Customer Reviews for

Christmas with Tucker: McCray Family Series, Book 1

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This prequel to A DOG NAMED CHRISTMAS is a must read for all dog

This prequel to A DOG NAMED CHRISTMAS is a must read for all dog lovers, and dog rescuers. In this story we learn about George and a life affirming season that he spent with his grandparents and an 'borrowed' dog named, Tucker.

This coming of age story takes place i...
This prequel to A DOG NAMED CHRISTMAS is a must read for all dog lovers, and dog rescuers. In this story we learn about George and a life affirming season that he spent with his grandparents and an 'borrowed' dog named, Tucker.

This coming of age story takes place in 1962, when George was 13, and his father had just recently been killed in a farming accident. It was also a winter of one of the largest snow storms, followed by an ice storm in Kansas' history. George took on many adult rolls to keep the milk cows going when electricity and phone service went down---hand milking and watering the cows became a huge deal.

Not only that, George's grandfather was the sole person responsible for clearing the county's roads of snow and ice. George became a truly necessary worker, with some creative ideas of his own. Through all these events, Tucker played an important roll for George in his learning trials and encouraging successes.

This book is a terrific read for dog lovers,family lovers, and everyone who has learned that it is the trials of our lives that teach us the most in life, and our faithful animal friends are often amongst are greatest treasures!!

posted by RonnaL on November 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

G

Great book to read on the holidays. I haven't finished it yet, and so far there is no rising action or exiting parts. I have started to think of putting the book down, but i should proboly give it a chance, just in case. If you dislike, or like, this book you should get...
Great book to read on the holidays. I haven't finished it yet, and so far there is no rising action or exiting parts. I have started to think of putting the book down, but i should proboly give it a chance, just in case. If you dislike, or like, this book you should get "A Simple Christmas Wish".
Hit yes if this was helpful.
Sincerely,
Axolotl lover579

posted by 12502586 on January 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    This prequel to A DOG NAMED CHRISTMAS is a must read for all dog

    This prequel to A DOG NAMED CHRISTMAS is a must read for all dog lovers, and dog rescuers. In this story we learn about George and a life affirming season that he spent with his grandparents and an 'borrowed' dog named, Tucker.

    This coming of age story takes place in 1962, when George was 13, and his father had just recently been killed in a farming accident. It was also a winter of one of the largest snow storms, followed by an ice storm in Kansas' history. George took on many adult rolls to keep the milk cows going when electricity and phone service went down---hand milking and watering the cows became a huge deal.

    Not only that, George's grandfather was the sole person responsible for clearing the county's roads of snow and ice. George became a truly necessary worker, with some creative ideas of his own. Through all these events, Tucker played an important roll for George in his learning trials and encouraging successes.

    This book is a terrific read for dog lovers,family lovers, and everyone who has learned that it is the trials of our lives that teach us the most in life, and our faithful animal friends are often amongst are greatest treasures!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Read this book over the holidays. It was a truly heart warming story. Once started I could not put it down. Recommend this without any hesitation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    G

    Great book to read on the holidays. I haven't finished it yet, and so far there is no rising action or exiting parts. I have started to think of putting the book down, but i should proboly give it a chance, just in case. If you dislike, or like, this book you should get "A Simple Christmas Wish".
    Hit yes if this was helpful.
    Sincerely,
    Axolotl lover579

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Christmas With Tucker by Greg Kincaid

    This is a simple but elegant story that grips you from the get-go. George, an ordinary young teenager, dealing with extraordinary life events will endear himself to you as you read his story. An Irish setter named Tucker, along with his grandparents and the family farm, aids George's journey of surviving and growing up on a farm in the 1960s. When I finished reading Christmas with Tucker, I had a warm glow of contentment and a sense of satisfaction that the world was a better place. Then I began to make a list of friends and relatives who appreciate the finer things in life and with Christmas just around the corner, needing a gift. This is also a perfect choice for families that enjoy reading aloud together.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Recommended for Dog Lovers

    Excellent reading, esp if you have ever loved a dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    What a great story! get ready to have ur heartstrings tugged at.

    What a great story! get ready to have ur heartstrings tugged at.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Angel

    Ya im ok why?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    The best book ever

    I havent read the book but this book is amazing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    CHRISTMAS WITH TUCKER IS THE SECOND BOOK IN A SERIES BY GREG KIN

    CHRISTMAS WITH TUCKER IS THE SECOND BOOK IN A SERIES BY GREG KINCAID AND A PREQUEL TO A DOG NAMED CHRISTMAS. THE DOG'S NAME IS TUCKER AND HIS NEW HUMAN FRIEND IS GEORGE. GEORGE IS TWELVE YEARS OLD AND SUFFERING SOME HARDSHIPS. HE IS LIVING WITH HIS GRANDPARENTS AT THE MOMENT AND TUCKER IS THE NEIGHBOR'S DOG. THIS IS A STORY OF HOPE, LOVE AND MIRACLES - TRUE TO THE CHRISTMAS SPIRIT. I READ THIS BOOK (ALL THREE BOOKS ACTUALLY) WITH MY DAUGHTER AND SHE LOVED IT. WE ARE A FAMILY OF DOG LOVERS - THERE ARE FOUR IN OUR HOME AT THE MOMENT - SO SHE LOVES JUST ABOUT ANY HEART WARMING DOG STORY...EVEN THOUGH WE ALREADY HAVE FOUR DOGS - WE WERE LEFT DESPERATELY DESIRING TO ADOPT ANOTHER DOG. THAT JUST ISN'T POSSIBLE AT THE MOMENT. THIS WAS NOT A BOOK THAT MY SEVEN YEAR OLD COULD READ ON HER OWN DUE TO SOME OF THE VOCABULARY BUT IT WAS VERY ENJOYABLE TO READ TOGETHER. ALL THREE BOOKS ARE QUICK READS AND ONCE YOU READ ONE, YOU WILL REALLY WANT TO READ ALL OF THEM. THIS PARTICULAR STORY REALLY ACCENTUATES JUST HOW MUCH VALUE OUR PETS ADD TO OUR FAMILY AND HOW THEY CAN HELP US GET THROUGH EVEN SOME OF THE MOST DIFFICULT STRUGGLES AND CHALLENGES. IT IS ONE OF THOSE HEARTWARMING, GOOD FOR THE SOUL TYPE OF BOOKS.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Christmas with Tucker

    Very enjoyable read. Loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    A Sweet touching story

    Easy read for a winters night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Warm & Fuzzy

    "Christmas with Tucker" is a cute story, and a nice read during the holidays. At only 158 pages it is a fast read and easy to fit in between the Christmas preparations. This is a warm, fuzzy book that will bring a smile to your face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    What a wonderful, warm story!!

    I really enjoyed this book. There was so much put on George's shoulders, and he handled it so well! It is a very heartwarming story by an author that I thoroughly enjoy. You won't be disappointed, unless you are a Scrooge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Seller gets a 5 star rating from me

    The book was okay. If you were an 6th grader. But I like happy endings too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    A Need to Read !!

    This is a wonderful book !! You felt like you were there in Kansas through all the problems !! Tucker is an AWESOME dog !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    Highly recommend. A truly heartwarming book. 100% worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    I really enjoyed listening to this book!

    Christmas to Tucker is the prequel to A Dog Named Christmas and very strongly continues in the simple, heartwarming, family values kind of vein.
    The setting is a rural farming community in 1960s Kansas during one of the worst winter snow and ice storms in history. The McCray family is struggling with the holiday season already having recently lost John, son to Bo and Cora and father to George. The McCrays have a large dairy farm to keep running in addition to being the county road maintainers. As the work and stress pile up young George has to figure out how to navigate without his father to guide him. When a neighbor gets hauled off to jail his dog, Tucker, comes to live with the McCrays and helps George in all sorts of ways.

    This is a lovely look at how hard work, respect, and lots of love can show a troubled kid how to stay on the right path. The book is full of big hearted characters, tough decisions, and a loyal dog. It will definitely leave you feeling like the world is a better place. The story isn't tricky or surprising, but sometimes a feel good story is all you need.

    I listened to this book on audio and, like A Dog Named Christmas, it is narrated by Mark Bramhall. He has the most beautiful, deep voice, perfect for this kind of story. I really enjoyed listening to this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    heartwarming family, dog, and farm Christmas adventure

    In the 1960's the owner of an Irish Setter named Tucker, Frank Thorne, lived in a cabin that was a mess and Frank probably didn't care how anything appeared since he loved his booze so much that his mind wasn't on the right issues in his life. As a result, Tucker suffered living outdoors and was neglected far too much; not because Frank didn't like him but there were much more important issues in life such as drinking ones self into oblivion! Clean up the house? Not necessary. On a nearby Kansas farm lived the McCray's, Grandma Cora and Grandpa Bo. They had a dairy farm where they had to milk the dairy cows twice daily no matter the weather or personal needs. The cows paid for the farm so they came first. Grandpa Bo also was the road maintainer for the area. We know that vehicle as a snowplow but in those days there was no government to operate such vehicles so individuals were placed in a position to do that much important chore in all kinds of weather, mostly during the winter. Their grandson, George McCray, was staying at their farm. George's father had died and he got away to the farm while his mother moved to Minnesota to get a new life started for her family. George was to stay at the farm to help out until Christmas when his mother would come for the holiday and then take George back home. George had mixed feelings seeing the massive work his aging grandparents performed daily. The attachment between George and Tucker grew and Frank Thorne realized that maybe George could take Tucker for walks once in a while saving him that time of care for his pet. George loved this but was very sad when he had to take Tucker back and tie him up again. A terrible snowstorm kicked its nasty effects on the area very early this year. Grandpa Bo got the maintainer going and worked on the roads, sometimes around the clock. Eventually his health suffered and he pushed so hard that he got worse. George, while only thirteen decided he could try to run the maintainer for his grandpa. Bo, despite his sickness, did not want George to try this but eventually when Bo couldn't move, George took over and after a very difficult self-learning process cleared the roads and helped grandma milk the cows. There is no need to go any farther into this great human story. I think I have piqued your interest and you will want to read this story that will give you tears and chills and a warm heart. I did not read the authors book, "A Dog Named Christmas" but I did see the television movie that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. Tucker and the human participants in this book pick up in the same mode of human interest and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2