Customer Reviews for

A Christmas Memory

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    A Beautiful Version of this story.

    This is a beautiful version of this story. It is very giftable and comes with a CD. I gave it to my grandson for Christmas because it is one of my favorite Christmas stories. Everytime you read it you notice something different. It always makes me cry but in a good way! It is so real. Just a lovely well illustrated version of this timeless story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    An inexpensive version of a timeless story

    This is a good version for students, or a reading group. It is the same great story but not as expensive as a hardback or a collection. I gave this to my minister. I am sure there is a sermon in there somewhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Christmas Memory

    A delightful story, full of vivid detail from which one could easily form mental illustrations. Nevertheless, the illustrations provided seem very much in tune with the story, and add to the book's appeal. The audio version is quite nice also. This is not a children's book, but a touching memoir with an ending of poignant sadness, a boy and an elderly woman, two unexpectedly companionable misfits, she unwilling to grow up, and he being forced to do so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    exceptional

    At first I thought it was a childrens book because of the format & the beautiful drawings....but it turned out to be a beautiful life's lesson that had me in joyful tears at the end. I will read it every Christmas to remind me of what the holiday really represents!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    Christmas stories with meaning!

    This is a Christmas story, but it is also about 'bonding' between generations. Thus, it is touching in a way that makes it readable anytime, whether it is Christmas or August. Similarly, Christmas stories that explore a concept are the ones that can be read anytime, like 'The Polar Express' (explores the word 'BELIEVE') and 'The Blacksmith's Gift' (explores the word 'PURPOSE'). Of course, there are more books like this, but finding one is always a gem!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2003

    Christmas, Love & Friendship

    An incredibly touching story about the rituals shared at Christmas between a parentless 7 year old boy and somewhat eccentric 60 year old cousin. It is a story I read every Christmas and just began sharing with my 6 year old son since it reminds me that I should truely be happy with all I have, when there are so many who have so little. The bond that developed between Buddy and his 'friend' lasts a lifetime and reminds us all of the true meanings of Christmas which is love, sharing and hope. My only disappointment is that the movie, which stars Geraldine Page for which she won an Emmy, is not available on DVD or VHS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2002

    Passing on the touching part

    For many years our family, usually 6 to 8 people, gathers on Christmas eve to read A Christmas Memory. The critical moment comes near the end when the story becomes very touching. Nearly always it brings tears to the eyes of all, so the big thing is -- Who winds up reading that part? Because the reader too wells up and everyone wipes their eyes and laughs at the same time. A wonderful, autobiographical tale by an otherwise strange man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2000

    Christmas Memory Is Memorable

    Fun and touching story that anyone can enjoy. Written in the present tense, pulled me deep into the book and helped me 'bond' with the characters. It has quickly become one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    A Soul Changing Story

    This is a story that everyone, young or old, rich or poor can come to enjoy. It is a timeless masterpiece of the story of a bond of love that not even death can break

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1