Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Sweater: A Picture Book

Average Rating 3.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

The Christmas Sweater

This is a magnificent book to share with your family and specially your grandchildren. It is very emotional and I highly recommend it. Some postings in this site are quite unjustified in their comments and they should be ashamed. Glenn, you have great followers despite ...
This is a magnificent book to share with your family and specially your grandchildren. It is very emotional and I highly recommend it. Some postings in this site are quite unjustified in their comments and they should be ashamed. Glenn, you have great followers despite some of these lunatics that attack you.

posted by Hispana on October 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I was disappointed in this book. I've read the adult version which I really liked. I didn't feel the ground work was properly laid for the children's version. It wasn't explained that Eddie's father had died, and that he was living with his grandparents and why. Whe...
I was disappointed in this book. I've read the adult version which I really liked. I didn't feel the ground work was properly laid for the children's version. It wasn't explained that Eddie's father had died, and that he was living with his grandparents and why. When I read it to a child, he didn't understand why it was special for Eddie to be playing with his dad, etc. The reason for forgiveness and redemption just didn't come across.

posted by MommaP11 on December 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    The Christmas Sweater

    This is a magnificent book to share with your family and specially your grandchildren. It is very emotional and I highly recommend it. Some postings in this site are quite unjustified in their comments and they should be ashamed. Glenn, you have great followers despite some of these lunatics that attack you.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    true meaning of christmas

    the christmas sweater is a very special book and during the holiday season so much is forgotten about what the christmas season is all about glen beck has done a very remarkable job writing this book to show everyone what this season is all about. this about a little boy who got a sweater from his mother who could not aford something finer and later the boy was able to experience the wonderous joy of christmas whean so much is forgotten about the holidays this book really brings the true season whean we seem to forget what its about. great gift idea for the holidays

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Genuine Christmas Story

    This is a genuine "Christmas" book. We loved the novel and are so glad we can share Glenn's story with our kids. Dorman's pictures are spectacular and bring everything to life.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    Wonderful to share with the kids.....

    I have read this book to my kids several nights in a row, they love it! It's a wonderful story. Although in the end the boy gets what he wants, he realizes that getting what you wished for isn't everything he thought it would be.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A Keepsake

    A definite keeper to read often for valuable inspiration.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for Children and Adults

    The message in this book is for everybody. My 6 year old nephew understood the message. It's a lesson we all could benefit from. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Disappointed

    I was disappointed in this book. I've read the adult version which I really liked. I didn't feel the ground work was properly laid for the children's version. It wasn't explained that Eddie's father had died, and that he was living with his grandparents and why. When I read it to a child, he didn't understand why it was special for Eddie to be playing with his dad, etc. The reason for forgiveness and redemption just didn't come across.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Best book ever at christmastime!

    I love this book because a little boy starts off not knowing about why he is getting this chritmas sweater instead of a bike but in the middle he experences many things that at the end he really loves his special gift!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Christmas

    It was a very nice story, I enjoyed it alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best Book Ever!

    Can we say that this is the best book ever!! We strongly recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    really nice book your family will love

    l read it with my grandma and it's about a boy who gets a sweater for christmas.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    cool book

    i lovee this boook it showes thee truue meeaning of chrristmas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    great book

    this is anamzingbook it shows the true meaning of christmas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    The Christmas Sweater

    I bought this for my granddaughters, they loved it and so did I.

    Thanks to Glenn Beck for sharing and thanks for Barnes & Noble for
    choosing good books for our children as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    A great story

    Whether you agree or disagree with Glen Beck's political views, I would strong recommend you purchase this book for you children. It is a great story illustrating that some of the greatest gifts are make with love and not purchased in a store. At a time when many people have less money to spend on material gifts, you can help teach your children about the other gift they receive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    This book is a great book for children and adults. It reminds us all of what is most important in life (not just at Christmas). It is a good companion to the full version of the Christmas Sweater.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    What a book

    What a great book for Christmas. I read it to my grandkids and they loved it. The story and the illustrations were excellent. I would recommend this book to everyone. It could easily become another Christmas classic along with The Night Before Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    Beautiful Story

    This is a beautiful story to read to your little ones - I cannot imagine that any of the negative reviewers have actually read the book. It is a good lesson for children, whether you agree with Beck's politics or not. This is not a political story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4