Customer Reviews for

Christopher Killer: Forensic Mystery 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    In the quiet, small town of Silverton, Colorado, eighteen-year-old Cameryn Mahoney is planning to follow in her father's footsteps and pursue a career in forensic pathology. Her dad, the unassuming yet efficient Pat Mahoney, is the local county coroner, and Cameryn is determined to follow his lead--much to the chagrin and near-disgust of her Mammaw. Cameryn's grandmother is convinced that her "love" of death and dying, and her insistence on not becoming a "real" doctor, along with her inability to cook, will lead her down the wrong path. <BR/><BR/>But Cameryn is determined, and she's also thrilled when she finally talks her dad into letting her assist him. After all, sure, the county coroner does deal with death occasionally, but they haven't had an actual murder in decades, so her father figures there can't be any harm in letting his daughter tag along to scenes or assist with autopsies. Unfortunately, he was wrong. <BR/><BR/>There has been a murder in this sleepy Rocky Mountain town. And it's not just the murder of a stranger, but Cameryn's friend, Rachel Geller. Added to that is the fact that it's not a random murder, but seems to be part of a serial killer's spree. The murderer always leaves a St. Christopher medal on the victim's body, thus earning him the moniker The Christopher Killer. As Cameryn sets out to assist her father, she suddenly finds herself drawn into a murder investigation. As the police in this small town search for clues as to who may have murdered the lovely Rachel, Cameryn is determined to start putting her knowledge of forensics to good use. <BR/><BR/>This is a great book, similar to the style and stories of the television show CSI. If you're interested in forensics or just like watching the process on television, you're going to thoroughly enjoy the mystery that is THE CHRISTOPHER KILLER. Not to mention the fact that this is just the beginning of a new series, so there will be more books starring Cameryn down the road! The other great thing about the book, besides its excellent characters, dialogue, and storyline, is the fact that even though it's a mystery that deals with murder, it's a good fit even for middle-school readers. You won't go wrong picking up a copy of this first book in the FORENSIC MYSTERY series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    Lacking.

    I picked up this book thinking it would be an interesting read. What a let down, for one thing- I couldn't connect with the characters in the story. This is essential for any good book. I also had the mystery solved by chapter 5. I wouldn't suggest this one if you're looking for a deep mystery or thriller. If you're a big CSI fan you might enjoy it, otherwise you might be better off with another series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Weirdly detached.....

    This book was ok, the characters seemed not quite right, most being detached from the story. They didnt portray it well. The killer was a big disssapointment, again, unattached. The story line was basically good, but the actual story focused more on her life problems than anything & it became slightly boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Christopher Killer

    At the beginning of the book, it was boring. It took a while to get into the book. The story was about a 17-year-old wanting to become a forensic pathologist. She started to work with her father and becomes a key role to the police. The ending surprised me and was exciting. I would of never of guessed who really was the Christopher Killer. The book was very descriptive when it talked about the autopsy. But it just started too slow, which made it harder to read. I have actually tried to read another book from this author. But like The Christopher Killer it had a slow beginning and just had to put it down this time. I would say that would be the worst part of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A Satisfying Read

    This enthralling tale is a good read, but it took me a while to get into the story. In the first few chapters, the introductions seem like nothing but meaningless descriptions. In the middle of the book when the plot develops, I had to go back to the introductions and read them again to find each character¿s information. Towards the middle, the plot gets interesting and takes unexpected twists. It leaves you wondering who to believe. The climax is intriguing, but maybe not quite as gripping as it could have been. After completing the story, I felt the suspect was a bit too obvious. In the development, the suspect fades into the background, but then as the story moves along your suspicions are revived. I found myself saying, ¿I knew it!¿ Overall, it is a book good enough to make me read the sequel, so I have to say at the end of the first, I wanted to read the second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    good book

    this was a good book! Here is a detail of the book a girl helping her dad solve the mysteries but her grandma does not think its a good idea. You should read the book for more it is really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    In the quiet, small town of Silverton, Colorado, eighteen-year-old Cameryn Mahoney is planning to follow in her father's footsteps and pursue a career in forensic pathology. Her dad, the unassuming yet efficient Pat Mahoney, is the local county coroner, and Cameryn is determined to follow his lead--much to the chagrin and near-disgust of her Mammaw. Cameryn's grandmother is convinced that her 'love' of death and dying, and her insistence on not becoming a 'real' doctor, along with her inability to cook, will lead her down the wrong path. But Cameryn is determined, and she's also thrilled when she finally talks her dad into letting her assist him. After all, sure, the county coroner does deal with death occasionally, but they haven't had an actual murder in decades, so her father figures there can't be any harm in letting his daughter tag along to scenes or assist with autopsies. Unfortunately, he was wrong. There has been a murder in this sleepy Rocky Mountain town. And it's not just the murder of a stranger, but Cameryn's friend, Rachel Geller. Added to that is the fact that it's not a random murder, but seems to be part of a serial killer's spree. The murderer always leaves a St. Christopher medal on the victim's body, thus earning him the moniker The Christopher Killer. As Cameryn sets out to assist her father, she suddenly finds herself drawn into a murder investigation. As the police in this small town search for clues as to who may have murdered the lovely Rachel, Cameryn is determined to start putting her knowledge of forensics to good use. This is a great book, similar to the style and stories of the television show CSI. If you're interested in forensics or just like watching the process on television, you're going to thoroughly enjoy the mystery that is THE CHRISTOPHER KILLER. Not to mention the fact that this is just the beginning of a new series, so there will be more books starring Cameryn down the road! The other great thing about the book, besides its excellent characters, dialogue, and storyline, is the fact that even though it's a mystery that deals with murder, it's a good fit even for middle-school readers. You won't go wrong picking up a copy of this first book in the FORENSIC MYSTERY series! **Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka 'The Genius'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    For CSI loving teens ...

    I just recently discovered Alane Ferguson and her Forensic Mystery series. It is well worth checking out. In The Christopher Killer the reader meets Cameryn Mahoney. She's a smart 17 year old with a future goal of becoming a medical examiner. In the story Cameryn begins work as her father's assistant - he's the county coroner. Together they are the first on the scene involving any sort of death. Cameryn's first experience is described in pretty gruesome detail, so reader, beware. It turns out the man's death is classified as a 'natural' or in other words, he died of natural causes. That is not the case when the body of a young friend of Cameryn's is discovered by several hikers. Rachel, a young waitress who works with Cameryn, has been strangled and the search begins for her killer. Ferguson keeps the readers' attention by including accurate forensic information and detail, a bit of a love interest for Cameryn, and the mystery of Cameryn's mother who disappeared years ago. Some critics have reviewed the series by saying there are too many things going on in plot line, but I heartily disagree. I think the variety will help to engage readers interested in different aspects of the characters' lives, plus all the angles mean the series has plenty of action to keep the books coming for a long while. I say, 'Write on, Ms. Ferguson!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Crime Solving and Learning Who You Are

    This was a great, fast-paced read about a girl who felt real. She had struggles and questions about herself the character pulled you along as strongly as the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    A good read and a good book

    I can't wait for the next book. I liked Cameryn. She seems smart and I could see myself as her friend. It's neat having a serial killer in a young adult book. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    Awesome book!

    This book is the best book I have read in a while. It is very catchy at the beginning and will keep you hooked through the whole book. If you are interested in forensic sciences this is a must read. Even if you aren't it is still a good read. I can't wait for the next in this new series to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Great Read For Teens!

    Get your teenagers excited about reading with this great CSI type mystery! Want to motivate teens to read instead of playing video games? This book is the answer!!! As a reading tutor for teens with reading disabilities, I recommend The Christopher Killer whole heartedly for everyone! It has every thing that appeals to the CSI enthusiasts in all of us but deals in 'real world' family issues with honesty and integrity. Can't wait to read the next one and get all of my students involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    Great Summer Read for Girls and Guys!

    In the first of a series for young adult readers, Alane Ferguson leads her audience down the dark path of murder and forensics in her novel The Christopher Killer. While many mysteries remain mostly plot driven, Ferguson (Edgar winner and nominee) has managed to thicken the plot with strong character development. This adds a nice touch to a dark storyline that is intriguing and a bit gruesome. A novel interesting enough to catch both male and female readers, The Christopher Killer follows main character Cameryn Mahoney as she works with her father Patrick, the town¿s coroner. Cameryn, who is interested in becoming a forensics scientist, gets tangled in a web of murder when a friend of hers is found slain. The suspect? A serial killer who leaves a St Christopher medal on the bodies of victims. Strong detail and imagery enhance the writing. Interesting forensics, well researched, grab the reader by the throat. This is a great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2