Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Sweater

Average Rating 4
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Read; even better gift!

Yesterday I received an advanced order copy of Glenn Beck¿s book. Last night instead of watching mindless TV programs I began reading it. I have only read two other books cover to cover in one sitting, Living at the Summit by Dr. Tom Hill and The Little Gold Book of Y...
Yesterday I received an advanced order copy of Glenn Beck¿s book. Last night instead of watching mindless TV programs I began reading it. I have only read two other books cover to cover in one sitting, Living at the Summit by Dr. Tom Hill and The Little Gold Book of YES!Attitude by Jeffrey Gitomer but last night I read The Christmas Sweater cover to cover. Glenn Beck is well known for his political commentary and should anyone decide NOT to read his book because of his beliefs, it will be their loss. This is an amazing novel, not a political commentary, about a 12 year old boy who experiences rough times growing up and how he responds or better, reacts. It is a book about growing up, about believing in yourself, about having faith, and about change. The book brought back memories of people, places, things and events in my own life as a youngster that I had completely forgotten about. The book is based in part about Glenn¿s life as he explains at the end. It is a very compelling read that I not only recommend everyone reading but the book would make a fantastic Christmas gift especially if you get the collector¿s hard cover edition. Gymbeaux

posted by Gymbeaux on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

The Wonder Years and The Five People You Meet in Heaven

I borrowed this from the library after hearing so much about it on, what else, "The Glen Beck Radio Show." It is a quick read... however, as soon as I started it, all I could think of was "The Wonder Years" TV show w/ Fred Savage. Glen's writing sounded like the narra...
I borrowed this from the library after hearing so much about it on, what else, "The Glen Beck Radio Show." It is a quick read... however, as soon as I started it, all I could think of was "The Wonder Years" TV show w/ Fred Savage. Glen's writing sounded like the narrator of "The Wonder Years" episodes, which I loved... and which had far, far better stories than this book has. I found it trite, predictable, a knock-off of the usual Christmas themes as "It's A Wonderful Life." Somehow, I never got the impression that Eddie/Glen ever really "got it." The reader could see right through the imaginary Ralph, aka his Dad, aka God. If you are looking for this kind of read, I would recommend Mitch Albom's books, which elicited far more emotion than this Glen Beck book. I give it a thumbs down. Instead, buy or borrow from the library these from Mitch Albom: "The Five People You Meet in Heaven," "Tuesdays with Morrie," and "For One More Day." They are well-written and emotional. Just my opinion, of course.

posted by 544725 on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 177 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 9
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is incredible on many levels. From cover to cover, Bec

    This book is incredible on many levels. From cover to cover, Beck tugs at your heartstrings. I received the book three years ago as a gift. Since then, I've read it numerous times and my love for the book hasn't faltered. It's the ultimate tale of love and heartache. The book takes many unexpected twists and turns. You will not be able to put the book down until the last page! Also, of all the books I've read, this book has the most beautiful and unforgettable ending. Whether you like Glenn Beck, or not, this book is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    One of my favorite books ever!

    I read constantly for work and pleasure. I like thought-provoking books and GLENN BECK delivers in this book. It is a tear-jerker so don't say you weren't warned! In the end you will feel strong emotions of thankfulness and you will be glad you spent the time on this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Awesome message....couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    recommend

    I really loved reading this heartwarming story by Glen Beck. The struggles of a young boy and lessons learned. I would read another novel such as this from Glen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Hi!

    Well I read this book when I was 9 and it was great! I think this is the greatest book ever! (Except "Anne Frank: Diary of a young girl) I vouldn't put this book down it was so good. I think this book actually made me cry. When my mom first gave it to me I thought it was going to be really boring but it was actually really good. This is one of the best books ever. Actually, this is the greatest Christmas story ever. This book really touched me and I hope you feel the same eay once you finish this book. If you're trying to decide if you should buy this book, it is definitely worth your money. This book is for every persin no matter how old they are this is the book for them.
    Haley
    Age 11

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    my little girls review

    hi im twelve i got this book from and a friend and loved it instantly. ive been through alot as a kid so i related to Eddie alot more than i first thought. im a fast reader ive read 3 of the orignal nacey drew books in 1 day. but i loved this book so much i read it 2 times before putting it down. i did my oral report on this book out of the 14 that ive read this summer. i would highly reccomend this book for people ages11 and up also i thing anyone young or young at heart will love to read this tale of triumph

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent story, reminds us of what is important in life. Easy read that leaves you with a good feeling. Nice twists and turns that keep you really interested. Keeping to read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    Excellent

    Excellent. I recommend this book to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    I highly recommend this book, so... go check it out now!!!!

    I highly recommend this book, so... go check it out now!!!!

    The Christmas Sweater
    the author is Glen Beck. The main characters are Eddie which is a 12 year old boy.
    And another one is Russel he is a old man that
    teaches Eddie what the real meaning of Christmas is.
    The plot in this story is that Eddie wants a new red huffy bike with a
    banana boat seat.
    Eddies mom can't afford the bike. After that Eddie finds out the
    real,true meaning of Christmas. And realizes that its not all about the gifts its about how hard people try just to get you the perfect gift.
    The setting of this story is in the past and it doesn't have the recorded time.
    The meaning of this story is when Christmas time comes its not all about the gifts,big presents,and much you got. Its about
    how hard people tried just to get you the perfect gift or how much they thought about you.
    I liked this book because it tells you the meaning of christmas and also because it tells kids that presents dont matter and to be thankfull.
    I think this book relates to Frosty the snow man and Julies Wolf pack.
    so... please check this book out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    Excellent Book

    I very much enjoyed this book. I hope you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    I LOVED IT!

    I think it was well written and was a pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    A wonderful Christmas gift to you or others

    This is a wonderful read at Christmas. Teens can appreciate it as well as adults. I collect great Christmas books and this is definitely one for the collection. It is touching as well as teaching to children the value of the true meaning of Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    REALLY ENJOYED THE BOOK, VERY WELL DONE!

    PLESANTLY SUPRISED. I WATCH GLENN ON TV AND HAVE NOW COME TO THE CONCLUSION HE IS A MAN OF MANY, MANY TALENTS. HE DID A GREAT JOB WITH THIS STORY. I REALLY LIKED IT. ALTHOUGH, I HAVE A FRIEND I WOULD LIKE TO LEND IT TOO BUT, HIS BOOK IS NOT AVAILABLE TO LEND AS AN EBOOK. WHY?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    A Keeper!

    A wonderful message to share over the generations, I'd keep this in the family library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    INCREDIBLE STORY

    The book, Christmas Sweater, is the find of the season! The story is heartwarming and sensational all at once. I cried and laughed at the same time as I reflected on my own upbringing. What wonderful memories this story evokes! A must read and a terrific gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING story. So glad I bought it!

    Debated on buying this book last year - too much hype. Bought it in November 09 and read it in 2 days! I was so impressed with the story, the writing and the characters that I bought three additional books for my adult children. I loved the message of hope in here. I also bought 2 of the children's version for my grandchildren. The pictures are beautiful and the shortened story is perfect for young minds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Sweet Story

    I really enjoyed this. It's a sweet Christmas story that is truly believable and that had some twists to it that kept you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    I enjoyed this book

    I am a big Glenn Beck fan, so I was interested to see what he would write on a personal level. I thought it was well done and great for the Christmas holidays. I was afraid it would get too religious, but it did not and I liked that it had a "twist" at the end. I have recommended it to other friends to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    Fun listening

    The Christmas Sweater on CD was entertaining and thought provoking. It gave me insight into the circumstances which shaped Glenn Beck's thinking and his views. Interesting listening. This story helped remind me to put others first and things second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Inspiring!

    Anyone who has ever endured difficult times in their life can relate to this book. I think Glenn wrote with a great use of characters and symbolism. My brother is battling his own inner demons & I plan to give the book to him .... hopefully he too can make it through the storm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 177 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 9