Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Train

Average Rating 4
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

enjoyable holiday romance

When Eleanor Carter was with Tom Langdon, he was a rising hotshot journalist who cared about his work and her. When she left him for the glitter of Hollywood as a screenwriter, he lost focus and turned into a fluff reporter. Banned from flying, Tom takes the rails from ...
When Eleanor Carter was with Tom Langdon, he was a rising hotshot journalist who cared about his work and her. When she left him for the glitter of Hollywood as a screenwriter, he lost focus and turned into a fluff reporter. Banned from flying, Tom takes the rails from DC to Los Angeles to see his girlfriend, a voice-over actress, for Christmas. To pass the boring time, he plans to write an article on traveling cross-country by train. Tom meets several of his fellow passengers, but hears that a Hollywood group is also on board but staying incognito to avoid the media. However, Tom soon learns that Eleanor is among the Hollywood band. Shockingly (maybe not it is a Xmas story), her current director persuades Tom and Eleanor to work together on a project with him. If Tom can work with Eleanor who he still loves and wants back in his life permanently, his career will regain the momentum it lost when her departure sent him spinning into a state of inertia. Though the small levels of suspense seem contrived, this holiday romance is a fun tale filled with solid characters, especially the lead protagonists, and plenty of train lore. The story line is at its best when Tom and Eleanor take center stage, as both appear so real that the audience will believe they shared a train ride with both of them. Most of the other passengers provide humor so that those fans of warm Yuletide tales will take delight in David Baldacci┬┐s engaging by the fireside amiable tale. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Charming reading

This is a great book if you just want to escape the drudgeries of a long day. Grab a glass of wine and enjoy!

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    Overall, an enjoyable book. It showed the train as an intimate w

    Overall, an enjoyable book. It showed the train as an intimate way to travel where people came together in a time of need. There were relationships with twists and turns and a surprise ending. Some adult content is discussed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Great Holiday Book

    This book is great for the holiday season. It's romantic and adventurous and cute. Great to listen to while snuggling beneath a blanket with a cup of cocoa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Read and rate my story

    At write res one three and four the name is the last light and plz rate it in res two

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Patchfur

    Ok...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Icedawn

    Hey people...what happened to eveeyone?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    mistake

    when am I going to learn to take advantages of the free samples before spending the money. I think everyone should. I never would have wasted the money on this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Stop that train!

    I found it very difficult to get into, and have 40 pages left, and no desire to finish. Just not my thing, that happens with book clubs sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    the christmas train by david Baldacci
    journalist heads to his girlfriends house for christmas. has to use the train from DC to LA and he
    meets up with a variety of different people and hears their stories.

    a mystery arises when everyone is missing something special to themselves. they try to solve it together.

    everything is in an upheaval when the train stops due to the weather. wow this whole book changed and
    it continued on to a good ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    What a 'feel good' book....

    Having read everything written by Baldacci, I decided to give this one a shot and am I glad I did. The characters were great and the story line ended up being a very nice, enjoyable surprise. Well worth the short time needed to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Good For All Romantics at Heart Young and Old :)

    I was given this book and it is one of a few I am keeping as my personal selection. I had never read this Author but am looking forward to more of his work! I have been an avid reader since age six but generally do not keep books as usually I can only read a book once, so I pass them on to others in my reading groups but this one is worth reading over again and again so I will hold on to this treasure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    Perfect Holiday Book

    I thought this was a wonderful feel good story with old fashion charm and fun surprises - perfect holiday book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    It's Pretty Sweet!.

    It's not the greatest read but still lovely. The story was really long, but the bizarre outcomes are kinda funny. So I give it 4**** stars. I'd recommend it to anyone whose looking for a cute holiday read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2004

    Second chances and dreams do come true!

    <P> Tom Langdon is a journalist and a man determined to change the world. Although Langdon also has a bad temper, which erupts during a security check at La Guardia Airport. Before the magistrate, Langdon receives stern warning, instructions to enroll in anger management classes, and two-year banishment from all air carriers within the U.S. <P> Langdon makes the best of his situation, using the opportunity to take the train to LA and write a story about it. However, his motivation is much bigger than meeting his West Coast girlfriend Lelia Gibson for a holiday ski trip in Tahoe. <P> Once on board readers will meet a fascinating cast. Such as Agnes Joe who loves trains. Drusella Pardoe a palm reader. Julie and Steve who have eloped and planned their wedding while riding train. Father Kelly a retired Priest. Mark Powers a famous film director and his entourage. And the one person Langdon would never have expected, Eleanor Carter, his one time girlfriend and the one he let get away. <P> Things heat up when Lelia decides to surprise Langdon ¿ on the train no less! Bad weather also stirs things up along this adventure. Thus, making one wonder, will the passengers make it home for the holiday? <P> Having ridden on Amtrak a few times this book brought back fond memories of cross-country travel. <P> The Christmas Train is a wonderful novel that is filled with humor, mystery, romance, adventure, as well as memorable characters that are sure to entertain and not easily forgotten. David Baldacci has created an excellent heartwarming story, guaranteed to put spirit back into your holiday season! <P> Reviewed by Betsie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2004

    Predictable, Boring Fluff

    I have read many endearing Christmas stories. The Christmas Train was not one of them. If not for my book group, which chose this book, I would never have finished this book. Baldacci does a creditable job with thrillers. My advice: stick to the tried-and-true Baldacci fare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    My first read was was a winner

    I have never picked up a book that held my interest quit like this one it was just a real time burner for me I will make it a habit to find mor of the Baldacci titles to read. and mybe it even intised me to try a train ride in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    Great! Made me want to read more by Baldacci

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It made me want to take a train trip in a sleeper car. This book also made me go online to look for other books by Baldacci to read. I had never read any of his work before. It was an enjoyable, nice story. I didn't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    just ok!

    i used to be a fanatic of Baldacci's book but after reading this one, well! i was kinda bored, cause the story wasn't too exciting and riveting as i was expecting but it's still a good book if you want to read something inspiring and light.You won't feel bad it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Great Holiday Book

    This was a very enjoyable book! Since I have always wanted to make a journey by train, it was especially fun for me. I'm giving a copy as a Christmas gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    Great book, each page was a suprise

    I literally read this book in 1 day. It was a warm and heart felt story of love and kindness. Everyone should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Predictable and too sweet

    Reading this book is like eating a sugary snack. Tastes good while you are consuming it, but makes your teeth hurt afterward and you are still hungry. Many mistakes made in the writing (how can a bestseller get away with this?). If you like dimestore confections, than this one is for you; otherwise if you want to read an excellent Christmas themed book, pick up The Last Noel by Michael malone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7