Customer Reviews for

Christmas on 4th Street (Fool's Gold Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 340 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(242)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I have read all of the Fool's Gold books to date and I always fe

I have read all of the Fool's Gold books to date and I always feel like I'm coming home when I read them. Love Noelle who is so strong and has overcome so much. Gabriel is such a great guy but doesn't think he deserves love. That he will never be what Noelle is looking ...
I have read all of the Fool's Gold books to date and I always feel like I'm coming home when I read them. Love Noelle who is so strong and has overcome so much. Gabriel is such a great guy but doesn't think he deserves love. That he will never be what Noelle is looking for. She was strong enough to say what she deserved. Even if it broke her heart, she knew life was too short and that she wanted to be loved like she deserved to be loved. Always heartwarming to me that all the ladies in Fools Gold show up at the door of the person that most needs them to surround them with support (and alcohol)! We should all hope to have friends like that in our lives.

posted by kjshiff1127 on September 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This was a typical cute Fool's Gold story... Girl and guy meet,

This was a typical cute Fool's Gold story... Girl and guy meet, have a friendship/relationship, girl falls in love, guy gets scared. Guy leaves, girls friends arrive with drinks, guy realizes he screwed up, comes back and they all live happily ever after. I thought it w...
This was a typical cute Fool's Gold story... Girl and guy meet, have a friendship/relationship, girl falls in love, guy gets scared. Guy leaves, girls friends arrive with drinks, guy realizes he screwed up, comes back and they all live happily ever after. I thought it was a nice follow up to the Fool's Gold cookbook. Personally, I can't wait for the full length novels to start up again next summer.

posted by khilde101 on September 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    Another cute story from Susan Mallery.Gabriel is a great guy but

    Another cute story from Susan Mallery.Gabriel is a great guy but has a lot of family problems. Noelle is a sweet girl that we know and loved in the other books, but now get her own story with love and happiness.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book, while it isn't Mallerys best book, it is still worth buying. The characters are likeable, and it takes place around Christmas time which makes it fun and festive. The ending was predicable like most romance novels and it follows a very similar plot to Mallerys other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Christmas on 4th Street by Susan Mallery

    Christmas on 4th Street is a reprint of a Christmas themed story in the Fool's Gold series by Susan Mallery. Readers looking for some extra special Christmas cheer for the holidays will love the Christmas setting and Noelle's quaint store, The Christmas Attic. In Mallery's typical happy-ever-after style, this book is perfect in front of a warm fire, with a cozy blanket and a cup of hot chocolate. Readers may know that a fairy tale ending is around the corner, but it's all in how you get there. A great Christmas read and a great return to Fool's Gold during Christmas time.

    What I liked:

    I've been a fan of Susan Mallery for awhile now and I've read several books in the Fool's Gold series. When I saw this reprint up for review for the holidays, I couldn't resist. Returning to this wonderful small town is always a great adventure. I love the way Mallery incorporates the entire town into every book in this series. Readers who want to catch up previous couples and residents have no trouble finding out something new and readers just starting out will fall in love with Fool's Gold quickly.

    In this addition to the series, readers who are familiar with Gideon and Felicia will really love meeting Gideon's twin brother, Gabriel. It was nice to catch up with a great couple from the past, while meeting a new and dynamic couple that reverberated off the pages. Gabriel and Noelle, both have issues in their past, that is affecting their present and ultimately their future. Her friends aren't aware of what she's been through and his family, just doesn't understand why he feels the need for distance. It's a great set up for the true meaning of the holiday season.

    The romance between Noelle and Gabriel was just what I was looking for at Christmas time. He wants to steer clear of his family while he is healing from an injury and ends up working in Noelle's Christmas store. Not exactly where you might think to find a disillusioned military doctor. I liked the fact that Noelle was determined to live every moment like it was her last and the way she was slowly able to instill that same way of looking at life into Gabriel. He needed a new way to look at the world and she gave it to him. Pretty heavy stuff for Christmas season and perfect for this book.

    This was a typical book for the series. Readers go into reading Susan Mallery's books knowing how they are basically going to go. Woman looks to find the perfect man, woman finds man, man is scared to death, man leaves, man comes back, man and woman live happily-ever-after. There is definitely a formula here, but the thing that sets each of these books apart, is in the details. The little things that make Gabriel and Noelle's story different from the other couples in the series. Her issues with illness and his estrangement from his family. The fact that she owns a Christmas store and he is a military doctor. It's those things that make all the difference!

    Bottom Line:

    I may have wanted a little more realism and a little less formula in this book, but that's not say I didn't like it. I knew they'd end up together, so do you, before you even start. What made this one worth the time, was the spirit of this little town, the amazing people that populate it and those wee little things that made it special. It was a great Christmas read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Sweet Fools Gold Story

    As usual Ms. Mallery tells a beautiful story, this one between Thanksgiving and Christmas... I love the way she weaves all of the characters from prior books into the ongoing story.. Kinda like real life... But, although this one has a current release date I would swear that I have read this story before???? Since I am an avid reader and since I read all of Ms. Mallery's books I can't help but wonder if this was previously published... Still I enjoyed it very much...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Aubrey Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Aubrey
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Another awesome read by Susan Mallery, I have been waiting to find out Noelle’s story from when she was first introduced. There had to be some reason why she left the security of a good job and where she had lived for many years to move to Fool’s Gold with the idea of opening up a Christmas store. Mallery does an awesome job at bringing too seemingly opposite people together. Gabriel is resting and trying to figure out what to do with his career and Noelle is wanting to put down roots and get married.

    The story is very adorable and just what I needed to be put into the Christmas spirit. I wish I lived in a town like Fool’s Gold that goes all out for Christmas. There is a sense of fellowship and camaraderie that we don’t often see today.

    Gabriel had a lot of resentments that he had to work out and come to terms with. He was a very complex character that was still trying to please his father with his career choice. It was interesting to see the complex feelings and change that Gabriel went through over the course of the book. It made him a lot more likable and endearing. His whole world changed in the matter of weeks. I think it would take anyone some time to adjust and get his head into the changes.

    I loved the ending the best and how it was a complete surprise to the guests except those involved. I’m slightly jealous of the love story that transpires between Noelle and Gabriel. I do look forward to reading about the love stories of the three football players that are coming to town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    ♮ BengalFrost ♮

    &#9838 She padded in, Her black-rimmed ears perked. The Bengal Tabby's banner twitched thoughtfully, frosty blue orbitals gazing gently around. "Greetings. I'm BengalFrost; I'm wondering if Medicine Cat is open?" &#9838

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    Romance during the holiday season. What's not to love about that

    Romance during the holiday season. What's not to love about that? Love Fool's Gold and love this next installment in the series. Noelle is a cute and sweet character and Gabriel is one hot guy with some issues of course. But with Noelle there to help him get through the holidays with his family and overcome his issues he learns to take a chance on love. Really sweet romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Afraid to love encounters Must be loved┬┐ When Noelle first meet

    Afraid to love encounters Must be loved…

    When Noelle first meets Gabriel the circumstance are far from ideal. When he convinces her to hire him to work in her Christmas Shop a friendship of necessity is developed.

    What grows between them is more than they want to admit, but it is a relationship that has no future. Gabriel will be leaving in a few weeks and giving your heart short term will definitely get it broken!

    There are wonderfully developed, unique characters that come alive in your mind. The story is well written, will pull you along and has many surprises.

    A wonderful holiday romance to warm your heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Fantastic

    I absolutely love Susan Mallery books. One of my favorite authors and I love her Fools Gold series. This one is as wonderful as all the others and I can't wait for more. Love it, love it, love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Christmas on 4th Street is just as heartwarming, quirky and roma

    Christmas on 4th Street is just as heartwarming, quirky and romantic as any of the Fool’s Gold books that have come before it.  It’s full of witty banter and smoldering moments, tenderness and laughter.  Once again, Mallery gives readers a sigh-worthy story about falling in love and the joy that can be found when you learn to open your heart. - Full review available on BookTrib's website and Romantic Reads and Such on Wordpress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Wispclan

    Breezestar

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I love Susan Mallery and she has done it again, I couldn't put the book down. I think I read it in about 6 hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    Lovely Christmas Story! I love this time of year, because of al

    Lovely Christmas Story!
    I love this time of year, because of all the great Christmas books coming out. Susan's Christmas on 4th Street was a perfect story. I loved Noelle's little shop and how she and Gabriel came together. Their chemistry was amazing! Susan always weaves the other characters into her books and I love how you can expect them to be there for the main characters. Mayor Marsha always pops up and "helps" things along. I love the dialogue between Noelle and Gabriel, and my favorite part was when they were snowed in and the cats! To cute! Fool's Gold is just one of those places you want to live! I highly recommend this perfectly, lovely Christmas story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fool's Gold & Christmas, what more could you ask for? Christ

    Fool's Gold & Christmas, what more could you ask for? Christmas on 4th Street is Noelle and Gabriel's story. Noelle meets Gabriel at his brother's house when she's doing a favor for a friend. Intrigued by her and wanting to find a way to escape his family, he begins working in her store. Trying to keep his distance because he doesn't want to take the risk of loving and losing someone, he fights his growing feelings for Noelle while also getting to know her. Stranded in a cabin during a snowstorm, it isn't long before they can no longer fight it. I think Noelle and Gabriel might be two of my favorite residents of Fool's Gold. Another great book in the series from Susan Mallery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    I am a big fan of Susan Mallery and once again she has me drawn

    I am a big fan of Susan Mallery and once again she has me drawn into a town full of warmth, mischief and and the kind of people you wish you could call friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Susan Mallery is back with another Fool's Gold romance!! This on

    Susan Mallery is back with another Fool's Gold romance!! This one is based during Christmas time when the town's Christmas spirit is out in full. You meet Noelle Perkins, who owns the new shop called The Christmas Attic and Gabriel Boylan, who is a trauma doctor in the services. You get to see them fall in love and you also get to catch up on the other Fool's Gold characters. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves Susan Mallery's books and who loves holiday books too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Christmas on 4th Street was very enjoyable, I like the how this

    Christmas on 4th Street was very enjoyable, I like the how this was set with two ordinary people, Noelle and Gabriel. Two different ways of life and love brings them together. This Christmas story is heart warming and refreshing in todays world when not many things in life have a happy ending. Noelle gets more than anyone when she gets her love and a family. Love is the true meaning of Christmas! Wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    This is another great addition to the Fool's Gold series. It's a

    This is another great addition to the Fool's Gold series. It's a sweet romance with an interesting hero & heroine. Being able to revist characters from previous books is also fun. A too-quick and convenient change in one character's attitude kept this from being a 5-star read for me, but that is the only real quibble I had. I am looking forward to Ms. Mallery's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    I always enjoy my "trips" to Fool's Gold. That being s

    I always enjoy my "trips" to Fool's Gold. That being said, I have to admit I had a hard time getting into this story at first (maybe it's because I was reading a Christmas romance in September). I plan to read it again in December when I'm more in the holiday spirit and would recommend that to others too. If you are a fan of the series, you will enjoy this book. It was a quick entertaining read. I look forward to next summer's trilogy and getting to know some new residents of Fool's Gold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4