Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Train

Average Rating 4
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

enjoyable holiday romance

When Eleanor Carter was with Tom Langdon, he was a rising hotshot journalist who cared about his work and her. When she left him for the glitter of Hollywood as a screenwriter, he lost focus and turned into a fluff reporter. Banned from flying, Tom takes the rails from ...
When Eleanor Carter was with Tom Langdon, he was a rising hotshot journalist who cared about his work and her. When she left him for the glitter of Hollywood as a screenwriter, he lost focus and turned into a fluff reporter. Banned from flying, Tom takes the rails from DC to Los Angeles to see his girlfriend, a voice-over actress, for Christmas. To pass the boring time, he plans to write an article on traveling cross-country by train. Tom meets several of his fellow passengers, but hears that a Hollywood group is also on board but staying incognito to avoid the media. However, Tom soon learns that Eleanor is among the Hollywood band. Shockingly (maybe not it is a Xmas story), her current director persuades Tom and Eleanor to work together on a project with him. If Tom can work with Eleanor who he still loves and wants back in his life permanently, his career will regain the momentum it lost when her departure sent him spinning into a state of inertia. Though the small levels of suspense seem contrived, this holiday romance is a fun tale filled with solid characters, especially the lead protagonists, and plenty of train lore. The story line is at its best when Tom and Eleanor take center stage, as both appear so real that the audience will believe they shared a train ride with both of them. Most of the other passengers provide humor so that those fans of warm Yuletide tales will take delight in David Baldacci┬┐s engaging by the fireside amiable tale. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Charming reading

This is a great book if you just want to escape the drudgeries of a long day. Grab a glass of wine and enjoy!

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Wonderful and amusing

    Thank you David Baldacci for this unexpected book. I loved the setting, on trains during the holiday. The characters were fun and the book actually had a couple of twists and turns that I didn't see coming. I hated it when the ride came to an end. This book is for any reader that needs a little Christmas and a smile.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It was my first by this author. I loved reading about life on a train. Made me want to take my first train trip!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Check it out.

    Very good reading. Especially this time of year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    All Aboard

    I enjoyed this book. This was my first read for me by this author. It really was a joy over the xmas holiday.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Great Read!

    This is the very first David Baldacci book I have read and I enjoyed it thoroughly. I always read holiday theme books from November through December and this was the best one I read this year. It was an interesting plot with well developed characters, that really drew me in. I felt like I was a passenger on the train. I will definitely be reading more of this authors works this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Where is this going??

    Coworker recommended this author. I like the writers style so I will give him another chance but this book is just DRAGGING for me. I had to put it down so I could move on. I hate not finishing a book! I will force myself eventually but not really looking forward to it. LOL!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    So-So

    As others have noted, the ending was a little too predictable, although creative nonetheless. I found much of the dialogue to come off as hackneyed, and a lot of the descriptive passages cliche and contrived. The part when Eleanor and Tom ventured out into the storm for help was completely unnecessary and again, contrived. It was a pleasant enough read and I have to admit, once I was into it I wanted to see how the two would get together, but by time I finished the book I realized I didn't rteally care.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Rosepaw

    Purrs and jumps heading to camp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Silverfire

    Purrs following her

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Join Ares' Cabin

    We are centered around war, fighting, and discipline. Sure, you get free-time whenever we're not training as a group, but if you defile other campers, other cabins, camp equipment, or any form of cow(FunFact: Ares is the protector of cattle), you will be punished with physical labor to right your wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    1) ARTEMIS CABIN

    Join the Artemis cabin at res 5! We have an organized network of exercise and we allow mortals and half bloods from both camps! Sorry but you have o be a girl. The cabin is silver with an interactive moon sky at the top of each room. The beds all have the necesities a girl needs and more! We also have enough bathrooms for each girl to call their own. The first floor is the welcome room. The second is the living room and the third is the beds and bathrooms. So come on down to res 5. Be a free girl. ~Meg. Leader of the Artemis cabin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Guess what

    Ur ass

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    The Christmas Train

    The Christmas Train

    Grab your self a cup of hot co-co, a warm blanket, and snuggle up next to nice fire. If none of these things are available, make do with what you have but be certain to have this book with you as you settle in for a nice holiday read.

    The Christmas Train is about romance in it's many shapes and sizes, be it the romance of adventure, the romance of new acquaintances, or the romance of finding your true love.

    David Baldacci's writing is simple, straight forward, but to the point. What Mr. Baldacci offers here is a lighthearted read that really shouldn't be taken too serious. Books such as these rarely surface, but when they do I find myself feeling happy. I revel in the thought that I have something to read for the holiday that is uplifting, and if nothing more,will bring a smile to my face.

    The Christmas Train is far from a perfect book, but what it does offer is holiday cheer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Wonderful

    Read it before,and worth a reread. Lifted my spirits, and gave me thoughts aboit taking a train trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    A sweet novella with a naughty twist at the end that makes the s

    A sweet novella with a naughty twist at the end that makes the story even sweeter!  Tom Langdon is a descendant of Mark Twain and decides/must take the train to LA to visit a girlfriend for the holidays, the journey is way more than he could have even imagined!

    As a fan of train travel, only from DC to NYC, I absolutely adored how this book gave train travel the Hollywood glamour that it used to have.  The ease of getting on a train without security and the airport hassles and the ability to move around while travelling and meet people - I loved how the story mentioned the perks of train travel.  The other piece that made it feel like old Hollywood was the ability for a pair to meet after so many years and reignite their old flames for each other.

    What a great book to curl up with!  It had travelling for the holidays, lots of snow and a little twist at the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Good read for the Christmas season

    This is an easy read. Not super exciting, but enough going on to keep me reading to the end. This book could be described as a Christmas love story. Good book, but not great compared to others I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Buy this book now- you will thank me later! This is a sto

    Buy this book now- you will thank me later! This is a story for anyone looking to get into that feeling of Christmas euphoria that we all yearn for this time of year. It is a really good story- nothing too deep, but it flooded me with happiness, and left me satisfied at the end.
    I do have to warn that if you are a “happy-book” kind of person with not much interest in history, (like me) you might wonder why I recommended this book when you start.. stick with it- the story will captivate you quickly, but there is a tiny bit of train history at the start which might make you question what kind of story that I’ve gotten you into.
    Mr. Baldacci is an amazing storyteller. I love it when you pick up a story to read, but upon reflection find that you were so invested in the characters and situations that you actually feel as though you lived the experience with them. The main character of Tom Langdon is a very likable every-man (reminiscent of George Bailey), who you can’t help but root for. All of the other passengers from Eleanor, Tom’s long-lost love, to Agnes Joe a large, loud woman who rides the train for companionship, to Max Powers, a well-known Hollywood director leap off of the pages and make me want to book a train ticket today.
    Authors that can successfully merge different genres into one amazing and cohesive story always impress me, and this story does just that. You will run a full gamut of emotions from swooning to laughter to nail biting suspense, and emerge on the other side fully in the Christmas spirit. Get cozy under a blanket, turn on some quiet Christmas music and get ready to take a ride on The Christmas Train.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Jaguarpaw

    She padded in and waited+Jag

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    loved it

    kept me reading; made me feel like i was there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    An excellent read....but very different.

    Enjoyed the book but found it very different from what I usually read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7