Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Sweater

Average Rating 4
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Read; even better gift!

Yesterday I received an advanced order copy of Glenn Beck¿s book. Last night instead of watching mindless TV programs I began reading it. I have only read two other books cover to cover in one sitting, Living at the Summit by Dr. Tom Hill and The Little Gold Book of Y...
Yesterday I received an advanced order copy of Glenn Beck¿s book. Last night instead of watching mindless TV programs I began reading it. I have only read two other books cover to cover in one sitting, Living at the Summit by Dr. Tom Hill and The Little Gold Book of YES!Attitude by Jeffrey Gitomer but last night I read The Christmas Sweater cover to cover. Glenn Beck is well known for his political commentary and should anyone decide NOT to read his book because of his beliefs, it will be their loss. This is an amazing novel, not a political commentary, about a 12 year old boy who experiences rough times growing up and how he responds or better, reacts. It is a book about growing up, about believing in yourself, about having faith, and about change. The book brought back memories of people, places, things and events in my own life as a youngster that I had completely forgotten about. The book is based in part about Glenn¿s life as he explains at the end. It is a very compelling read that I not only recommend everyone reading but the book would make a fantastic Christmas gift especially if you get the collector¿s hard cover edition. Gymbeaux

posted by Gymbeaux on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

The Wonder Years and The Five People You Meet in Heaven

I borrowed this from the library after hearing so much about it on, what else, "The Glen Beck Radio Show." It is a quick read... however, as soon as I started it, all I could think of was "The Wonder Years" TV show w/ Fred Savage. Glen's writing sounded like the narra...
I borrowed this from the library after hearing so much about it on, what else, "The Glen Beck Radio Show." It is a quick read... however, as soon as I started it, all I could think of was "The Wonder Years" TV show w/ Fred Savage. Glen's writing sounded like the narrator of "The Wonder Years" episodes, which I loved... and which had far, far better stories than this book has. I found it trite, predictable, a knock-off of the usual Christmas themes as "It's A Wonderful Life." Somehow, I never got the impression that Eddie/Glen ever really "got it." The reader could see right through the imaginary Ralph, aka his Dad, aka God. If you are looking for this kind of read, I would recommend Mitch Albom's books, which elicited far more emotion than this Glen Beck book. I give it a thumbs down. Instead, buy or borrow from the library these from Mitch Albom: "The Five People You Meet in Heaven," "Tuesdays with Morrie," and "For One More Day." They are well-written and emotional. Just my opinion, of course.

posted by 544725 on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 327 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    Very good book to read at Christmas time.

    It is a very heart warming book. It makes a "Great" Christmas book to be read at Christmas time. I think the price is a little to high. Most people who need this book to bring some joy into their life during "this"<BR/>Christmas year will not be able to afford it.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Holiday Reading

    A great Christmas tale to put you in the spirit of the season. A bit lengthy but worth it. If you perfer shorter stories, Philip's Real Christmas Story is a must.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    What a Powerful Message

    Those familiar with Glenn Beck know his life story. Those who don't will still enjoy this book, which is loosely based upon an event in Beck's life. The message is simple: we become who we are based on events that happen in our lives but we don't have to remain that person. In order to not remain in stagnation, in order to be the best person we can be, we must face the demons of our pasts & be prepared to face the demons that will come our way in the future(the storm in the story). One character especially will leave his mark on the reader. He is metaphorical on many levels, including a level of spirituality. If you enjoyed Albom's The Five People You Meet In Heaven, you'll enjoy The Christmas Sweater.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    Outstanding

    Much needed book for our times. Never heard of Glen Beck - but now I am glad my secretary gave this to me for Christmas. She told me I would love it and she was right. She is getting a bonus! Merry Christmas to everyone!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    A Waste of Time and Money

    With due respect, Glenn Back does not have the talent to write (fiction, at least.) His book is full of cliches and after chapter two the plot becomes rather predictable.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    What a waste of my time!

    This book was so disappointing. I took a break from another book to read this as I thought it might be uplifting over the holidays. Quite a mistake! I thought it was poorly written and very depressing. Both parents killed. Joyous. I hope Mr. Beck enjoys his Christmas bonus all on the unsuspecting public. I'm sorry I must be off track as I've been reading some of the other reviews and they must have taken some time from the daily tv drivel to read this little ditty and low and behold they thought it was good. Just another example of the sorry state of affairs in the US today. Happy Holidays!

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Christmas Story

    This story reminded me of many past Christmases, only it was a doll for me instead of a sweater. It is a longer read but for those with the time, it is well worth it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    A truly touching story

    To sit and read a book in a few days does not happen very often to me. However, I started this book and couldn't put it down. It was one of the most touching stories I've ever read. The books was able to share simple lessons in a wonderful Christmas story. I believe we can all find a little of ourselves in "Eddie". What a great way to start the holiday season and set the tone for what the season is really about.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyday is Christmas

    A co-worker loaned this book to me because she thought I would enjoy it and I certainly did. I read it after the Christmas holidays but realized that this is not about Christmas but about everyday appreciation. I'm not so wrapped up in critiquing someone's writing style as other reviews herein have done but rate a book on how I feel after reading it. This book stayed in my thoughts for days afterwards so I hope to one day get my own copy for my personal library. It's a book enjoyable at any age. Read it for it's content value, not to judge the writer.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Ick.

    To cut a long series of criticisms short, I didn't find this book to be engaging, well-written or entertaining. Beck's experiences were somewhat interesting at times, however the storytelling was not well executed at all.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Easy reading with a point

    Glenn Beck's writing style is easy to read, but he in no way skates lightly over the serious subject of the book. He illustrates well how growing up isn't always easy, and how confusing and daunting tough times can be for a young boy. But with good, strong role models and a firm grounding in the basic values of a loving family, our chances are good for becoming successful adults. The book gets a little melodramatic toward the climax for my taste, but the story is heart warming. An enjoyable read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    Did a 12 year old write this?

    Talk about a depressing book for the holidays! Not only are there loads of errors, but with all the death and sadness I nearly threw it in the fire. I kept reading in hopes that "Eddie" would get a break and be happy, only to find it all turned into a religious rant in the end. If I knew that beforehand, it definitely would have found its way into the fire.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    Awesome Book

    Awesome book, Glen Beck. Love everything you do, man!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Author, Light at the End of My Pen

    Glen is a true patroit, a great american! Way to Beck

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    I read this book at the urging of a friend - and read it twice!

    I read this book at the urging of a friend - and read it twice! A must read for old - and young - alike. Sensitve, inspiring, amazing, and gently reaches to your heart - a reminder we are not perfect - and that's okay - as long as we learn from life's experiences. A quick read that the second time around is even better. Enjoy and grow from the reminder of Christmas past .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Great story

    A very personal touching story. Loved it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    This book is from the heart. I didn't want to put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    I loved this story!

    I could not put this book down and now I read it every Christmas. It is right up there with Dickens. Thank you Glen, you make us laugh, cry and think but most of all you gave me the best gift of my life you made me love to read. Since I started watching your show I can't get enough American History I even read historical fiction. I own 2 nooks thanks to you and B&N. You are a rare gift to this country and if the left would close their mouth and open their ears they just might learn something I know I did and I used to be one of them. God Bless you Glen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    This was a very heartwarming story everyone should read. It is especially helpful for those going through tough times, as we all do. It explains just how things happen and they are not our fault. Atonement is the most important highlight in this book, just as in real life. Your life is yours, and the path you take is your choice. Do not blame anyone else for your circumstances. But there is always time for 2nd chances. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Great Book

    I read this book last Christmas. It was such a touching story. It was written very well and I could connect with the Characters very well. I always love Christmas books and when one of my favorite Authors said we should read this book. I though why not give it a try. He was right, it is a great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 327 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17