Customer Reviews for

Christmas Jars

Average Rating 4.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed the book and found it inspiring; I now have my own Christmas Jar started.

I found the subject matter of this book to be inspiring and worthy, with maybe a bit too much of a feel-good nature to it. To elaborate, picture someone writing a book that detailed how a number of really good people won the lottery, got that big promotion or found tru...
I found the subject matter of this book to be inspiring and worthy, with maybe a bit too much of a feel-good nature to it. To elaborate, picture someone writing a book that detailed how a number of really good people won the lottery, got that big promotion or found true love while several bad people all received the bad fate that they deserved....it's all a bit too idealistic. Life isn't usually that just. Although that sounds like a bad review of the content of this book, it isn't. And this book isn't as over-the-top sunshine and lollipops as my example. I found the book to be very uplifting and it has a way of cheering you up and making you feel good; like there's still good in this world. And in a "pay it forward" kind of way, even though I never received this type of a random act of kindness, I was inspired to start my own Christmas Jar. I lent the book to a coworker and she also started her own. I decided to do it a bit differently than the book portrays - I'll do a little research to ensure that the recipient is truly needing and deserving (I hate the thought that I could randomly leave the jar to a child molester or a drug dealer) and I'll also deliver it about 10-15 days before Christmas. That's to allow time to shop if it goes to a parent who otherwise wouldn't be able to afford gifts for the kids. Also, 10-15 days before Christmas would help someone enjoy that much more of the season. I also decided to seek out someone in a battered women's shelter, someone needy found through my church or possibly someone found through a local Veterans group who may know of a needy elderly veteran. I don't know yet which way I'll go, but the point is, this book is inspiring me to want to do good. Can a book get a better review than that??? Buy it, read it, but more importantly....LIVE it.

posted by Kenneth_S on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

recommended

I did read and enjoyed Christmas Jars. Great idea especially this time of year when times are hard and many families could use such a gift. It is a great idea for families to take on throughout the year and then present to someone at Christmas time. I have already st...
I did read and enjoyed Christmas Jars. Great idea especially this time of year when times are hard and many families could use such a gift. It is a great idea for families to take on throughout the year and then present to someone at Christmas time. I have already started my jar and have a person in mind to share it with. The gift of giving always brings out the best when it is given anonymously.

posted by 7128249 on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    What a touching story! Some pages, I had to read through tears because I was so moved.

    I've heard many stories about change jars and what people have done with them but this story had a beautiful element of paying it forward and the good karma it may generate in many lives. I will definitely be sharing this book and it's life lesson!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This novella changes lives

    This book will change your life! You will no doubt go out and buy a copy for all your friends and family when you are done reading it. It will become a tradition to read this every holiday season and give away a jar to a person in need. It will become the gift that you give to someone new each and every Christmas! Become part of the Christmas Jar magic and read this story this holiday season. You will be forever changed!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A tradition that could change your life.

    Christmas Jars by Jason F. Wright is a novel that speaks through the realm of fiction to that of reality. Wright develops a beautiful story interweaving the lives of three families throughout the span of twenty-five years. This "family connection"- a girl and a jar full; of change will surely inspire you to start your own "Christmas Jar."
    A newlywed couple, short on money, decides to start a "Christmas Jar," saving loose change that at Christmas will be used to purchase gifts. Twenty five years later a mid-twenties woman working her way up in the news reporter world has a terrible year. Broken and lost she stumbles over a "Christmas Jar" on her front doorstep. Determined to find out who the secret giver is and longing for her own front page story she tracks down the family behind this tradition that has turned into so much more than even they imagined.
    There are twists to this story that will drop your jaw and make you wonder how you can impact others lives. News stories of Starbucks' customers paying for the next customer's drink, the movie pay it forward, and Christmas Jar's website full of stories proves that humanity does care.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Great

    After hearing about the book and author on Glenn Beck, my husband and I purchased 5 books - 1 for ourselves and 4 as gifts.

    It was a quick read, and we started "our Christmas Jar" as a new tradition for futre Christmas'.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Best Book Ever

    The story in this book is so amazing that it has started a Christmas tradition for my family. After reading it, I purchased a book for each of my children, siblings and close friends. I took jars and wrote "Christmas Jar" on each one and put both the book and jar in a gift bag and gave as my gift for that year. I placed a note inside of each jar stating they would have to read the book in order to know what the jar was all about. Everyone has called to tell me it was the best gift they had ever received. My family's Christmas Jar is sitting on our counter, getting ready for Christmas 2010. A MUST READ for everyone!!! It stays with you every day, all year long!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    A must read and share!

    What a touching story of faith, hope, love and kindness! The spirit of the Christmas Jars is somethig we should all have in us, it would be a better world. I received my book for Christmas, have read it and already passed it on with a jar. This is a tradition that I plan to continue each year. A great gesture to instill in children!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    What a heartwarming and touching book

    I had never heard of this book until I Googled what I had found on my porch Monday evening. Yes, the other night I was busy trying to list some things on Ebay so we could get our girls some things for Christmas, when I heard a knock on the door. Imagine my surprise when I found a jar full of coins and paper money with a bow tied around the jar and a "Christmas Jar" poem attached. Who was it from? Why were they so giving? Who would be so selfless and thoughtful to do such a thing?
    Not very many people come to mind, but immediately one person dominated my thoughts and I just knew it had to be her....you know, the only friend you know you could call and would jump to help you; the one who you would never in a million years have anything negative to say about. The only one who you know is capable of such a compassionate act.
    Yes, the book will have you shed a tear, but imagine being on the receiving end of a jar. It's a real tear fest. You know you will pass it on when you can. God bless you D.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    A New tradition

    This book kept my attention on a four hour drive home from skiing. I could not put it down. I cried for the characters and felt the lesson this book offers is huge. After reading this book, I went out and got my own Christmas Jar and explained to my kids the relevance to collecting change. The whole family is in on this new tradition.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Christmas Jars

    This book was nothing short of amazing. The ending grabbed me and this story will be a hard one not to share. It is so beautifully written I am going to let all my friends and family read it. This is one of those stories that needs to be shared to keep Christmas in your life the whole year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    AWESOMEST BOOK EVA!

    This book is toats cool and supes adorbs x-mas story! Ttyl

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    What what:b

    Love this wondy full book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Wonderful! Great read.

    This was another great story to fill your heart with good feelings and your mind with potential power to do good. Put this on on your list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    I received  the jar and the book on Christmas eve  at my job, it

    I received  the jar and the book on Christmas eve  at my job, it was sent by a worker, yet he made it known to me that he was only the deliver person,. I didn't open the gift until 3:00 am Christmas morning and was very much in shock when I open the box,  Being that I still didn't n know where the gift came from I thought if I would read the book It would give me some idea of who my anonymous sender was. I've spent the last days at work trying to find the person or persons responsible for given me such a gift, I am grateful for the gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Listened to this read by the author, a sweet if rather pat story

    Listened to this read by the author, a sweet if rather pat story as that goes.  It is the message that is told in simple 
    language that settles in and makes itself at home in your heart.  It has a few heart wrenching events that aren't
    magically solved as so often happens in novels but throughout the story there is a thread of kindness and
    compassion that is like a brightly shining star on a cold, dark winter's night.  It is quietly inspirational, offering a
    way for people of few means to share and be kind.  Oddly, the story came to me as a gift that I had given, the recipient  lent it back to me because she was so moved by it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Excellent, highly recommend.

    I was so touched by this story that I purchased five copies of the book and presented them to my five girlfriends at our Christmas luncheon yesterday. Inside the front cover of each book I placed a $1 bill. Their instructions were to read the book and then if they wanted to start a Christmas Jar, they were to use the dollar to be the first contribution. If they did not want to start one they were to give the dollar to a charity. In either case they were to pass the book onto someone else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Omg

    Amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    A Real Christmas Story

    An enjoyable journey. I plan to read more by this (new to me) author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    DON'T LIKE . . . LOVE

    This book is amazing, even though I am 12 I understand the meaning and how important it is.I love this book, it has an insperational meaning to it. I would recommend it to those who love Christmas miracles!! :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    Jason Wright is a magical author. He always seems to find the si

    Jason Wright is a magical author. He always seems to find the silver lining. This book is amazing!! It has touched me and changed my holiday outlook. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    Christmas Jars by Jason Wright

    Christmas Jars is a warm, moving story that will remind you of the true joy of giving at Christmas time. It would be a great read for any time of the year. I recommend it for all ages.

    I also recommend Christmas Jars Reunion by the same author. It is a great book as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5