Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Singing

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Delightful book for the Holiday Season

Every once in a while, you open a book, and the characters that emerge from the pages are living, breathing and believable. They take your hand and guide you through a story, making you laugh, making you cry, and always make it hard to turn that last page. Gideon and ...
Every once in a while, you open a book, and the characters that emerge from the pages are living, breathing and believable. They take your hand and guide you through a story, making you laugh, making you cry, and always make it hard to turn that last page. Gideon and Mattie from Cindy Woodsmall's The Christmas Singing are those kinds of characters.

The story opens with Mattie, she's the equivalent of the Amish Cake Boss. She's moved to Ohio, after discovering Gideon in the arms of another woman. Her life with him had once been filled with "passion and gusto", but now her shattered heart is on the mend. She's the successful owner of a cake shop, and is involved in a "comfortable" relationship with Sol.

But then tragedy strikes, and her store is burned down. She heads back to Ohio for the Holidays and is forced to confront Gideon. As the truth of his betrayal comes to light, will it mend the hurt, or bring more pain?

I give this book five stars, and it is a must for your bookshelf this holiday season. One cold afternoon, curl up under a blanket and let the warmth of Gideon and Mattie's story warm your heart. It is a quick and easy read that will bring a little joy to your day.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

posted by MizChelleB on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An overall good story

An over all good story. The lack of communication and trying to do what is best for someone else creates years of loss and regret. It is then full of characters who are trying to do what they think is best without really considering the long term affects of those decisi...
An over all good story. The lack of communication and trying to do what is best for someone else creates years of loss and regret. It is then full of characters who are trying to do what they think is best without really considering the long term affects of those decisions or if they have the right to make them for someone else. A little romance, but mostly about interacting and dealing with feelings and the trials life brings.

posted by songbirdsue on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Delightful book for the Holiday Season

    Every once in a while, you open a book, and the characters that emerge from the pages are living, breathing and believable. They take your hand and guide you through a story, making you laugh, making you cry, and always make it hard to turn that last page. Gideon and Mattie from Cindy Woodsmall's The Christmas Singing are those kinds of characters.

    The story opens with Mattie, she's the equivalent of the Amish Cake Boss. She's moved to Ohio, after discovering Gideon in the arms of another woman. Her life with him had once been filled with "passion and gusto", but now her shattered heart is on the mend. She's the successful owner of a cake shop, and is involved in a "comfortable" relationship with Sol.

    But then tragedy strikes, and her store is burned down. She heads back to Ohio for the Holidays and is forced to confront Gideon. As the truth of his betrayal comes to light, will it mend the hurt, or bring more pain?

    I give this book five stars, and it is a must for your bookshelf this holiday season. One cold afternoon, curl up under a blanket and let the warmth of Gideon and Mattie's story warm your heart. It is a quick and easy read that will bring a little joy to your day.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    An overall good story

    An over all good story. The lack of communication and trying to do what is best for someone else creates years of loss and regret. It is then full of characters who are trying to do what they think is best without really considering the long term affects of those decisions or if they have the right to make them for someone else. A little romance, but mostly about interacting and dealing with feelings and the trials life brings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Nice Amish Getaway There are few reads that delight me more t

    A Nice Amish Getaway

    There are few reads that delight me more than a look into the lives of the Amish. I have embraced this genre, and I have continually been delighted by each book I have read. The Christmas Singing has many of the elements that I enjoy from Cindy Woodsmall. The view into Amish life is painted so clearly I feel like I can see each detail. I was delighted with the descriptions as usual and wished I could drop into Mattie Cakes myself. I wish the shop and the village that Mattie lived in was explored more deeply before she went back to Ridge. I really enjoyed the descriptions and friends there. I hope to see more in a future work. I was also pleased to get the opportunity to catch up with other characters from Cindy's previous book in this series. It was like revisiting old friends.


    The tone of the story itself was a bit somber which I would as with it dealt with some negative events. It would have worked better for me (and this is purely personal) if it actually had not been a Christmas novella. I don't expect everything to be happy, but in a Christmas themed story, I expect it more than I would with other themes. Still the story itself was well written and I hope that my distraction with the tone doesn't lead you to think it was not.

    As for the characters, I would love to see what happens to Saul. He seems to have some deep levels there, and I hope the author will continue to explore them. Mattie herself kind of bugged me. She was hot and cold when it came to Gideon. I couldn't even grasp the momentary joviality that would be followed by resentment. I understood the reasoning, but to be honest, if I had been involved with someone who I truly believed betrayed me, I probably wouldn't be anything more than lukewarm around him. Polite out of necessity. Mattie's reactions often seemed very self centered and off kilter. Gideon and all he had been through simply broke my heart.


    All in all, I enjoyed the story and the look back at old friends. The ending for the main characters was satisfying, and I hope that it opens doors for others that I am also falling in like with. It was the perfect little getaway into Amish Country and I hope to go there again soon.

    I did listen to this book rather than read it, and because of this I do want to comment on that. I felt that the reader had a lovely tone to her voice but it was rather soft. Because of this, I had to turn my volume all the way up on both my Kindle and my computer. This is the first time I have had to do this with an audio book. Also because I was listening and not reading one name kept grating on me: Mattie Lane (Mattie's nickname). I am sure if I was reading it wouldn't have been so distracting, but it seemed to come up way too often as I listened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great short story

    This was a really nice short read. It held my interest til the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Mattie was trying to find her notebook when she was opening up her shop for the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Touching Story

    This was a really enjoyable story. It had heart to it without but was also light. Just what I was looking for at that moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    AWESOME!

    Cindy Woodsmall's books are always amazing, and this is no exception. What a delightful story, filled with characters who feel like real friends. A great read ... and a terrific gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Great Read

    I recently had the chance to read and review this book. I am a fan of Cindy's books and had to read it. I wasn't let down by it. It was a nice not too deep story. Mattie was brokenhearted by her boyfriend and soon after moved away to another community. She meet Sol and started dating him and opened and established her own Bakery from her love of baking cakes. She left the shop for a few moments to help a lady with a cake to her car and before she knows she lost her whole shop in a fire. Mattie goes back home to her community to be with her family and comes face to face with the one who broke her heart. I won't give out anymore details but that is the plot of the book. I found it to be a short sweet romantic Amish read. It does not go into great lengths and gives you just enough of the story to where you are satisfied. I very much enjoyed this newest read from Cindy and I am sure you would love this sweet story too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Wonderful book! Check it out!

    Cindy does it again! Love her books especially this one! Enjoy reading The Christmas Singing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cozy Christmas Read

    Cozy is the exact and right description for The Christmas Singing. As I read the novella, I envisioned sitting in a comfy fire by the fireplace. I couldn't help it. The romance and mystery themes were evenly paced, and Cindy Woodsmall achieved making this a relaxing read despite the surprises scattered here and there in the story, mainly due to the mystery theme.

    I love the way the real reason behind Gideon and Mattie's breakup is slowly revealed. It was like a juicy tidbit is being dangled before us readers so that we will want to read more and more. That made reading this book even more exciting than it already is. The story is simple enough, but what clinches it is the breakup and tension.

    While I like the Gideon and Mattie characters equally the same, Sol was my favorite character and I couldn't help pitying him many times. He has this soft side that makes him endearing. Gideon and Mattie's conversations were my favorite parts in The Christmas Singing. I enjoyed analyzing them. There is much to think about and rationalize in the conversations.

    I don't know how Cindy managed to turn out a piece of work that is both relaxing, exciting, mysterious and romantic, but she certainly makes it turn out all good. The elements are all juggled well, and the ending leaves you feeling contented. This is just the type of book I'd sit back and read after those tense and complicated books (not that I don't love them too, though!). The Christmas Singing is one of the best Amish books I've read to date!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Highly Rcommended

    I reviewed the book Christmas Singing and the first thing I liked about it was the pretty cover. It would be a nice book to lay on a coffee table or on an end table even if it didn't get read.

    I thought the author did a good job making me feel the pain and joys of the characters. I really got into the book and I knew how I wanted the book to end from the very first few chapters.

    This was a very quick read. It wasn't in depth and was a great book to just read for relaxation and enjoyment. My one complaint would be that everything resolved too quickly in the end and I wanted the ending to last longer. I have already started a second book by this author so I liked her well enough to try more books by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful story

    Mattie and Gideon had once been engaged. But, when Mattie's heart is broken by Gideon, she needs to get away. Ohio and her own bakery seem to be the answer to her broken heart, and then there is Sol. Mattie is comfortable in Ohio and life seems to be progressing when her bakery burns down. Mattie needs to regroup and heads home where she runs into Gideon. Will the truth about the break-up come out? Can broken hearts mend? What will become of Mattie's bakery and Sol? This wonderful Christmas story will remind you of the joys and heartaches life can bring, as well as the hope future holds in store.

    As usual, Cindy Woodsmall does her homework and brings a wonderful Amish story to life. The characters are like neighbors and their stories are compelling. I like the descriptions she uses for places because it is easy to picture where something is happening. If you enjoy Amish stories, you will enjoy this one. If you have never read one, this would be a good one to try. I received my review copy from the Blogging for Books program and thank them for the opportunity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun little Amish Christmas story

    Mattie is a single Amish woman owns her own bakery. She left her home and moved to her brother's town after a misunderstanding with her boyfriend. But she's a bit absent minded and accidentally burns her store down. She returns to her hometown to find out that her relationship with Gideon (her ex-boyfriend) isn't what it seemed. Now she must decide what direction her life is going to take.

    I enjoyed this book. I've read several other books by Cindy Woodsmall and have enjoyed them all. I was not a huge fan of Amish fiction, but she has changed my opinion. The author has a pleasant writing style and the stories are always fun. The characters are real and the Christian message is strong without being over powering. I'm looking forward to reading more by this author.

    I received this book free of charge from WaterBrook in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Highly recomend. Easy reading and entertaining

    Will continue to read her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Christmas Story

    I've recently become a big fan of Amish fiction. I always enjoy reading books by Cindy Woodsmall and this one was no exception. It was super easy to fall in love with these characters and find myself totally immersed in their story. I've never been to Amish country, but as I read I felt as though I was right there alongside Mattie and Giedon.

    Because of her connection to the Amish community, Woodsmall always fills her stories with little facts and tidbits about the people. For example, in this book I learned that while most Amish groups do not allow members to have telephones, they are permitted to have phones in their businesses.

    I only have one complaint about the story, it's on the shorter side and because of that it almost feels as if parts of the story are rushed and skimmed over. I would have loved for the story to go a little deeper into Mattie and Gideon's story and would gladly have read another 100 pages to do so. Other than that minor detail, I loved this story and look forward to reading more by Cindy Woodsmall.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I wanted just a little bit more...

    The Christmas Singing by Cindy Woodsmall is ¿A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country¿. It opens with Mattie, an Old Order Amish woman living in Ohio with her brother and his family, where she runs and operates her own cake shop called ¿Mattie Cakes¿ Mattie had come to Ohio from Pennsylvania, to help heal her broken heart as her intended Gideon had broken off their relationship on Christmas 3 years earlier. After discovering what appears to be unfaithfulness on Gideon¿s part, Mattie puts up a wall to keep her broken heart from being hurt again. And so she begins a very safe relationship with a man in Ohio named Sol. They are comfortable with each other and allow each other their space. But a tragedy strikes, and this brings Mattie back to Pennsylvania and to Gideon. As they renew their friendship, and are completely honest with each other the true story comes out and new choices must be made. Love, sacrifice and understanding weave together and bring about things just as they should be. My thoughts on this book are that it does deliver a ¿Romance from the Heart of the Amish Country¿. The characters were believable- I could really relate to the scattered character of Mattie, being a creative type myself, I get that. And Gideon was solid as well and I understood why he made the choices he made in the novel. For me, I wished that there would have been a bit more at the end. I felt that it was a bit abrupt. I would have loved to have seen one scene in particular with Gideon and Mattie towards the end of the book elongated a bit- I feel it would have helped the reader see a bit more what Gideon and Mattie looked like when they were good together. Those are just my thoughts though. Overall, an enjoyable read, I just would have liked to have seen a bit more. One nice addition towards the end is that the author includes recipes to the cakes mentioned for the wedding, a nice addition, for sure. 3 stars. I received this book from Waterbrook Press in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    honest portrayal of everyday life in the making.

    Reviewed by Karen P. for Readers Favorite

    In The Christmas Singing, author Cindy Woodsmall places an Amish woman named Mattie in Ohio. Three years prior to the setting of the book, Mattie and her childhood sweetheart, Gideon, broke off their long-term relationship. Mattie was convinced that Gideon preferred the fancy English women to her, and she has now struck a friendly relationship with Sol. He does little for her romantically, but Sol is good company, and Mattie and Sol have an understanding that they will someday marry. Then tragedy strikes. Mattie's beloved bakery burns, and she is left without a profession that consumed all her waking hours.

    Mattie then travels back home to Pennsylvania to be with her sick mother, and she inadvertently comes into contact with Gideon, a situation which has them both anxious and on edge. Mattie sets about making wedding cakes for two friends, and this necessitates even greater contact with Gideon, a man who appears to hold many secrets. Anger, disappointment and a sense of betrayal all prevent Mattie from seeing and accepting the truth about Gideon, and she flees back to a loveless life with Sol. But, the story does not end there.

    Those who like the writing of other Amish writers will be captivated with Cindy Woodsmall's stories. The stories are a simple and honest portrayal of the interpersonal issues which present in everyday life to people of any religion and any culture. There is no violence, no aggression, no hostility; there is only the honest portrayal of everyday life in the making.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    An Amish Christmas

    Cindy Woodsmall takes us back to the heart of Amish Country in her latest book "The Christmas Singing." Mattie Eash and Gideon Beiler are childhood friends but an unexpected illness makes Gideon decide to break off his relationship with Mattie. Brokenhearted, Mattie moves to Ohio to make her dream come true of owning her own shop as a cake decorator. In the process she finds a new beau but she can not get Gideon out of her thoughts. Then, disaster strikes her shop and forces her to return back to her home in Pennsylvania and face Gideon. In this Christmas story love and truth win out.
    The characters from Woodsmall's previous Christmas tale, "The Sound of Sleigh Bells" are woven through out the book. So it's nice to meet them again and catch up on what has been happening A quick read to help put you in the Christmas spirit.
    I received this book free to review from Multnomah publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    A great Christmas Read!!

    From the back of the Book:
    After Gideon Coldly broke her heart, can the warmth of the season revive Mattie's hopes? Mattie thought her childhood sweetheart adored her until he abruptly ended their engagement on Christmas Eve. Three years later, will learning the truth behind his rejection restore her Christmas joy- or open the door to even deeper heartbreak? Spend Christmas with the Amish in this story of love, romance, heartache, and restoration.

    My Thoughts:
    This book is by the same author as The Harvest of Grace, and I must say I am falling in love with this author. She has a way of bring her characters to life. Even though her Characters from the Amish Country are from a very different walk of life then me I relate to them. With her writing style I feel the characters joys as well as they struggle. This book is that way I fell in love with Mattie and longed to see her make the choices that would make her happy. Do you ever try to tell a character what to do as you read a book, knowing you see the big picture and they don't? I did this in this book I wanted to tell Mattie exactly what to do to live the happily ever after life. I will not tell you if she listened to me or not by the end of the story!!

    This book was a quick easy read. I read it in one night. I think part of this is due to the size of the book, but also it is a book you don't want to put down. I give this book a 5 out of 5 stars a good winter read!

    I was provided a free copy of this book from Water Brook Press for review purposes the opinions in this review are mine alone and are not influenced by the company.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Christmas Singing

    Mattie Eash and Gideon Beiler grew up in Apple Ridge Pa together,becoming best friends and later sweethearts that became engaged, but when Gideon broke off the engagement on Christmas Eve, Mattie was heartbroken. She decides to move to Ohio to live with her brother and open a bakery. Mattie moved on with her life, opened her bakery and found a new beau, but when unforeseen circumstances force Mattie to head back to Apple Ridge she has to confront the hurt from her past. Can she finally put the past behind her once and for all, and how will she handle the truth of why Gideon broke the engagement?

    While this book was a very quick read at only 189 pages the author gives the reader a fantastic story with well drawn characters and plenty of details to bring the story to life. I thought each character seemed very realistic, and while Mattie was Amish she wasn't your typical Amish lead. She was a outspoken, and often a bit klutzy, but things normally worked out. It was nice to see that she moved on with her life instead of wallowing and deciding she would never love again. Gideon hid the reason for the breakup not only from Mattie but the others in his community as well, and since he had been baptized the secret must stay hidden. There are plenty of inspirational lessons to be taken from this one. While this is Christmas themed book I really think it could be read year round. The dessert recipes included were a great bonus.
    Cindy Woodsmall is an author who always delivers a great Amish story and this one isn't any different. A must read for fans of Amish fiction or anyone wanting to get into the holiday mood.

    A complimentary copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2