BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Pearl

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Delightful!

What a delightful Christmas story!

93 year old Theodora grew up in a happy home ( the home her and her children still live in) full of love, laughter and respect with great traditions every Christmas, but Theodora¿s children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren ar...
What a delightful Christmas story!

93 year old Theodora grew up in a happy home ( the home her and her children still live in) full of love, laughter and respect with great traditions every Christmas, but Theodora¿s children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren are the complete opposite and poor Theodora doesn¿t know how to fix it. While growing up Theodora¿s family had a housekeeper/cook/friend named Pearl who always made everything better Theodora wishes she could find another Pearl to fix her family but Pearl has been dead many years. But Christmas is a time for miracles and getting what you wish for; Christmas starts out awful for this family till a miracle named Pearl, working on getting her wings, swoops in to fix this family.

This was a great story humorous and touching all about family and just what that means, also about miracles and believing in them. What was great was it was never preachy but just a great story. If only we all had a Pearl of our own to fix all the ills in our own family!

If you are looking for a good Christmas story give this one a try!

4 Stars

posted by librarysusie on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Harriet klausner

Once again we have harriet klausner with her cliff note book report revealing the entire book, ruining it for other readers. Please bn, please get rid of this obnoxious poster and delete all her plot spoiling post....please! She ruins absolutely every book she so calls ...
Once again we have harriet klausner with her cliff note book report revealing the entire book, ruining it for other readers. Please bn, please get rid of this obnoxious poster and delete all her plot spoiling post....please! She ruins absolutely every book she so calls reviews.

posted by 8888649 on December 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful!

    What a delightful Christmas story!

    93 year old Theodora grew up in a happy home ( the home her and her children still live in) full of love, laughter and respect with great traditions every Christmas, but Theodora¿s children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren are the complete opposite and poor Theodora doesn¿t know how to fix it. While growing up Theodora¿s family had a housekeeper/cook/friend named Pearl who always made everything better Theodora wishes she could find another Pearl to fix her family but Pearl has been dead many years. But Christmas is a time for miracles and getting what you wish for; Christmas starts out awful for this family till a miracle named Pearl, working on getting her wings, swoops in to fix this family.

    This was a great story humorous and touching all about family and just what that means, also about miracles and believing in them. What was great was it was never preachy but just a great story. If only we all had a Pearl of our own to fix all the ills in our own family!

    If you are looking for a good Christmas story give this one a try!

    4 Stars

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Recommend for those with Charleston backgrounds.

    To be a sixth or seventh generation Charlestonian, I found that I was reliving so much of my past in another of Dorothea Benton Frank's books. Yes! no Christmas Tree went up in our house until as a child I was asleep on Christmas Eve. Dad and Mom always did it after they came home from midnight service. The Pearl in our home was Thelma, and in my grandparent's home downstairs, she was Dorothy. Wonderful memories. Yes! There were three generations living in the same house. Family, Family, Family, and all that goes with it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    highly recommended

    Treat your self by reading this book. Great read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    A very touching, sweet story that shows the magic of the Christmas/Holiday spirit.

    This story brings back the wonder of our childhood memories and what Christmas was like when we were young, as well as how we have all become much too cinical with the flash and dash of the holidays today. It helps us believe in the magic of the past and gives us hope of the future. <BR/><BR/>This story is told through the eyes of an old woman as she struggles with her brash and sometimes ungrateful family as she challenges them to remember what the spirit of Christmas could mean for them if they chose to believe it. The delightful character of "Pearl" makes you want to believe in angels while hoping that maybe there is one for each of us.<BR/>It is warm and wonderful and a perfect read for this time of year. As you rush from one "to-do" to the other, make time to pick up this book and take a breather. You won't regret it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Harriet klausner

    Once again we have harriet klausner with her cliff note book report revealing the entire book, ruining it for other readers. Please bn, please get rid of this obnoxious poster and delete all her plot spoiling post....please! She ruins absolutely every book she so calls reviews.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Cute story

    I always enjoy Dorothea Benton Frank's books. This one was short enough for me to start on the night before Christmas Eve and finish up the next morning. It was hard getting into the Christmas spirit this year, but reading this helped. I love the little lady in the story and her old friend/housekeeper, Pearl.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    readers will enjoy this fun holiday tale.

    Ninety-three years old Theodora still lives in her family home in Charleston just like her mother and grandmother did before her. Although the bones ache and the memory is not quite as keen as it once was, she still her faculties and wants to throw a Christmas gala for her family like the ones her mom used to host back in the 1920s. No one wants to attend, but none disappoint Theodora as the nonagenarian is the recognized family matriarch.-------------- Thus the disgruntled family invades Theodora¿s Charleston home, but the gala is not anything like what she remembers as the stores do the baking (pre-packaged fruitcake is heresy) and the decorations come in packages instead of the family making them. Even more significant is where is Pearl, her grandmother¿s long deceased housekeeper, to serve as a drill sergeant making the truculent attendees behave and sing carols while the servant sang gospels? This is Christmas so sometimes a bit of magic is needed, this time Gullah magic, occurs. The ghost of Pearl arrives to bring order to the chaotic troops and Theodora takes out family Yuletide heirlooms hoping to bring good cheer to this distempered group.--------------- THE CHRISTMAS PEARL is a lighthearted whimsical holiday family drama that fans of Dorothea Benton Frank¿s Lowcountry tales will appreciate. The novella stars an interesting elderly person who believes her family fails to understand what Christmas means and also wants nostalgically to catch a little of her past. With mouth watering recipes to round out the tale, readers will enjoy this fun holiday tale.------------ Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    I have loved all of Dorothea Benton Franks books. I read this on

    I have loved all of Dorothea Benton Franks books. I read this one just days before Christmas to get myself into the holiday spirit. Ms. Frank never disappoints. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Touching story...

    ...reminds you that no matter what problems your family has, forgiveness can make things better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Holiday Treat

    This is exactly the kind of story that sets the mood for the holidays. Easy to read, easy to remember, easy to come back to again next year!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Times review said "little book" with receipes. How little

    Is this a novella or a long short? page count? Mom

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Loved it!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Enchanting!!

    This is book #8 in Dorothea Benton Frank's repertoire. I read the 7 books that preceded this one; they were all fantastic, but this one had a unique sparkle to it....quite enchanting!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    We're all getting there....

    The story is a coming of age story for the Senior plus group and how the world is seen through the eyes of the family's Grand Dame.Will the family survive as it was or will it collapse?It needs a miracle,an answer to a prayer.We all do from time to time.I hope that this is enough to get you started on a wonderful trip into this family's life and old Charleston traditions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    Great Christmas Fun

    During the Christmas season I like to retreat from the cares of the world and enjoy the peace the season celebrates and this book is just the thing! I enjoyed escaping into this world where problems can be solved and faith triumphs disappointments.

    I saved this book to read again next Christmas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    First book I've read by this author

    this was the first book I've read by this author - the author was recommended by an associate at B&N that this author writes for my age group - the story was good but a little slow starting - once I got past the first few chapters I didn't want to put it down - was not written just for my age group as the associate stated - I would definitely read another book by this author before making a call as to whether to buy more or not from them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    ¿Still spry at ninety-three, Theodora has lived long enough to s

    “Still spry at ninety-three, Theodora has lived long enough to see her family grow into an insufferable bunch of truculent knuckleheads. Having finally gathered the whole bickering brood together for the holidays at her South Carolina home, the grand matriarch pines wistfully for those extravagant, homey Christmases of her childhood. How she misses the tables groaning with home-cooked goodies, the over-the-top decorations, those long, lovely fireside chats with Pearl, her grandmother's beloved housekeeper and closest confidante. These days, where is the love and the joy . . . and the peace?
    But this is, after all, a magical time. Someone very special has heard Theodora's plea—and is about to arrive at her door with pockets full of Gullah magic and enough common sense to transform this Christmas into the miracle it's truly meant to be.”

    What a pure delight to read! And, good for the whole year through! Wonderful to read besides just at Christmas just for a lot of happiness --- such a short read also with miracles abiding throughout the whole story! A THIRD of the book is really good old fashion recipes and many will remember and delight in from the past and for today! Any person who has a heart has to enjoy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    APPRENTICE'S DEN

    PearlClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    Not good

    Didn't like it at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Love Pearl

    What a great story to remind us what is important. It is all about family and how we treat each other and how we act.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5