Customer Reviews for

Christmas on 4th Street (A Fool's Gold Romance)

Average Rating 4.5
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(238)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I have read all of the Fool's Gold books to date and I always fe

I have read all of the Fool's Gold books to date and I always feel like I'm coming home when I read them. Love Noelle who is so strong and has overcome so much. Gabriel is such a great guy but doesn't think he deserves love. That he will never be what Noelle is looking ...
I have read all of the Fool's Gold books to date and I always feel like I'm coming home when I read them. Love Noelle who is so strong and has overcome so much. Gabriel is such a great guy but doesn't think he deserves love. That he will never be what Noelle is looking for. She was strong enough to say what she deserved. Even if it broke her heart, she knew life was too short and that she wanted to be loved like she deserved to be loved. Always heartwarming to me that all the ladies in Fools Gold show up at the door of the person that most needs them to surround them with support (and alcohol)! We should all hope to have friends like that in our lives.

posted by kjshiff1127 on September 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This was a typical cute Fool's Gold story... Girl and guy meet,

This was a typical cute Fool's Gold story... Girl and guy meet, have a friendship/relationship, girl falls in love, guy gets scared. Guy leaves, girls friends arrive with drinks, guy realizes he screwed up, comes back and they all live happily ever after. I thought it w...
This was a typical cute Fool's Gold story... Girl and guy meet, have a friendship/relationship, girl falls in love, guy gets scared. Guy leaves, girls friends arrive with drinks, guy realizes he screwed up, comes back and they all live happily ever after. I thought it was a nice follow up to the Fool's Gold cookbook. Personally, I can't wait for the full length novels to start up again next summer.

posted by khilde101 on September 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    This was a typical cute Fool's Gold story... Girl and guy meet,

    This was a typical cute Fool's Gold story... Girl and guy meet, have a friendship/relationship, girl falls in love, guy gets scared. Guy leaves, girls friends arrive with drinks, guy realizes he screwed up, comes back and they all live happily ever after. I thought it was a nice follow up to the Fool's Gold cookbook. Personally, I can't wait for the full length novels to start up again next summer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love that Susan Mallery has come so far in her Fool's Gold ser

    I love that Susan Mallery has come so far in her Fool's Gold series and I still love each and every book! This charming and wholesome town has yet to burn me out, and I don't foresee it happening either. With Christmas on 4th Street we have to newcomers to the Foll's Gold Family. Noelle and Gabriel (apt names for Christmas :)) are simply two people who found each other at the right time. I think their journeys and trials made them tough enough to withstand the deep love and devotion they would find with one another. 

    Gabriel is a scorned man. Noelle is a hopeful woman. Together I think they make the perfect couple that could teach each other things no one else could. The great thing about their relationship is that, while the romance was lovely and I loved it, these two didn't *need* the sexual aspect of it in order to be the best of friends. Their friendship is really what did me in. That was the root of their healing and romantic relationship. 

    Overall, this is a very touching Christmas story. It's certainly up to par with the previous books in the Fool's Gold series and you can bet I will definitely be picking up the next :)

    Happy Reading!

    *ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    Christmas on 4th Street is another visit to the town of Fool's G

    Christmas on 4th Street is another visit to the town of Fool's Gold. Like most of the Fool's Gold books, we get to catch up on what has been happening with the rest of the people there. The central characters are Gabriel, who is Gideon's twin brother, and Noelle, who owns The Christmas Attic store. They both have endured personal traumas that they are working to overcome. Their relationship is sweet and endearing. I enjoyed this story to a point, and then it kind of falls into the same old routine that is the formula for these books. Why do all of the guys have to be scared of commitment and leave? Why do the women always show up with food and booze to commiserate with the female of the story? It worked a few times but at some point, it gets too routine and old. I would love to see more from Fool's Gold, but with some changes to the formula. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    It was like meeting up with and old friend and catching up! Can't wait for the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    it was ok

    Liked the earlier books better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    I didn't think this one was as good or else I'm getting tired of

    I didn't think this one was as good or else I'm getting tired of the same old story line of girl wants boy, boy then wants girl till girl wants to get serious

    then boy gets cold feet and runs away. Girls then have margaritas and cryfest and then boy sees the light and comes crawling back to girl. I normally love all her books but the same old story line is getting old!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Gabriel and Noelle have a meet-cute, which is indeed pretty cute

    Gabriel and Noelle have a meet-cute, which is indeed pretty cute, but both are hesitant to pursue anything–him because he’s come to believe that nothing ever lasts and life is too uncertain, her because she wants something long term and know that Gabriel is temporary personified. He’ll be leaving town before the first of the year. To avoid his parents, who soon join the brothers in town for the holidays, Gabriel takes a job working at Noelle’s business.




    The hero and heroine are definitely the best part of this book–I really enjoyed both of their characters. For the most part their journeys were believable, though it felt like it took an inordinately long time for us to figure out what exactly the drama in Noelle’s past was. Still, I was rooting for them both all along.




    There were some amusing moments, like this one where Noelle tells Gabriel she’ll come early to his family Thanksgiving celebration so he won’t have to spend too much time alone with them. It’s before they’ve admitted their mutual attraction, and is pretty indicative of Noelle’s internal dialogue, which I enjoyed.




    He started to leave, then turned back to her. His bandaged hand came up and lightly grazed her cheek. She felt the heat of his touch all the way down to her toes. The contact was an unexpected as her visceral reaction.




    “Thank you,” he murmured.




    “You’re welcome.”




    She thought about mentioning he could thank her in other ways. Like kissing. Or walking around shirtless. But he just headed for the back room, apparently unaffected by their brief contact.








    Yep. Noelle and I think alike for sure. Shirtless guys can make everything better.




    However, Christmas on 4th Street still had the same elements in it that have been bothering me about this series for a while now:




    - I’m pretty sure Mayor Marsha is supposed to be quirky and wise, but honestly, she creeps me out. I’m really glad I don’t know anyone like her in real life. Every time she corners the hero for a chat in one of the books, I want to urge him to run. Away. Quickly.




    - No matter what happens in the first two-thirds of the book, the endings lately are all the same. The heroine realizes she’s in love before the hero. He leaves town, under the influence of varying degrees of freaked-outness. A portable party comes her way, complete with nearly every woman in Fool’s Gold, potent margaritas, and delicious food. The hero is bashed as not being worthy. The hero, finally realizing he does indeed love the heroine, comes back. They reconcile. Cue ending theme music.




    - A fairly complex problem–in this case, dealing with Gabriel’s relationship with his father–is solved quickly and painlessly, in one neat stroke.




    On the plus side, although I’m fairly certain we’ll see Dellina Hopkins in a future book as a heroine, we weren’t hit over the head in this book with several set-ups for future books in the series. We also didn’t have nosy townspeople confronting the hero with proof of his idiocy after he broker the heroine’s heart, as has also happened before in the series.




    I do enjoy Mallery’s writing–her Blackberry Island series books are wonderful–but I really think the Fool’s Gold needs a little shaking up to make the stories feel fresh again. I’ll keep on reading them for now, though, eternally hopeful….




    C+ rating.




    I received an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Christmas on 4th Street was just ok- not bad, but definitely not

    Christmas on 4th Street was just ok- not bad, but definitely not great, which unfortunately I find myself saying a lot lately when it comes to the Fool's Gold series.

    **ARC copy received in exchange for an honest review**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Christmas on 4th street is a warm and easy read. You'll see frie

    Christmas on 4th street is a warm and easy read. You'll see friendly faces and happy couples from past Fool's Gold stories, which is always nice. I appreciate Noelle's past experience and her determination to live life to the fullest. While ptsd is VERY lightly touched on in this series, I am reminded when reading, of the seriousness of it and want to thank our military again for their dedication and sacrifices. As in every Fool's Good Romance, the characters are likeable, and though there is always a heart broken, in the final hour Susan Mallery throws a hail mary and everyone gets their happily ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    This is another great read once again this town will draw you in

    This is another great read once again this town will draw you in, I really love Christmas time and what better time for 2 lonely people to find each other.  Another great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    In a nutshell was this a good read... yes.  I read it pretty muc

    In a nutshell was this a good read... yes.  I read it pretty much in one sitting.  I enjoyed this book even though Noelle wasn't my favorite, and even though the ending was pretty much the same as so many of the Fool's Gold books... having said that I still love reading about Fool's Gold and its inhabitants.  Gabriel was such a wonderfully interesting character that I've been curious about since he was first mentioned, I was made curious about Noelle in this book, even though I was least interested in her out of the group of girls that includes all the young females from Susan Mallery's newest books (Just One Kiss, Two of a Kind, and Three Little Words).  If you are itching for a feel good fast read then this is your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    Love Susan Mallery........just didn't love this book. Don't get

    Love Susan Mallery........just didn't love this book. Don't get me wrong, though. The Fool's Gold series is by far my favorite series!! I love the feel of the town and would move there tomorrow if I could!! Susan does an excellent job of putting you right in the middle of everything!! I thought this book was a little too rushed, especially at the end. I did like that we got a little of Noelle's background!! She's a fighter!! I look forward to the next installment!! Thanks Susan!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    While I have enjoyed the other Fool's Gold books, this was not m

    While I have enjoyed the other Fool's Gold books, this was not my favorite. Part way through, I considered giving up. Some parts just didn't sit well with me....SPOILERS HERE (the tree search, the whole cabin scenario, learning about Noelle's illness so late in the book but only for a few pages, Gabriel's solution when learning about Noelle's illness). END SPOILERS

    The story is predictable. Yes, romances tend to be. As another reader wrote: "...formulaic relationships in these books. Girl wants to get married and meets hot guy with committment issues. Hooks up anyway. Guy freaks out and leaves girl broken hearted. Que the friends coming over. Guy realizes he's an idiot and runs back to beg forgiveness."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Fans of the Fools Gold Series will probably enjoy this book. If

    Fans of the Fools Gold Series will probably enjoy this book. If you are not familiar with the characters, I would not recommend starting with this book as characters from previous books are not explained or well defined.

    This book tells the story of Noelle, whom we met in a previous book, and Gabriel (Gideon's brother whom was mentioned in a previous book).

    The romance was cute and predictable. I did feel that the story felt a bit 'rushed' compared to other Fools Gold novels. In addition, it was annoying that Noelle kept referring back to her 'secret' but the reader doesn't find out what the secret is until 3/4 thru the book.

    I would recommend this book if you are a fan of the series and like a cute, predictable ending.

    **I received an ARC in exchange for my review**

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    It felt a little odd reading a book set around Christmas on a ho

    It felt a little odd reading a book set around Christmas on a hot September day but at the same time it was nice to cool down with. Cute story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    Very entertaining and a wonderful Holiday story!  Shows how impo

    Very entertaining and a wonderful Holiday story!  Shows how important family is and what love can do. Fools Gold may be fictional, but it could be any small town....if they can have a Mayor Marsha!
    I'm a huge fan of this series, but even if you've never read a book about Fools Gold, you will enjoy this (and I'd bet you buy others in the series). So happy to read Nicole's story. I'm ready for the Holidays to get here!
    I refuse to give spoilers, but I read this book in record time. It pulled me in and I felt like I was watching the festivals with the girls from Jo's!  Meeting Gabriel and the parents was very nice and put some things in perspective. If you aren't familiar with Fools Gold, read this book, and I know you will then buy the others and read them. You will be hooked and won't regret it. Very entertaining and uplifting.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1