BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Sweater

Average Rating 4
( 328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Read; even better gift!

Yesterday I received an advanced order copy of Glenn Beck¿s book. Last night instead of watching mindless TV programs I began reading it. I have only read two other books cover to cover in one sitting, Living at the Summit by Dr. Tom Hill and The Little Gold Book of Y...
Yesterday I received an advanced order copy of Glenn Beck¿s book. Last night instead of watching mindless TV programs I began reading it. I have only read two other books cover to cover in one sitting, Living at the Summit by Dr. Tom Hill and The Little Gold Book of YES!Attitude by Jeffrey Gitomer but last night I read The Christmas Sweater cover to cover. Glenn Beck is well known for his political commentary and should anyone decide NOT to read his book because of his beliefs, it will be their loss. This is an amazing novel, not a political commentary, about a 12 year old boy who experiences rough times growing up and how he responds or better, reacts. It is a book about growing up, about believing in yourself, about having faith, and about change. The book brought back memories of people, places, things and events in my own life as a youngster that I had completely forgotten about. The book is based in part about Glenn¿s life as he explains at the end. It is a very compelling read that I not only recommend everyone reading but the book would make a fantastic Christmas gift especially if you get the collector¿s hard cover edition. Gymbeaux

posted by Gymbeaux on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

The Wonder Years and The Five People You Meet in Heaven

I borrowed this from the library after hearing so much about it on, what else, "The Glen Beck Radio Show." It is a quick read... however, as soon as I started it, all I could think of was "The Wonder Years" TV show w/ Fred Savage. Glen's writing sounded like the narra...
I borrowed this from the library after hearing so much about it on, what else, "The Glen Beck Radio Show." It is a quick read... however, as soon as I started it, all I could think of was "The Wonder Years" TV show w/ Fred Savage. Glen's writing sounded like the narrator of "The Wonder Years" episodes, which I loved... and which had far, far better stories than this book has. I found it trite, predictable, a knock-off of the usual Christmas themes as "It's A Wonderful Life." Somehow, I never got the impression that Eddie/Glen ever really "got it." The reader could see right through the imaginary Ralph, aka his Dad, aka God. If you are looking for this kind of read, I would recommend Mitch Albom's books, which elicited far more emotion than this Glen Beck book. I give it a thumbs down. Instead, buy or borrow from the library these from Mitch Albom: "The Five People You Meet in Heaven," "Tuesdays with Morrie," and "For One More Day." They are well-written and emotional. Just my opinion, of course.

posted by 544725 on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The Christmas Sweater - A Touching Story of Redemption

    Glenn Beck's writing style is similar to his speaking style on his radio program: straight-forward with a touch of cynicism. Easy to read story with short chapters, compelling the reader to continue to the next chapter, and the next and the next. Based on his childhood, it's a story of suffering and redemption centered around his rejection of a gift from his mother, and his coming to terms with the self-created storms in his life. There are life lessons to be learned from this story. The earlier in life the better. Whether you agree with Beck's political positions and commentary or not, this book will touch your heart.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Easy reading with a point

    Glenn Beck's writing style is easy to read, but he in no way skates lightly over the serious subject of the book. He illustrates well how growing up isn't always easy, and how confusing and daunting tough times can be for a young boy. But with good, strong role models and a firm grounding in the basic values of a loving family, our chances are good for becoming successful adults. The book gets a little melodramatic toward the climax for my taste, but the story is heart warming. An enjoyable read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Christmas Sweater

    As children, we thrive in an environment of stability with the love and guidance of our parents. We eagerly look forward to finding our most desired presents under the tree on Christmas morning. But what happens if our father is suddenly taken from us, leaving us somewhat destitute ... with mother struggling to make ends meet? Stability is suddenly cast aside as we try to make sense of what is happening. Christmas looks very bleak, but we still wish for a miracle so we can receive the gift of our dreams. And the Christmas sweater? Our dream? What a disappointment. And yet what would happen if our mother is suddenly taken from us as well? What kind of life will we have now? "The Christmas Sweater", by Glenn Beck, is his true story... the turmoil he lived through, and the struggles he encountered. And just who was Russell, anyway? This book will wrap itself around your heart and cause you to ponder at what is really important in our lives.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Excellent read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I do not agree politically with Glenn Beck and hesitated to begin this book. Once into it a few pages I was hooked. Excellent story for Christmas season. I can now understand the background of Mr. Beck and how it has contributed to his political beliefs. Good story and great lesson to be learned. I recommend it to young teenagers and any age after that. So glad I bought it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Touching personal story.

    I didn't really think I would like this book when I bought it. I like Glenn Beck and he was in town autographing the book so I thought at the very least it would be a nice collectors item. I was surprised at how I couldn't put this short story down. It's written in a easy reading style and I found myself truely touched to the point of choking up at the end of the story and Glenn's final word on the story and how it came to be. An excellent story. If you aren't touched at the end you have a heart of stone!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    Great Story, Disappointing Writing Style.

    After I read the book I pondered for a day or two rethinking the troubles in my life and how I could face my own personal storms, although I loved the book I had a difficult time getting past his style of writing. It seemed that he wrote the book in a dumbed down way to make it easier to read. I don't know if he did this to try to attract younger readers or if he thought we wouldn't be able to understand otherwise. Other then that it was a fantastic story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    Christmas Sweater does enlighten

    thought this book was going to be just another nice book with a nice boring moral to it. NOT - at first, yes thought that was all it was until half way through and bam! It was powerful and wonderful!! Such messages and self identifying. Everyone could learn something from it. And I could not put it down until I was done once half way into it. True story - can't get much better than that - one facing what is holding them back. If you think Eddie did not learn from it, well whoever is reading the book does and that is whats important.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    Lessons Learned

    Not only could I not put the book down, my husband couldn't either and it is not the type of book he ever reads. This story is full of lessons we all should learn. We feel every teenager should read this book and it is a good book for a family to read together. This is definitely a book you will want to give to others, but will not want to give your copy away.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2014

    Sweet Story

    There are two sub-stories that really set this story apart. The first is that teen/pre-teen attitude that causes a young boy to say and do things that aren't in his own best interest. Eddie tries hard to feel and understand what others are going through, but it's his own feelings and reactions that rule the day.
    The second is a sort of history lesson. I grew up in the 1960's with maybe just enough money in the house. This is a story that will take you back to that time in honest detail. The TV was just an appliance. You turned it on for your favorite shows, then you turned it off. The cars all had seat belts, but they were dusty nasty things that you pushed aside as you got in. My two oldest brothers and I had to use those iron-on patches on our denim jeans, and I can remember my mother saying, "You've only patched them once. They're still good. Put another patch on." Eddie has similar stories.
    There were no credit cards. If you didn't have the cash, you did without. This story is a great re-telling of that lifestyle.
    Eddie's mother knits him a sweater with her own hands. She knows what she's doing. You are allowed to feel that the sweater was a good quality sweater. You are encouraged to feel just how much love she put into it. But it certainly wasn't at the top of a young boy's Christmas List.
    The main story is Eddie's reaction and the subsequent chain of events. It is well-told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Recommend

    Enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Makes you think about what is important

    This work of fiction is based on a period of time in author Glenn Beck's life. Some might find it sappy; although I wouldn't say it is a great story, it was a decent read. Young Eddie's father died a couple years previously and he doesn't get the Christmas present he wants. He says things to his mother and his grandparents which he later regrets. Life lessons are learned but not always taken in the spirit which they are taught. A surprise ending wraps things up nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great book!!!

    This has to be one of the best books I have ever read! Very meaningful and very powerful. I was unable to put the book down. So GOOD! It would be a good book for adults AND tweens to read..although some parts may be hard to read it teaches to not be selfish and to be grateful for what you DO have. :) BEST.BOOK.EVER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great book!

    Enjoyed this book very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    A wonderful, warm and truly inspirational story

    I teach in a jail and found this book sitting on one of the shelves in our library. I started to read it while on my lunch break. I brought it home and finished it. I read to the women in the jail every week from other books, but will definitely add this one to our list. It offers hope where many of the inmates I work with feel none. I tell them often that you are responsible for your own destiny and that doing drugs is not the way to see your "vision" come true. This book will let them see that other people have been thru difficult times and that you can change to way you react, think or feel in any circumstance. You are not "stuck" with what you grew up with. You can change it and you for a better life. It isn't easy but it can be done. Thank you for yet one more story of change for the better. I know it will bring tears laughter and nods of understanding from everyone in the group. It is just one more treasure I have found in a jail..there are more than people realize. More should find this book by happy accident as I did,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    A Lesson in Redemption

    When I picked up this book to read it, I wasn't expecting very much more than a simple, touching read for the holiday season. I have enjoyed Glenn Beck's other writings and his radio and television shows, and I set about reading this book with some hope for insight into the author's character.

    So I wasn't reading this book with some hope of a political, social or religious message. What I wanted, in truth, was a book with which I could relax and settle in on a winter's night.

    And Glenn Beck delivered beautifully.

    What I liked most about this book was the fact that I could see myself in the main character of Eddie. I was able to relate to the feeling of "deserving" that thing which we most want (especially at a time like Christmas) and when I studied Eddie I realized, with some self-disdain, that I had also behaved badly, as so many of us have.

    What was disappointing for me was the fact that I was hoping to connect with Glenn Beck on a much deeper and more personal level. I thought the book would be more autobiographical than it was, and as it turns out, there are only two themes in the book which carry throughout as having a genuine personal origin for Glenn Beck.

    For all that being said, this book has received a fair number of reviews, both in the positive and the negative. I know and understand the tendency to simply mark an item 5 stars or 1 star. Few people rate books somewhere in between. Those books I love, for me, are always a four. It's hard to give a book a one or a five, with only favorites at a five and disasters at a 1.

    I'd have to say that this book is a 4 for me, since I would readily pass it on to others. I got something out of this book: a profound and engaging desire to rediscover my authentic Self. That was the gift that I got out of this book, and I would love to see others receive such a wonderful gift as well.

    I don't believe that you must like or agree with Glenn Beck (or his politics) in order to enjoy this book, and liking Glenn Beck (or his politics) is no guarantee that you will enjoy The Christmas Sweater. My advice is to read it without expectations, and see what comes out of the book for you. This is an easy, simple and refreshing read.

    I'm glad I bought the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    the christmas sweater

    very good light reading-great as a gift

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    A must read

    Some may not like Glenn Beck but this has nothing to do with his political views. This has a very good message for anyone. We have recommended this book to family and friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    new perspective

    I was surprised at the behavior of the boy toward his grandfarther. He knew he was being mean (an adult perspective?) yet he didn't change his behavior. I gave this as a gift to my sons for Christmas; have not heard from them. I am looking forward to discussing the book with them in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    A Gift Purchase

    This was a gift purchase. I knew the person for whom I purchased it would enjoy the book. I was not disappointed with the reaction when opened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Warms you fromt the inside out

    The Christmas Sweater is such a great story not only for around the christmas holidays but for whenever. It is so inspirational and a real tear-jerker. I have nerver enjoyed a book enough to read form cover to cover until I read this book. It keeps you guessing from page 1 to 265. There was only one thing I didn't like about this book and that was the style Glenn Beck used. I didn't like his style because it was sometimes hard to follow and in my opinion, there were too many flashbacks. There are so many messages that I got from The Christmas Sweater. One message was that you should live for today and not in the past. Another was that money isn't everything. The cliche you can't buy happiness seems to write itself all over this book. Why I loved this story so much was because it always keeps you guessing and at first it may seem predictable and you already know how it ends but trust me, you have no idea what you are getting into. The things this book has in store for you could never be guessed. You'll never see it coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4