Customer Reviews for

Christmas Hope

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Keep Coming Back!

    This is a re-read for me. I read it every few years to remind me to enjoy Christmas and life for the right reason instead of allowing myself to get caught up in the drama that so frequently unfolds.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my all time favorites!

    I have read many of Donna VanLiere books before, but this one was my absolute favorite! I became totally engulfed as I follow a couple whose marriage was falling apart find the true meaning of Christmas while adopting a foster child named Emily. This heart warming story has a great blend of comedy, tragedy, and romance. My favorite part was watching how one small child could draw a family back to together without even realizing it. I also loved how Donna VanLiere's descriptive writing was able to pull me into the book and make feel as if I was living right next door to Mark and Patricia. This is a must read for anyone who is looking an inspirational story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    Warmth between covers

    Donna does a super job of captivating you, hold your interest and keeps me from sleeping. Family love, interaction, powerful but gentle and a reasonably new "favorite author" of mine. Thanks for touching my life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My first book I read by Donna VanLiere and I absolutely loved it from start to finish.

    This is an excellent book by Donna VanLiere.It hit close to home.I had a friend who fell asleep at the wheel and it was a devastating hit.My Mom woke me up,and she asked if I remembered my friend from camp.I said yes.She said that he died in a car accident.I cried.We went to his funeral.As we were waiting,there was a procession of cars with my friends name engraved on the back of their cars with In loving Memory...Plus blasting the remake song by P.Diddy in Memory of Notorious B.I.G."Every breath I take".Every time the song comes on the radio,I think of my friend.
    In the story,when Patti and her husband is listening to the answer machine that her son left before the accident.Over and Over again.I cried because made me think back when my mom left her last message on the answering machine before she passed away.I cried and cried when they were talking about their son and reminiscing.They were finally talking and letting it out by their son.How much he's missed and that there's still one empty place at their table after adopting Emily and Mia.I enjoyed the part where they are talking to Emily about her mother passing away.Emily asks if the clouds are parted so her Mom can see her.I think of that and I wonder if my Mom parts the clouds to see Us.Death is so final but when it's our turn,we'll be reunited with our Loved Ones.It justs takes longer for us right now and we have to wait.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    It's so hard to think of what kids in foster care have gone through. Love the DHS staff, they had such humor even when the job is such a strain on the spirit. I also loved that Nathan and Meghan were back and happy in their new life together. <BR/>Loss is always sad, but especially around the holidays. It was awful how the son was lost so young. It shows how grief can set up a chain reaction. It's amazing what others can be moved to do for each other, shoving aside their own pain to ease someone else's. And having some joy in return for having done it. What beautiful, magic gifts were unexpectedly recieved that holiday. I laughed, I teared up, I loved it. Great read. I'm hoping she does more in this series because four books just aren't enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Touching

    i loved this book. I wish I could give it more than 5 for the rating!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Great book not only for christmas!

    No doubt this book is an outstanding christmas book, but its a great book to read reguardless of the season. It's so touching and so many life lessons are involved in it. Once you start reading it, its very hard to put down. It's also an easy read so you can get threw it very quick!! Awesome and highly reccommened!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Another great sequel to The Christmas Shoes

    A great continuation from the The Christmas Shoes. The story picks up from the main character in his third year as a medical student. All the sage wisdom that his mother would give to him as he grew up began to make sense. Life doesn't necessarily get easier as we age, but we get stronger from those who supported us and never gave up on us. One can get wrapped up in this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is such a wonderful, uplifting story

    I loved it. I was sad it ended. Please read it. Very inspirational

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Excellent Read

    It's Louis Lamour. Nothing more needs to be said!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    loved this book!

    i loved this book! it was so good. it gave so much hope for people.i really enjoyed it i often think of adopting and this book tought me that it is not bad if you cant get a baby that a 5 yr old will bring just as much joy to you! i really loved this book! read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2005

    Another hit for Ms. VanLiere

    3rd in the series - First Was Christmas Shoes and 2nd Christmas Blessings which will air on t.v. tonite. This is an emotional read that will tug at your heart. A perfect story for the Christmas season. Patti, a social worker brings home Emily who has just lost her mother before the holidays. This is a no-no but Patti feels sorry for the little girl and cant find an appropriate temporary place to put her. Patti's heart is broken as her own son died during the Christmas holiday and finds no joy in her life and her marriage is severely damaged due to the loss. Little Emily will tug at your heart - she is such a sweet little girl that you cant help fall in love with her. She truly is an angel. Can she help heal Patti's broken marriage? Another secondary plot involving a little baby will have you grabbing for those tissues too. Nathan from the Christmas Shoes has a small part in the story but an important tie in. You wont regret reading this wonderful tale during the holiday or any time. It will warm your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Hope Returns

    I thought that I have lost the world of hope and this book brought it back to me. It is so well written and it really hit the spot were I was with the lose of faith and hope. Thank you ever so much for writing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A POIGNANT READING TO THIS TUG-ON-YOUR-HEARTSTRINGS STORY

    No other time of year is as filled with hope as Christmas. With this, the third book in her inspiring series, Donna VanLiere reminds us that faith can overcome the greatest heartbreak and that love does, indeed, conquer all. Patti Addison, a social worker, is married to Mark, a pilot. Their marriage, if not broken, suffers due to the loss of their only son in a car accident four years ago on Christmas Eve. Joy is no longer a part of their lives, and the holiday season is especially painful. Well trained, Patti knows that social workers should not become personally involved with those they help, but Patti forgets this and brings home Emily, a sweet five-year-old who has no place to live. It is through Emily, who has a firm belief in heaven and angels, that Patti and Mark find happiness again, the joy that a true Christmas can bring. VanLiere, joined by Oliver Wyman, gives a poignant reading to this tug-on-your-heartstrings story. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent storyline

    In spite of their love for one another the death of their son Sean at eighteen threatens to kill the marriage between social worker Patricia and pilot Mark Addison as she has not been able to move on and he can no longer take it as he has grieving to do too. He is leaving her, but she fails to even react to that missive................... Five years old Emily Weist¿s mother died in a car accident currently she resides with nice foster parents, but they are leaving town to say their good-byes to his dying father. With no place to put Emily except in a group setting, Patricia decides to bring the little girl to her home for Christmas breaking every rule of the Department of Family Services. Instead of leaving as he planned at that time, Mark pitches in with caring for the little girl. Soon the miracle of Christmas brings these three lost souls together along with an adopted newborn as a loving family with hope for the future.................. Donna Van Liere always provides an uplifting tale and her fans will celebrate her latest holiday good cheer. The people starring in THE CHRISTMAS HOPE seem genuine as each struggle in their own way in a world that seems so filled with misfortune at least for them until they connect over on Yuletide season. As with the CHRISTMAS SHOES and THE CHRISTMAS BLESSING, this is an inspirational tale that gives hope for all even when life seems out of control and so dark that no light is imminent............... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2