Customer Reviews for

The Christmas List

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I would have given it 6 stars if I could!

    The Christmas List is one of those books that you end up reading in one sitting and then re-reading (and re-reading and re-reading...). I found myself laughing, crying, fuming--everything that makes a good story. I've already read the book more than once and (after crying every time) am planning on giving it to a friend for her upcoming wedding (there's a wonderful love story between husband and wife) as well as for Christmas gifts. The book is beautiful and will be a wonderful gift for my friends and family. Humor was great, characters were great, story line was clever and Evans' writing continues to get better and better. Here's my six star rating: ******
    :)

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    My new favorite Christmas story

    I wait impatiently every fall for Richard's new book and then I devour it. But The Christmas List was different for me. I almost hated to read another page because I truly despised Jame Kier. Wanted to hurt him! But the more I read, the more the story revealed. I think these are some of the strongest and most compelling of Richard's characters, taking me back to the feelings I felt when I first read The Christmas Box, especially the bittersweet ending. It may seem trite, but it did, indeed, make me want to write my own Christmas list. I loved it, Richard. Can't wait for the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Riveting

    I read this book in one sitting. Loved it and it will be a permnanent member of my library together with the rest of Evan's books.,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    Awesome Book

    I have read all of Richard Paul Evans book and this is number 2, behind the Christmas Box. Very touching story and very powerful. Many lessons to be learned from it as well. Highly recommended!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    I loved this book!

    This book is a modern day Scrooge, even better if possible! I loved it from cover to cover to cover and dreaded the end to come. I have passed it around and everyone else has also loved. It will become a Holiday Classic in my house.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Perfect Christmas Story!

    This book interested me ever since I heard the concept but what I wasn't prepared for were all the different emotions I would encounter while reading. I read this book in one sitting and was absolutely satisfied at the end- in tears! I love books that focus on bettering friendships, family relationships and becoming a better person. I cried, I laughed, I smiled, and I just loved how the author gave me such a satisfying Christmas story! Thank you Richard- I dare say this is my favorite since The Christmas Box!! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    the christmas list

    great book for anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    Great Book

    This is a book that is hard to put down. It is a book everyone should read, especially at Christmas time. It reminds the reader to look at the effect that they have on others and what is important in our lives. It also makes the point that all damage cannot be undone, our actions have a permanent impact. But in the end there is forgiveness and a self serving way of life can be changed to good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Christmas List

    A beautiful and touching story. Has Richard ever written a bad one?? I think not. This book will become another favorite to share during the Holiday Season.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Wonderful Book

    loved this book.... a great story that really makes you stop and think!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    Read this book in an afternoon and it was fantastic! It was the perfect book to get the holiday season started. Great for uplifting your spirit, great Christmas gift for anyone on your list, and makes you want more of that "holiday warmth" it leaves with you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    An Instant classic

    What a terrific inspiring book. I loved it and highly recommend it for the holiday season. A book to read every year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    A must read for the Holiday season before Christmas!

    I found that this was a eye opener and it makes me think twice on how I treat people. I found myself searching my conscience. Have I been over critical or mean to others that I encounter? Have I altered the future of someone life by my actions? I know that we can all take something away from this book that will make us a better friends,siblings and spouses. Richards writings come out every year at the same time and it is a time that my family looks forward to. Thank you Richard for your values and your feel good writing. Its much needed, God Bless

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    How do I want to be remembered?

    This Christmas List really made me evaluate my own life. How do I want to be remembered? The story of The Christmas List encouraged me to consider what is important in my life and what relationships I need to improve. It made me think about my life and that I need to stop and realize what really is important.

    The character that touched me most in this book is Sara. She represents unconditional love. She reminds me that love endures all things and is a hope for things that seem impossible. She never gave up hope and never stopped loving. I want to live my life in the way that Sara lives her life. The main character, James, reminds me that there is always the possibility of making positive changes in our lives. He shows us that there is still time to recognize our mistakes, make restitution and seek forgiveness.

    Like Evans most popular book "The Christmas Box", this book will touch you in your own unique personal way. This latest novel by Evans, reminds me that the true meaning and spirit of Christmas is unconditional love and the peace that comes from seeking forgiveness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    loved it!

    loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very uplifting read!

    A nice warming Christmas read! A good lesson for each of us ---James Kier is a man driven by money, he never cared about whom he had to step on to get it, and even left his wife with cancer. He has lost himself in the business world until one day when he reads his own obituary (mistaken identity)—forcing him to rethink his life and make amends with all his enemies (lots of them) and make it right for each of them.

    Not easy endeavors as he encounters many issues, as most of his enemies are not so inclined to forgive and forget. He has his secretary make a list of the people that he has wronged. Every person brings to light something inside of him. James' growth unfolds with each meeting, and he learns the true meaning of a life lived. A wonderful story and an answer to one special little boy’s Christmas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    We laughed, we cried, we said, "Serves you right!", and we felt his pain. We are very fond of Richard Paul Evans and feel this was one of his better books. As always high moral values are presented in a way that one wants to make them part of his life. We would recommend this book for older teens and adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Love

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    5 stars

    Great holiday read which gives you hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Heartwarming

    Super fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6