Customer Reviews for

Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor

Average Rating 3.5
( 352 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

B&N Synopsis

The synopsis that B&N has for the book isn't correct. Here is the info from St. Martin's Press website http://us.macmillan.com/christmaseveatfridayharbor:

New York Timesbestselling author Lisa Kleypas's new series begins during the most magical time of year

ONE L...
The synopsis that B&N has for the book isn't correct. Here is the info from St. Martin's Press website http://us.macmillan.com/christmaseveatfridayharbor:

New York Timesbestselling author Lisa Kleypas's new series begins during the most magical time of year

ONE LITTLE GIRL NEEDS A FAMILY
One rain-slicked night, six-year-old Holly lost the only parent she knew, her beloved mother Victoria. And since that night, she has never again spoken a word.

ONE SINGLE MAN NEEDS A WIFE
The last thing Mark Nolan needs is a six-year-old girl in his life. But he soon realizes that he will do everything he can to make her life whole again. His sister's will gives him the instructions: There's no other choice but you. Just start by loving her. The rest will follow.

SOMETIMES, IT TAKES A LITTLE MAGIC.
Maggie Collins doesn't dare believe in love again, after losing her husband of one year. But she does believe in the magic of imagination. As the owner of a toy shop, she lives what she loves. And when she meets Holly Nolan, she sees a little girl in desperate need of a little magic.

.TO MAKE DREAMS COME TRUE
Three lonely people. Three lives at the crossroads. Three people who are about to discover that Christmas is the time of year when anything is possible, and when wishes have a way of finding the path home.

posted by Jennifersant on August 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Price too high for such a short read!

I usually love this author's books but was deeply disappointed in Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor. I was so excited to download it and was even willing to pay the $9.99. I couldn't believe it when I found out it was only 120 pages long! It was a cute short novel, but ...
I usually love this author's books but was deeply disappointed in Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor. I was so excited to download it and was even willing to pay the $9.99. I couldn't believe it when I found out it was only 120 pages long! It was a cute short novel, but nowhere near as good as Kleypas' other, longer contemporary romances. I can't believe B & N is asking $9.99 for this!

posted by 2990804 on November 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 353 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    Price too high for such a short read!

    I usually love this author's books but was deeply disappointed in Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor. I was so excited to download it and was even willing to pay the $9.99. I couldn't believe it when I found out it was only 120 pages long! It was a cute short novel, but nowhere near as good as Kleypas' other, longer contemporary romances. I can't believe B & N is asking $9.99 for this!

    29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Too Short to Be True

    I enjoy this author's books so I was looking forward to this newest book. The story, although a plot-line that's been done before, was well written and carefully constructed. I like the characters and the setting. Their back-stories were interesting and I will want to read about the the others in this series. But I was really disappointed in the book's very short length. It should really be advertised as a novella it is so brief. This was something I did not know til after purchase since I bought it for an e-reader. At 120 pages for more than $9.00 I feel a little underfed. I hope the other entries in this new line will be more worthy of the word "book."

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    B&N Synopsis

    The synopsis that B&N has for the book isn't correct. Here is the info from St. Martin's Press website http://us.macmillan.com/christmaseveatfridayharbor:

    New York Timesbestselling author Lisa Kleypas's new series begins during the most magical time of year

    ONE LITTLE GIRL NEEDS A FAMILY
    One rain-slicked night, six-year-old Holly lost the only parent she knew, her beloved mother Victoria. And since that night, she has never again spoken a word.

    ONE SINGLE MAN NEEDS A WIFE
    The last thing Mark Nolan needs is a six-year-old girl in his life. But he soon realizes that he will do everything he can to make her life whole again. His sister's will gives him the instructions: There's no other choice but you. Just start by loving her. The rest will follow.

    SOMETIMES, IT TAKES A LITTLE MAGIC.
    Maggie Collins doesn't dare believe in love again, after losing her husband of one year. But she does believe in the magic of imagination. As the owner of a toy shop, she lives what she loves. And when she meets Holly Nolan, she sees a little girl in desperate need of a little magic.

    .TO MAKE DREAMS COME TRUE
    Three lonely people. Three lives at the crossroads. Three people who are about to discover that Christmas is the time of year when anything is possible, and when wishes have a way of finding the path home.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    I was very pleased with this book. The characters and story were very interesting. But the book was too short. For $10, I would expect to not finish it in 3 hours. Wish it was longer but still a good read. Just not worth the money.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    Too Short!

    For the 9.99 E-book price tag I was hoping for a litle more substance! I love the setting, but this book could have been so much more!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    Not worth the money

    Disappointed to have spent $9.99 and then found out the book was 120 pages. Definitely not enough content to justify the price. Actual story seemed like it would be good but was too short to really develop the characters and give you a chance to get involved. I generally like this author's books but next time, I'll look for the length before I buy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    disapointed

    the story was very cute but it was also very short. for 9.99 i would have expected a lot more. i feel like i paid way to much for this book which took about 45 min to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    A+

    I was a bit shocked to see that it was only 120 pages when I downloaded it, but it was 120 pages of pure bliss. It was a great Saturday read. I am lovin' these guys. They are so deliciously imperfect.

    It probably makes me a bad person to say this, but I am not a big fan of the romance novels with the kids in them. (Ouch! That is not going to go over well) I only say that because I was glad that Kleypas did the whole kid thing well. Nora Roberts is the only other author that can pull that off.

    Very nice...keep 'em coming Lisa.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This was a lovely story by Lisa Kleypas. She gives a different slant on how men feel and care about children. I have never read a book on that theme before and it's refreshing. Many emotions are involved. I plan to read more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Good Short Story

    This was a good short story. I just discovered Lisa and am reading a bunch of her books- compared to a couple others I read this one is ok but not great. I feel like a lot was left out in the end to keep it short. I lijed both characters, but in the span of 3 pages they seem to resolve everything and yet leave a big question mark. Not sure if the story will continue with others or not. Otherwise, it was really good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    Best book I have read in a LONG TIME

    I love ALL the books that Lisa Kleypas has written (AND I HAVE READ THEM ALL) and this is one OF THE BEST. This is a lovely story anytime, not just at Christmas. I plan to recommend it to all my friends who are avid readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    sweet christmas story

    The characters were effortlessly developed and believable. The ending takes place on Christmas Eve and was way too short. I paged through the back pages looking for the rest of it! I think as long as you know this going into it you won't be disappointed in the story. It is a wonderful Christmas story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    Good read...to expensive

    This was a very cute story and I enjoyed it very much, however I agree with the person who said that the love scene seemed forced. It wasn't even needed in the story. Felt like "oh yeah and I guess this should be in it too." I was disappointed thinking that this would be a full length novel when in reality it is only 120 pages (for the nook). The price is too much for such a small story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Disappointed

    This was my first Lisa Kleypas book. I was very disappointed with it as it was to short and the story was not fully developed. The cost is to much for this book. What a waste of my money.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Too short as well

    Great Book but as others have said it was to expensive for the length.
    It cannot possible cost that much to produce an Ebook..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining sweet contemporary romance

    On San Juan Island businessman Mark Nolan has no time to grieve the death of his sister in a car accident as he is the guardian of his niece Holly. Used to taking no prisoners at the Seattle office, Mark is scared to death with how to deal with a frightened six year old child. Although he has the support of his sibling Sam while their other brother is overwhelmed with his own issues, adding to Mark's fear is that Holly is so traumatized she has become psychologically mute.

    Mark takes Holly to the Friday Harbor Magic Mirror toy store hoping the child will find something she likes. Widow Maggie Collins uses a "magic" conch shell to talk with Holly. The child says her first words since her mother's death through the shell. The business mogul is shocked at how a stranger and his niece connected when he has known Holly all her life but failed. He soon realizes that Maggie may be his "One" although he feels unprepared for a permanent relationship; he even has a girlfriend. Besides his doubts he knows he must go slowly until she is ready to take a second chance on love as her late spouse died only a few years ago from cancer. Meanwhile the little girl has one wish for Christmas.

    This is an entertaining sweet contemporary romance that is fun to read though the audience knows from the moment the key cast is set, the story line is set. The lead adult couple's doubts re love is not deeply explored yet Lisa Kleypas shows her writing skills as she provides an engaging tale with the child's plight providing seriousness to what would have been a sugary Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a great way to get in the Holiday spirit! From beginning to

    What a great way to get in the Holiday spirit! From beginning to end I loved this story. I laughed, I cried. Just a really great, touching, heartwarming story about family, friendship and love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Im too white

    Swag

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    A Must Read!

    Another great book from Lisa Kleypas. This is #1 in series. Easy reading. Recommend reading full series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    recommended

    I really enjoyed this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 353 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18