Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Dog

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Christmas Dog

Betty Kowalski is getting older, times are changing, her children and grandchildren are all grown. And she has a crazy new neighbor, Jack Jones. He is living in the Spencer's house, but no one seems to know who he is. Only that he is not friendly and is up at all hou...
Betty Kowalski is getting older, times are changing, her children and grandchildren are all grown. And she has a crazy new neighbor, Jack Jones. He is living in the Spencer's house, but no one seems to know who he is. Only that he is not friendly and is up at all hours of the night.

In the middle of Betty's holidays her grand daughter Avery appears after being missing for a few months. Happy to see her safe and sound, Betty is enjoying Avery's company, until she finds herself drug into a family squall. Not her idea of how families should work.

Enter Ralph, a small dog of undetermined heritage, who seems to have a knack for bringing out the worst in both Betty and Jack. Avery, however falls head over heels in love with the little dog and he brings her great comfort as she deals with her problems with her mom.

Will it all work out? Will Betty and her neighbors find out that Jack is a maniacal madman bent on killing them all? Will Avery go home and settle her differences with her mom? Will Ralph find a family who will love him forever?

A charming holiday story about how life changes over the passage of time. Melody Carlson once again shows us why we love her books. 172 pages, $14.99 US 5 stars.

This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was provided for this review.

posted by LovenGod on November 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun and heartfelt

If you are in the mood to read a fun heartfelt book-this is great!

posted by 4665932 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Christmas Dog

    Betty Kowalski is getting older, times are changing, her children and grandchildren are all grown. And she has a crazy new neighbor, Jack Jones. He is living in the Spencer's house, but no one seems to know who he is. Only that he is not friendly and is up at all hours of the night.

    In the middle of Betty's holidays her grand daughter Avery appears after being missing for a few months. Happy to see her safe and sound, Betty is enjoying Avery's company, until she finds herself drug into a family squall. Not her idea of how families should work.

    Enter Ralph, a small dog of undetermined heritage, who seems to have a knack for bringing out the worst in both Betty and Jack. Avery, however falls head over heels in love with the little dog and he brings her great comfort as she deals with her problems with her mom.

    Will it all work out? Will Betty and her neighbors find out that Jack is a maniacal madman bent on killing them all? Will Avery go home and settle her differences with her mom? Will Ralph find a family who will love him forever?

    A charming holiday story about how life changes over the passage of time. Melody Carlson once again shows us why we love her books. 172 pages, $14.99 US 5 stars.

    This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was provided for this review.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    A Great Read for the Holidays

    I enjoyed this book so much I am going to share with friends next Christmas. It was just a good down to earth story and a great break from my usual authors: Koontz and Coben. I would highly recommend for gifts at the holidays.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Cute Story.............

    I enjoyed the book so much, that I passed it to my neighbors that love to read and love dogs. It was cute, nicely done, and an easy read. I would recommend this story to people who like dogs and it gave me a chance to reevaluate the Christmas season. Heartwarming - made me think a little about life and what is important.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    If you love dogs this one is for you.

    I am not a pet owner and I am allergic to dogs so reading this book was a joy. Very heartwarming and great for a Christmas gift to any dog lover. I have always enjoyed reading Melody Carlson's books and this one too proves to be fun.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Christmas Dog

    This is a wonderful book that tells how a lonely, negelected dog touches the lives of several people, and then it brings three lonely people together as well as creating a more fulfilled life for all of them.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    God Moves in Mysterious Ways

    Melody Carlson is such a talented and diversified author, so when the opportunity came to receive a review copy of her new Christmas book, I jumped at the chance to read it! Each of Melody's books has its own voice and style. That's what I love about her writing. The Christmas Dog is no exception. Melody writes this book in the point of view of Betty Kowalski, an elderly woman who's preparing for a 50th Anniversary party for her friends right before Christmas. Out of the blue, her granddaughter, Avery, shows up and wants to help with the party decorations.

    Betty discovers a little dog at their back door while Avery is visiting and wants to give it to the pound and would have if Avery hadn't asked to keep the dog.. Betty's never had a dog and this one is dirty. Avery tells her grandma that she will take care of everything, and not to worry. Could she trust Avery? Avery was so happy about the dog, Betty gives in.

    Betty remembers what her mother says," I do remember my mother once telling me that kindness builds bridges."

    This reminds Betty of her pastor and his recent sermon. She remembers, "How was it possible to love someone so completely disagreeable and inconsiderate and downright evil? Really, she thought as she stood up, even Pastor Gordon would be singing a different tune if he was forced to live next to Jack Jones." Now her granddaughter was here and wanted to keep this dog. God was doing a work on her, Betty could sense it.

    God moves in mysterious ways and will stir our hearts to do His will if we let Him. Melody has penned a heart warming story that will leave you satisfied and get you in the spirit of Christmas cheer and ready to pass on God's love.

    Nora St.Laurent
    ACFW Book Club Coordinator
    Finding Hope Through Fiction
    www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Fun and heartfelt

    If you are in the mood to read a fun heartfelt book-this is great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Irina

    This looks like a good book to read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Don't judge to quickly

    Great read. Gets the reader back to basics and reminds us NOT to judge too quickly. Just slow down and enjoy the simple things! You might be surprised.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Loved it!

    I am "dog person" my friends tell me so of course when I saw the title I had to order it. I had read Melody Carlson before and had loved her other books. This one did not disappoint.

    The development of the characters and the intertwining of the neighbor's lives was very realistic and of course I loved that everyone was concerned about the dog. I loved how the neighbors began reaching out to help, we need to hear more of that in today's world

    I read it over the Christmas holidays and it indeed warmed my heart!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Sweet and touching holiday tale!

    Another cute and cozy Christmas tale by Carlson. Nothing surprising in this one, but the characters are lovable and the story is touching. Quick and easy read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Excellent Quick Read

    Sweet Christmas story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Heart warming christmas

    Great christmas story for dog lovers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Great Christmas read

    Great story for Christmas! The first 3 chapters annoyed me a bit because the main character kept harping on the same problem but you will learn that it is part of the story...so don't stop reading. I enjoyed the book very much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    A great read!

    This was a warm-your-heart kind of book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Surprisingly fun read!

    Very cute story. Well written. Story is somewhat predictable, but none the less it was well worth the read. Recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Delightful!

    A great little Christmas read. Even got it for free:) Merry Chritmas!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Loved it!

    I loved this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Sweet

    Very touching story. A good reminder to live life with kindness to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Cute

    A nice little Christmas story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6