Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Lamp: A Novella

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good clean read!

    A good short book about the tradition associated with some of our holidays. The male/female characters were attracted to each other without any smut or sexual overtones. Nicely written and a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Uon,uo

    Yi
    ioul
    Up
    B,jlhkjmn,b,h p
    ?muouoio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    A Christmas Novella That Will Capture Your Heart! What a wonde


    A Christmas Novella That Will Capture Your Heart!

    What a wonderful heartfelt Christmas read.  This story will surely tug on your heart
    strings as it did mine.

    Nativity is a small town close to being non-existent due to money woes.  Will this
    town survive and thrive once again at the expense of losing the Christmas
    traditions that are near and dear to the people of Nativity?

    As I became acquainted with each character in this book, my heart grew in
    fondness for each and every one.    I asked myself a question, would I be as
    concerned with tradition as these folks were or would I push to set tradition aside
    in order to save my town?

    This is one heartwarming story that you do not want to miss.  I know Christmas
    has come and gone but I still enjoy a good Christmas read any time of the year.

    I have read other books by author Lori Copeland and have enjoyed her novels.  
    Don’t miss out on this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Relaxing Read.

    If you want to read a sweet uncomplicated Inspirational Christmas Romance, then, this is the book for you. But if you’re like me and prefer a bit more action, you can just skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    just okay

    Nativity, Missouri, is in trouble.

    When the small town is bypassed by the newly constructed highway, it loses its much-needed holiday traffic---threatening not only the town's financial survival, but its very heart and soul.

    Outside consultant Jake Brisco threatens everything the community loves about Christmas with his budget-slashing solutions. Nothing is sacred---not even the traditional town Christmas tree. Long-time resident Roni Elliot knows some sacrifices have to be made, but can't let go of the customs and traditions that have marked her holidays since childhood. The decorations and customary activities have always generated vitality and joy throughout the whole season in Nativity.

    Though their priorities and methods clash, Roni and Jake want the same thing---prosperity for the town. As the two get to know each other and become close, each begins to gain a new perspective on what the real wealth of Nativity---and the season---might be.

    The Christmas Lamp takes an honest look into the issues and concerns we all face and sheds light on the real origins of Christmas spirit.

    My Review - This book was very predictable and just okay. I knew from the get go who was going to fall in love with who. And how the town was going to act toward Jake Brisco. Overall this book was just okay. I gave it two stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Getting a Leg up on the Holiday Season

    Lori Copeland has written another book to remind us what is the true meaning of Christmas. The town of Nativity has been suffering from the lack of economy and have called in a financial consultant to help them with their money woes. However as soon as Jake arrives, he gets off to a bad start with the townsfolk by nearly wrecking their beloved Christmas tree. Jake soon finds that the town is so involved with tradition in keeping an ideal Christmas that it's easy to see why they are in debt. As he tries to wean them from their long standing traditions, both him and the town learn what should be important during the holiday season. This book is a really great way to get into the holiday season but it also shows what we should also be focusing on. The town, while having good intentions, seem to be set in their ways and didn't want to change things even though they were suffering. Even when told how their continued ways would bring on the town's demise, they were still adamant on keeping things just as they were because they were comfortable with it. I could totally understand Jake's frustration with the townsfolk and Roni. They needed help but wouldn't accept it. This book has several lessons running throughout it which really makes you think about not only the holiday season but what we put importance on.

    I was EXTREMELY geeked to read about the lamp from A Christmas Story! It's one of my family's favorite Christmas movies and we always get a kick out of watching it every year. In fact my sisters' bought a miniature version of the lamp for my husband for Christmas while we were dating.

    The only little qualm I had with the story is how fast Roni and Jake's relationship progressed. He's been in town for only a few weeks and by the end of the story they are already in love. I just didn't feel like it was very realistic and not very encouraging to other advice that tells you not to fall in love too quickly. Other than that, I enjoyed the book. It's a quick read and it does get you in the holiday spirit. It's good to have reminders of why we celebrate Christmas and where to place importance on during this hectic season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nice story but not very compelling...

    This was a cozy Christmas story with the required warm fuzzies and a touch of romance. The title didn't seem to fit the story, though. There was nothing especially profound about this book. The conflict was there but more tender and in the holiday spirit that most. Plus the tension between them was modified by their attraction to each other, which I found endearing. I liked that it wasn't overly done. So if you want a cozy read that begs for hot chocolate and a fireplace to curl up in front of, you'll want to read this book or buy it for someone this Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1