Customer Reviews for

A Christmas Carol: Being a Ghost Story of Christmas

Average Rating 4
( 599 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(355)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Best format for nook

This edition was carefully created with the nook specifically in mind.

posted by matsu on November 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great story. So so ebook quality

Readable but some strange type conversions

posted by 10100769 on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Good, but too much detail

    The book was really good, but it went into a lot of unneccesary detail. Up to FOUR pages of describing unneeded things. Otherwise, it was really good!! --Caleb Shenk, 10 years old, 4th Grade:)

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Christmas Carol fans will love this.

    ****We gave this book as a hostess gift - and it started great conversations on when various people had seen their first/favoite Christmas Carol play/movie/book. Also good for story telling with all ages.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    A Christmas classic

    I think some people should pay attention to this story because it can really change your heart. And btw to those people who say this story is trash,look in the mirror cause I can assure you that you'll see trash.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Christmasly amazing!

    Wow! What a book! I happened to finish it in 3 days which is very fast for me. It was well written and more descriptive and meaningful than any of the other movies or plays I've seen! A truly good read escpecially for christmas time! I recommend this book for everyone 10+ because it may be a little bit difficult to read for some people. I recommend the overall story for everyone! There are illustrated versions of this that may be a little easier to read (for some).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    There is a reason this is a classic

    While I will not say that this is the best Dickens novel, it is a good read. And, let's face it, it's the basis for roughly 90% of all the stories at Christmastime so one really ought to take a look at the source material. I liked it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Southernpaw

    I will cheack on your sis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Poor scrooge!

    This was a good book, but i feel sorry for scrooge. He wasn't a criminal, but all the ghosts are merciless!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    J

    J

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    A Great Replacement

    I misplaced my paperback copy of Dickens' Christmas Stories. I found this version of The Carol for .99¿. Needless to say, a holiday tradition was upheld in a new way this year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Pretty good.

    It was a nice story but had a lot of errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    It was good

    I had to read this book for homework, and i enjoyed it. It had a lot of typing mistakes, so i took off a star, but the book was good.


    P.S. read "The Mark of Athena" by rick riordan. Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Good but

    Poor poor poor picture quality. Typing is fine but the pictures look like they have been photo-copied into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Awesome

    Hey-o it's us again we would recommend this book to all ages. It's very interesting and fun to read. Even thuoghh this has a lot of errors. :-) (-:

    Sincerely Yours,
    The Red Hot Blazer Girls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    CRAZY!!!!!!!

    This book is a crazy book.... it will go from one setting to another in like a sentence. Its a good book to read during your spair time. Its more for like tweens or teenagers. If are under that age then you probley wont get what its tryig to tell you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Umm... 3 tips

    Buy it. Read it. Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Hmmm

    Not much to be reviewed on a book that hundreds upon thousands of people have enjoyed since it was written. It's a lovely classic and I'm glad it was offered for free. <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    This book was acceptional.

    This book was ok for free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great gift for a young girl

    Hope granddaughter will enjoy it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    The best

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    A Heartwarming Story

    I love this old chestnut, a story of a cynic forced to reconsider his views on Christmas...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6