Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Singing

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Delightful book for the Holiday Season

Every once in a while, you open a book, and the characters that emerge from the pages are living, breathing and believable. They take your hand and guide you through a story, making you laugh, making you cry, and always make it hard to turn that last page. Gideon and ...
Every once in a while, you open a book, and the characters that emerge from the pages are living, breathing and believable. They take your hand and guide you through a story, making you laugh, making you cry, and always make it hard to turn that last page. Gideon and Mattie from Cindy Woodsmall's The Christmas Singing are those kinds of characters.

The story opens with Mattie, she's the equivalent of the Amish Cake Boss. She's moved to Ohio, after discovering Gideon in the arms of another woman. Her life with him had once been filled with "passion and gusto", but now her shattered heart is on the mend. She's the successful owner of a cake shop, and is involved in a "comfortable" relationship with Sol.

But then tragedy strikes, and her store is burned down. She heads back to Ohio for the Holidays and is forced to confront Gideon. As the truth of his betrayal comes to light, will it mend the hurt, or bring more pain?

I give this book five stars, and it is a must for your bookshelf this holiday season. One cold afternoon, curl up under a blanket and let the warmth of Gideon and Mattie's story warm your heart. It is a quick and easy read that will bring a little joy to your day.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

posted by MizChelleB on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An overall good story

An over all good story. The lack of communication and trying to do what is best for someone else creates years of loss and regret. It is then full of characters who are trying to do what they think is best without really considering the long term affects of those decisi...
An over all good story. The lack of communication and trying to do what is best for someone else creates years of loss and regret. It is then full of characters who are trying to do what they think is best without really considering the long term affects of those decisions or if they have the right to make them for someone else. A little romance, but mostly about interacting and dealing with feelings and the trials life brings.

posted by songbirdsue on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Touching Story

    This was a really enjoyable story. It had heart to it without but was also light. Just what I was looking for at that moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cozy Christmas Read

    Cozy is the exact and right description for The Christmas Singing. As I read the novella, I envisioned sitting in a comfy fire by the fireplace. I couldn't help it. The romance and mystery themes were evenly paced, and Cindy Woodsmall achieved making this a relaxing read despite the surprises scattered here and there in the story, mainly due to the mystery theme.

    I love the way the real reason behind Gideon and Mattie's breakup is slowly revealed. It was like a juicy tidbit is being dangled before us readers so that we will want to read more and more. That made reading this book even more exciting than it already is. The story is simple enough, but what clinches it is the breakup and tension.

    While I like the Gideon and Mattie characters equally the same, Sol was my favorite character and I couldn't help pitying him many times. He has this soft side that makes him endearing. Gideon and Mattie's conversations were my favorite parts in The Christmas Singing. I enjoyed analyzing them. There is much to think about and rationalize in the conversations.

    I don't know how Cindy managed to turn out a piece of work that is both relaxing, exciting, mysterious and romantic, but she certainly makes it turn out all good. The elements are all juggled well, and the ending leaves you feeling contented. This is just the type of book I'd sit back and read after those tense and complicated books (not that I don't love them too, though!). The Christmas Singing is one of the best Amish books I've read to date!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful story

    Mattie and Gideon had once been engaged. But, when Mattie's heart is broken by Gideon, she needs to get away. Ohio and her own bakery seem to be the answer to her broken heart, and then there is Sol. Mattie is comfortable in Ohio and life seems to be progressing when her bakery burns down. Mattie needs to regroup and heads home where she runs into Gideon. Will the truth about the break-up come out? Can broken hearts mend? What will become of Mattie's bakery and Sol? This wonderful Christmas story will remind you of the joys and heartaches life can bring, as well as the hope future holds in store.

    As usual, Cindy Woodsmall does her homework and brings a wonderful Amish story to life. The characters are like neighbors and their stories are compelling. I like the descriptions she uses for places because it is easy to picture where something is happening. If you enjoy Amish stories, you will enjoy this one. If you have never read one, this would be a good one to try. I received my review copy from the Blogging for Books program and thank them for the opportunity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun little Amish Christmas story

    Mattie is a single Amish woman owns her own bakery. She left her home and moved to her brother's town after a misunderstanding with her boyfriend. But she's a bit absent minded and accidentally burns her store down. She returns to her hometown to find out that her relationship with Gideon (her ex-boyfriend) isn't what it seemed. Now she must decide what direction her life is going to take.

    I enjoyed this book. I've read several other books by Cindy Woodsmall and have enjoyed them all. I was not a huge fan of Amish fiction, but she has changed my opinion. The author has a pleasant writing style and the stories are always fun. The characters are real and the Christian message is strong without being over powering. I'm looking forward to reading more by this author.

    I received this book free of charge from WaterBrook in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    An new amish romance in time fore Christmas!

    An Amish romance from Cindy Woodsmall, just in time for Christmas!


    Short and sweet, yet not sappily so, The Christmas Singing is sure to please. I read this sweet story in less than a day and enjoyed every minute of it. The pages turned steadily as I found myself fascinated and entertained with Mattie Eash's world.


    Mattie Eash is a young Amish woman with a gift for decorating cakes. But after her bakery burns to the ground and she goes home for the holidays, she comes face to face with her childhood sweetheart, Gideon Beiler. Gideon broke her heart years before when she found him with another woman--an English woman. But Gideon has his secrets. Meanwhile Mattie plans her life with her current flame, Sol, a solid young man, who is an avid hunter. Lovers of Amish romance will eat up Ms. Woosmall's charming tale of love in Amish country.


    I really enjoyed reading about Mattie's beautiful cakes, I could almost taste them they sounded so good! Not to mention the fact that there are recipes in the back of the book!


    Cindy Woodsmall is a gifted writer, who brings all of the Amish charm, while also including the real feelings and struggles. I like to say that when I read Ms. Woodsmall's books, I relax but never fall alseep!


    Overall a very well done Amish romance that I highly recommend. The pages turned steadily for me and I completed it in less than a day :) A very well written book indeed.


    Final Rating: 4.5 out of 5

    I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Sweet Christmas Story!

    I'm a huge fan of Amish novels and have read <em>a lot, a lot</em> of them. Cindy Woodsmall is one of my favorite authors so I was excited to have the opportunity to read this book. When I first ordered it, I debated over waiting until closer to Christmas to read it, you know so I'd be more in the Christmas spirit. When it arrived, I just couldn't wait. I had to get started on it right away. Cindy didn't disappoint. I was on the edge of my seat, so to speak the entire time it took to complete the book. I hated to put it down and couldn't wait to pick it back up again! This story is all about love, heartbreak, forgiveness and hope for the future. As a special treat when you've finished the book, there are yummy recipes in the back cased on the mouth watering cakes made by Mattie in the story:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    A wonderful story of love, romance, heartache and restoration

    Mattie and Gideon grew up as best friends in the Amish community of Apple Ridge, PA. As they came into courting age, no one was surprised to see them become a couple and engaged. On one cold Christmas Eve, Mattie went to his home to surprise him with a cake, but she was the one surprised. When Mattie catches him with an "Englischer," he ends their engagement and tells her that they both need to see other people.


    Devastated, Mattie moves to Ohio and lives with her older brother and his family. While there, she opens up a cake baking/decorating store, Mattie Cakes, and immerses herself in her passion. For three years, she enjoys a good business, many customers, and the affections of a new beau, Sol. During a quick trip next door to visit with a friend, her store catches fire. She runs into it believing her young niece is trapped inside. Thankfully her niece is not there, but Mattie passes out from smoke inhalation and receives minor burns.


    Mattie is encouraged to return home to Apple Ridge to recuperate and spend time with her mother who suffers from a chronic illness. Her biggest fear rises when she keeps finding herself in the company of Gideon. Will they be able to put the past in the past? Can she forgive him for dumping her three years ago? Will learning the truth behind his rejection restore her Christmas joy - or open the door to even deeper heartbreak?


    Read the first 14 pages HERE.

    Even though this book was a quick read, Cindy Woodsmall is able to bring a serious topic to light - when is it alright to lie to protect a loved one? Does it help the situation or hurt it? If we lie to "protect" someone, are we truly trusting God with the outcome of the situation?


    My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    I received this complimentary copy from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through their Blogging for Books program for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1