Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Sweater

Average Rating 4
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Read; even better gift!

Yesterday I received an advanced order copy of Glenn Beck¿s book. Last night instead of watching mindless TV programs I began reading it. I have only read two other books cover to cover in one sitting, Living at the Summit by Dr. Tom Hill and The Little Gold Book of Y...
Yesterday I received an advanced order copy of Glenn Beck¿s book. Last night instead of watching mindless TV programs I began reading it. I have only read two other books cover to cover in one sitting, Living at the Summit by Dr. Tom Hill and The Little Gold Book of YES!Attitude by Jeffrey Gitomer but last night I read The Christmas Sweater cover to cover. Glenn Beck is well known for his political commentary and should anyone decide NOT to read his book because of his beliefs, it will be their loss. This is an amazing novel, not a political commentary, about a 12 year old boy who experiences rough times growing up and how he responds or better, reacts. It is a book about growing up, about believing in yourself, about having faith, and about change. The book brought back memories of people, places, things and events in my own life as a youngster that I had completely forgotten about. The book is based in part about Glenn¿s life as he explains at the end. It is a very compelling read that I not only recommend everyone reading but the book would make a fantastic Christmas gift especially if you get the collector¿s hard cover edition. Gymbeaux

posted by Gymbeaux on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

The Wonder Years and The Five People You Meet in Heaven

I borrowed this from the library after hearing so much about it on, what else, "The Glen Beck Radio Show." It is a quick read... however, as soon as I started it, all I could think of was "The Wonder Years" TV show w/ Fred Savage. Glen's writing sounded like the narra...
I borrowed this from the library after hearing so much about it on, what else, "The Glen Beck Radio Show." It is a quick read... however, as soon as I started it, all I could think of was "The Wonder Years" TV show w/ Fred Savage. Glen's writing sounded like the narrator of "The Wonder Years" episodes, which I loved... and which had far, far better stories than this book has. I found it trite, predictable, a knock-off of the usual Christmas themes as "It's A Wonderful Life." Somehow, I never got the impression that Eddie/Glen ever really "got it." The reader could see right through the imaginary Ralph, aka his Dad, aka God. If you are looking for this kind of read, I would recommend Mitch Albom's books, which elicited far more emotion than this Glen Beck book. I give it a thumbs down. Instead, buy or borrow from the library these from Mitch Albom: "The Five People You Meet in Heaven," "Tuesdays with Morrie," and "For One More Day." They are well-written and emotional. Just my opinion, of course.

posted by 544725 on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Read; even better gift!

    Yesterday I received an advanced order copy of Glenn Beck¿s book. Last night instead of watching mindless TV programs I began reading it. I have only read two other books cover to cover in one sitting, Living at the Summit by Dr. Tom Hill and The Little Gold Book of YES!Attitude by Jeffrey Gitomer but last night I read The Christmas Sweater cover to cover. Glenn Beck is well known for his political commentary and should anyone decide NOT to read his book because of his beliefs, it will be their loss. This is an amazing novel, not a political commentary, about a 12 year old boy who experiences rough times growing up and how he responds or better, reacts. It is a book about growing up, about believing in yourself, about having faith, and about change. The book brought back memories of people, places, things and events in my own life as a youngster that I had completely forgotten about. The book is based in part about Glenn¿s life as he explains at the end. It is a very compelling read that I not only recommend everyone reading but the book would make a fantastic Christmas gift especially if you get the collector¿s hard cover edition. Gymbeaux

    55 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A lesson we need to revisit

    Glenn Beck didn't reinvent the wheel or come up with a message that has never been heard. That would be impossible. He did, instead give us the gift of a life lesson which is written from the heart. In a world filled with a sense of entitlement and having to have the next big thing, isn't it time that we reflect on what really matters? I believe so.<BR/>The Christmas Sweater reminds us that it isn't about the latest techno toy or sports car. It is about so much more and so much less. Well done Glenn Beck.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Powerful

    My husband picked this up Friday afer work and read it that night. He passed it on to me. Now I know why he bought it, he knows what dark storms I've faced & this book was so powerful and meaningful to me.<BR/><BR/>Through the eyes of a young boy we are taught the greatest meaning of life, love and faith. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone and think it would be a wonderful gift idea.<BR/><BR/>Thank you Glenn for the gift you gave to your many fans and readers. I will keep your words close to my heart.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    An Important Message

    This book touched me deeply. I am a cancer survivor and the message of this book was deeply understood. I am giving this book to as many people as I can afford to this year. If you don't understand the book at first read, save it until you need an attitude adjustment or a source of comfort in hard times. We all need to recognize what is most important in life and anything that can help us do that is of great worth. That is where this book is such a pearl. Deeply personal and poiniant, the message is much needed and timely for a world in turmoil.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    Don't listen to haters

    I am writing to support Glenn Beck. His book is optimistic in these difficult times. It should not matter that he is opinionated on his TV show, and that he is not writing something terribly original. What matters is his desire to change the world and change people for the better. We can be happy in these tough economic times. Material things do not really matter in the short or long run! There are always going to be those who do not like him and will not like this book because they are suspicious of those who want to help others. That's too bad. They will never stop the good people of this world... those who know that despite the haters, they WILL make a difference. Ignore those who cannot see the goodness in his book.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    Awesome book...

    Glenn Beck can be kind of obnoxious sometimes, but with politics and religion aside, this was an awesome book. I wasn't expecting it to be so good. Who knew that he could create a masterpiece out of his own expieriences in life? It was very inspiring to me to become a better person. I recommend this book to everyone. I liked it so much, I went and bought 3 more copies to give away for christmas presents!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    The Christmas Sweater - Glenn Beck

    This has to be one of the most meaningfully, well-written novels I have read in my life. In times such as these, this novel came on the market in a timely way - more than Glenn Beck could have ever predicted or premeditated. I have given this novel as gifts and assigned it to all of my 8th-grade English students - both regular and honors. Not only does the story have a strong message, but it also has so many levels at which a reader can read and a teacher can teach!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    The Christmas Sweater

    A fantastic book written by a fantastic guy. The book is genuine, like it's author. The book leaves you feeling all warm and fuzzy, like it's author. Mainly, the book has real meaning to it. It touches the heart in many ways. Brings us back to our childhood, through the words of Glenn Beck in going back to his. The ending knocked my socks off. I plan to read this book again.....soon! Great Christmas reading or anytime reading. I recommend this book most heartily! :)

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Truly a touching read

    One of the best books for me this year. It takes you to a place where you know what is important in life. Much needed for today's world which seems to be out of step with what really matters. I highly recommend this book.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    FANTASTIC BOOK!

    I was given a beautifully bound and author signed copy from my brother for my birthday and it is my favorite gift. This book touches your heart, mind and soul and provides a wonderful opportunity for reflection, introspection and a change of heart. One can choose to make life altering changes after reading this special little book. Mr. Beck has a way with words and most descriptions of circumstances are painted vividly in expressive writing. I found myself giggling, smiling, tearing up and actually sobbing. I appreciate it when someone can stir such human emotions where one discovers genuine feelings of their own. I plan to give this book to those in my life that I love dearly. One time or another in our lives we will all need forgiveness, grace and atonement either for ourselves or others. Thank you Mr. Beck for sharing such a personal tale.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Heartwarming Christmas Story

    The Christmas Sweater by Glenn Beck is a sweet and heartwarming story of forgiveness and redemption. When twelve year old Eddie receives a sweater for Christmas instead of the bike he believes he deserved it starts a series of events that will teach him about what is really important in life.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful!

    I could not put this book down, what a wonderful story! It filled my heart completely. Mr. Beck, thank you for your gift!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    I order 3 books as Christmas gifts and one for myself. After I finished reading the book I purchased 5 more to give to my best friends as gifts. Christmas Sweater is the best book I have read in years. The book brought back so many memories of my

    childhood and the childhood of my children. It is a wonderful and touching book on family and faith.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    Great book

    I bought the book yesterday and finished it the same day. Was a very good book and a good story also. I would recommend this book to anyone. I have already went and bought two more to give out.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    The Christmas Sweater by Glenn Beck

    This story based on a true experience is very well written. Moving and witty, it provokes the reader to do some deep soul-searching. An excellent book which I could not put down.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    The New Christams Carol!

    I loved this book! It is well written, easy to read, and so insightful without screaming at you; everyone will learn something from it. I think that the reviewers that rated this book anything other than 5 stars were afraid of what they might learn about themselves. It is a great gift, and I bought 5 more to send to family and friends. Do yourself a huge favor and read this phenomenal book! Thanks, Glenn!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    Very good book to read at Christmas time.

    It is a very heart warming book. It makes a "Great" Christmas book to be read at Christmas time. I think the price is a little to high. Most people who need this book to bring some joy into their life during "this"<BR/>Christmas year will not be able to afford it.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Holiday Reading

    A great Christmas tale to put you in the spirit of the season. A bit lengthy but worth it. If you perfer shorter stories, Philip's Real Christmas Story is a must.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    What a Powerful Message

    Those familiar with Glenn Beck know his life story. Those who don't will still enjoy this book, which is loosely based upon an event in Beck's life. The message is simple: we become who we are based on events that happen in our lives but we don't have to remain that person. In order to not remain in stagnation, in order to be the best person we can be, we must face the demons of our pasts & be prepared to face the demons that will come our way in the future(the storm in the story). One character especially will leave his mark on the reader. He is metaphorical on many levels, including a level of spirituality. If you enjoyed Albom's The Five People You Meet In Heaven, you'll enjoy The Christmas Sweater.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    Outstanding

    Much needed book for our times. Never heard of Glen Beck - but now I am glad my secretary gave this to me for Christmas. She told me I would love it and she was right. She is getting a bonus! Merry Christmas to everyone!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9