYGYVYVYYVHGTDSRRDTYGTGHFTFTCGCGCGVYGTGTGYGYFFFTFTFTFTFTFTFFVUJVJHVHVHVGVYVGTFTCGCCCCTVVVTGHVHYGYFTFFYVTGFTGYGGYGYGGGGGHHGHYFTYVJVUHIKOKOMONBUBBHBBYBBUBBYJBUBBLEVGYGYYYVYVYGYVTVTGTVTVTGYVYVYYVYHYYGYVYVYVYVYGYGYGYGGHGYGYVVYGGVGCTVCGTCTCCCFTCFFTTCTCHCGCTCTCTVGTVTVGVHVGVVTCTVVGCCTCGCTVTVGVTVYVVVVHVYHVHVHVHBHYYGHGYGYVYGVYVVHGYGYGGYBUBBYVHVJBYHUHUHYGUUHUHUHHUYBYGGUHUUBUHHUHJHUHJBUDDYYVHVHGYVYVHGJGJJBJHVVJGGUGYGYGYGYVYVYBYGVYVYGGYGYGYGYGYGGYGYGYGYGYGYGYGYGYGGYGGYGYGYGHVGGYVYGYGYGHGYVVHVYVYVHGYGYGTYHYYVVHVYVYGVHVBHVGGVGVGTVYYVYGHGVVHVYVYVHYGYGVYHVYVYYVHVYBUBHYFHUHUVIBUVJVVVYVVYYVYGYGYGYGYGHVHGYHUHININJININININNIINNNKNKNKNNKUBUBUVVYGYGYFTFGCGCTCGCGCCTCFTFTCFGTCGCCCGCTFFHCGCFGFTTFGTCTCTCTFTCFTFFGFGFTFTFCGFTFTTFTTFTFTTCRCTCFTFTFTFTTFCTFCRCTTGCTFFFTTFRFTFTFTFGXCTFRXXRXTRXTFTFFTUVHJJHFCGCCCCCGCGCGCTCGFBHJYVGFFYVYGGVHVHVHVHVHVHHVVHVVFHGVGFGGHVHVHVHVHVYGVTCHCCCVVGVGGVGCCGTTCTTCRCRFRCRFCRRCCCTCTVTCTVYFTFTFTFCTTCCTCTCRCTFTFTTFTFTFTCTCCGVVCYGYFTCCCTTCTTCTFTFFTGTTCTHGYGTFYVTVTTVTVGVGVHGTVHVYVYHUHJCRGUDRVHHUINJGYVTVHVYTVTVVTFCTFTTCTCVCGTFRFTCXXEXDRDFVJGYVCTVCFTFTFTCGCTCTTFTTFFFCTFRCGCTFTTFFTFCFTCTCGCTVCHVTCGCCGVVGCTCGGCCCCCCHCTCGCTCTCFTFTTCCTTTCTCTRCCRCCCCTFCTFTCCTCTCTCTCCTTCTCGCGCGCGCCGCTGCCTTCTCTCTCGCFCCGCCTCCTTCCCUBHHHUHUUUHUYBHYHHHHGTVYVHVYBYBHVHCCGJBJBBBBYYVVYGYVHVYGYYGYGYGYGYGYGYGYYYGYVHVVHVYNJBUQAWSEDRXDEXEEXZRCRCTVBHYTCTTTYGYVHVHVHVHVTVTVTVCGTTVTCGCTVTFTCGCFTFTGTGTGTCFTFFTTCFGTTFCCTVTCTCGCGCTCCCGFTFTTFTFTFTFTFTFTFTFFTFTFTCTTTFTTCCGVVTVHVYVTTGCTTCTFFF

    2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    AMAZING

    BEST BOOK EVER

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 576 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29