Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Train

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

enjoyable holiday romance

When Eleanor Carter was with Tom Langdon, he was a rising hotshot journalist who cared about his work and her. When she left him for the glitter of Hollywood as a screenwriter, he lost focus and turned into a fluff reporter. Banned from flying, Tom takes the rails from ...
When Eleanor Carter was with Tom Langdon, he was a rising hotshot journalist who cared about his work and her. When she left him for the glitter of Hollywood as a screenwriter, he lost focus and turned into a fluff reporter. Banned from flying, Tom takes the rails from DC to Los Angeles to see his girlfriend, a voice-over actress, for Christmas. To pass the boring time, he plans to write an article on traveling cross-country by train. Tom meets several of his fellow passengers, but hears that a Hollywood group is also on board but staying incognito to avoid the media. However, Tom soon learns that Eleanor is among the Hollywood band. Shockingly (maybe not it is a Xmas story), her current director persuades Tom and Eleanor to work together on a project with him. If Tom can work with Eleanor who he still loves and wants back in his life permanently, his career will regain the momentum it lost when her departure sent him spinning into a state of inertia. Though the small levels of suspense seem contrived, this holiday romance is a fun tale filled with solid characters, especially the lead protagonists, and plenty of train lore. The story line is at its best when Tom and Eleanor take center stage, as both appear so real that the audience will believe they shared a train ride with both of them. Most of the other passengers provide humor so that those fans of warm Yuletide tales will take delight in David Baldacci¿s engaging by the fireside amiable tale. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Charming reading

This is a great book if you just want to escape the drudgeries of a long day. Grab a glass of wine and enjoy!

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable holiday romance

    When Eleanor Carter was with Tom Langdon, he was a rising hotshot journalist who cared about his work and her. When she left him for the glitter of Hollywood as a screenwriter, he lost focus and turned into a fluff reporter. Banned from flying, Tom takes the rails from DC to Los Angeles to see his girlfriend, a voice-over actress, for Christmas. To pass the boring time, he plans to write an article on traveling cross-country by train. Tom meets several of his fellow passengers, but hears that a Hollywood group is also on board but staying incognito to avoid the media. However, Tom soon learns that Eleanor is among the Hollywood band. Shockingly (maybe not it is a Xmas story), her current director persuades Tom and Eleanor to work together on a project with him. If Tom can work with Eleanor who he still loves and wants back in his life permanently, his career will regain the momentum it lost when her departure sent him spinning into a state of inertia. Though the small levels of suspense seem contrived, this holiday romance is a fun tale filled with solid characters, especially the lead protagonists, and plenty of train lore. The story line is at its best when Tom and Eleanor take center stage, as both appear so real that the audience will believe they shared a train ride with both of them. Most of the other passengers provide humor so that those fans of warm Yuletide tales will take delight in David Baldacci¿s engaging by the fireside amiable tale. Harriet Klausner

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Great Holiday book!

    Like many others, this was also my first Baldacci. I was lucky enough to find it at the local library in it's unabridged version. I rarely read/listen to the same book twice, but this one was worth owning :)

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    Charming reading

    This is a great book if you just want to escape the drudgeries of a long day. Grab a glass of wine and enjoy!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Fantastic! I was back in the trains my husband took from Boston

    Fantastic! I was back in the trains my husband took from Boston to Montana and back. I couldn't help laugh out loud as I felt moved up the narrow stairs and to our sleeper room, then down to the wonderful dining car where we met the most wonderful people. Tim Matheson was the perfect choice as a reader. Mr. Matheson brought you right into that train, I could hear the clickity-clack as we passed over the rails. So glad I purchased this book. The story was wonderful, you could see the folks - feel them near you as the story progressed. I could see that funny shower, and toilet, in our "suit", and after this story, can't wait to take another trip on AmTrac. What I mean is ... Baldacci is a wonderful story teller!
    Thank you David Baldacci. I truly enjoyed this story, and have put it on my husbands Zoom so he can listen too. He is a long haul trucker and this is another great story to shorten the miles for him as he travels all over the US and Canada. Later, we discuss the stories, and it makes him a little less lonely every day. I highly recommend this story, especially on MP3 or DISC.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!

    This is the best Christmas book I have read. I read it every year and it never gets old. It has a little bit of everything you want. Read it now!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Christmas Train

    We loved the storyline and all of the quirky characters. A fabulous read, uplifting, and a boost for the Christmas spirit. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite We all knew David Bald

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    We all knew David Baldacci was more than capable of penning a thriller but recently he has stretched his wings by adding a new genre to his repertoire. I quickly fell in love with his new style when I read "One Summer". "The Christmas Train" reinforced my belief that he is multi-talented. I’ve been surprised at the mixed reviews of this book. I believe readers have stereotyped Baldacci and are unwilling to accept changes in his repertoire. "The Christmas Train" is written in a style that will take readers to the past; they will think of Mark Twain and his humorous tales. In is story we join Tom Langdon as he sets out on a cross-country train trip right before Christmas. The trip was his father’s last request, but for many years Tom put off the long and revealing journey. He boards the train in Washington DC and plans to debark in Los Angeles. Along the way he meets a variety of interesting people. He talks with each one and manages to get them to share their story. Steve and Julie is a young couple planning to be married on board despite their parents’ disapproval. In one capacity or another Tom touches the lives of each rider. Tom’s own life is drastically changed when he is reunited with Eleanor, a woman from his past.

    David Baldacci caught my heart in this book. I want to read more books like this one. "The Christmas Train" captures the good in people. Baldacci includes romance, a bit of mystery, more than a little humor, adventure and characters that are unforgettable. If Mark Twain were still with us he’d pat Mr. Baldacci on the back and say well done. I’ve always wanted to take a cross country train trip and now that Mr. Baldacci has teased me with this tale, my resolve is even stronger to ride the rail.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended Reading, especially for the Holiday Season!

    Read this book the week between Christmas and New Year--nice way to extend the holiday mood! Would love to see this story as a well-done movie!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Anonymous

    Very good!! Never wanted to stop reading"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    wonderful.

    Absolutely fantastic

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    What an ending!

    This story not only touched my heart but lifted my spirtis. It is well written and keeps the reader wanting more. This is a pager turner with a shocker in the first few chapters, then another towards the middle of the book and fianlly a few at the end. I did not see the end coming and I am glad I didn't. I love this book and the message it has to send. I willkeep this book for years to come !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2003

    Typical David Baldacci

    I read everyone else's reviews and figured this would be a good Christmas book to read. I was thoroughly disappointed. I thought the characters where outrageous exaggerated. I did not enjoy the 'in depth' descriptions of trains of the past. Actually I found the book a struggle to get through. However, the end had an interesting twist. I have read other David Baldacci books and I find them all to be the same. Too drawn out. His books could be written using only half their current size and still not lose any meaning of the story. This was my last David Baldacci book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Lovely, exciting, happy story!

    I have really enjoyed all of the books David has written, he has a way of putting you right there and this one, although not like his other ones, did just the same thing.
    Should have waited till Christmas but might read it again then.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Absolutely love this book! Have recommended it to many of my fr

    Absolutely love this book! Have recommended it to many of my friends and family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Take a Train Adventure!

    This was a very uplifting and lighthearted book set on a train during the Christmas season. (I have a love trains and have always wanted to take a ride across country, as seems so adventurous). I listed to the book on audio and offered great sound effects, which made it very realistic and put you in the mood and the narrator Tim Matheson was excellent. Reminded me a little of Richard Paul Evans’ books as his books tend to be centered around the holiday season.

    It was full of colorful characters from New Orleans jazz, funny eccentric older ladies, actors, movie producers, and writers. Tom Langdon is the main character and writer taking the train to California to see his girlfriend to go skiing in Tahoe for the holidays. Ironically, he runs into his former love Eleanor, whom he has never gotten over who is now a big movie director. From romance, snow storms, thief, undercover folks, and Max the movie guy and a staff full of fabulous friendly Amtrak employees – making this a humorous and fun trip. Makes you want to plan a train trip soon to meet all the fun people along the journey in a slower paced time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Kate

    U here?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This was a cute story and very enjoyable to read at Christmastime. Very easy to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Great story!

    This book is a departure from David Baldacci's usual story line. It is a love story, but with twists. I love all of David Baldacci's books and this one, while different, is no exception!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Not recommended

    Corny story! Love his writing, but not this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    great book!!!!

    Enjoyed the book a lot!!! Brings back a lot of memories riding the train as a child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7