Customer Reviews for

Chromosome 6 (Jack Stapleton Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    totally awesome

    this is one of the best books ive ever read. A fascinating page turner you cant put down. Really gets you thinking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    New science in the new world

    Chromosome 6 is a fascinating romp through the ethics of genetic engineering. Apes genetically altered to suit human organ transplants develop fascinating side-effects... a mind-bending concept and an eye-opener to the ethics of genetic engineering. Cook uses the science fiction aspect as a stage for a mystery-style plot involving underground business and the New York mafia. Those readers looking for more science than story may be disappointed... the genetic mutation of the apes is developed somewhat less than the mafia interest and the search for the underground genetics company. Otherwise, a captivating and thought-provoking novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Good but jumps

    It's a good book but every time you start to get involved with it, it jumps to a new location. I found it a very frustrating read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    Reminiscent of Sherlock Holmes, but in medicine

    Along with the characters the reader is able to live through the many challenges involved with a morgue enviroment. It's very well paced and it gives you a good thrill as it builds and develops, I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Cool and hot at the same time

    In this fast-paced medical thriller, Cook develops two parallel and intersecting plots about scientists in Equatorial Guinea who are frantically exploring the ethics of genetic engineering, and medical examiners in New York who are stubbornly (and against all odds) determining the cause of death of a mysterious mobster-corpse. I found Cook¿s characters well-developed, his plot original, and his narrative both humorous and suspenseful. Although I am generally not a fan of authors who reuse characters (how often can once-in-a-lifetime adventures happen to one medical examiner?), I loved this book and recommend it to any fan of medical suspense. So far, this is my favorite Robin Cook book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    ingenious protohumans for transplants

    Never before has anyone touched this area so well. Cook is able to capture our attention with 2 parralel settings which collide in the end. Our story gets exciting when a forensics scientist decides to personally expose where illegal organ transplants are taking place, and stumbles into a scientific phenomenon. A molecular biologist has discovered a way to add human molecules to chromosome 6 on animals. The animals grow into protohumans which are later used for organ transplants. Very exciting, and very fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    Chromosome 6 - students view

    Our book begins with forensic investigator Jack Stapleton trying to identify where the body of a dead crime family member went. The body was stolen from the city morgue where he works. At the same time, similar transplants are being done in the country of Equatorial Guinea. The body is later discovered after it reappears at the morgue in an identity, which is to be discovered. Kevin, a Molecular Biologist, working for a major organization called GenSys. He is responsible for rearranging and adding molecules to the short arm of chromosome 6 in bonobos. The apes are abridged to specific persons who pay for their care. When the person paying needs an organ, such as a liver, he has the animal killed, and the organ is transplanted into him. Kevin goes to the island where the bonobos are, with his assistant, Melanie, and Candace, a nurse. The bonobos, as Kevin discovers, are far more intelligent than they think. They take Kevin and the girls captive in a cave. This infuriates the head of operations at GenSys, as this is strictly forbidden. After several days in captivity, they are discovered. They are taken back to Kevin¿s house, as they are to be turned into local authorities in the morning. Jack, along with a fellow forensics officer, and Warren his friend and Warrens girlfriend decide to go to where the transplants are performed, hoping to expose the operations. He receives much opposing power, but eventually makes it into the country. Later he sneaks into the GenSys operations. He discovers what he needs to, and tries to escape. He and his friends narrowly escape, but he is discovered. He is arrested and put in jail under the Town Hall. Kevin (while being held captive in his home) discovers that there are Americans in prison. He makes a plan to get the guards all drunk. His plan works, and he is easily able to escape his home, with his companions, and rescue the Americans out of Town Hall. They narrowly escape by boat, and decide to go to the American embassy on a nearby island. Kevin has a slight conscience change, and decides to go free the bonobos. Everyone agrees, and they do so, but in the process, they are discovered, although not caught, and their boat is sunk by soldiers. They are forced to travel on the island where the bonobos were being raised, and take the canoe Kevin took earlier to get to the island. They once again narrowly escape, and return to America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    Beautiful... Simply Beautiful

    Robin Cook must be placed amoung my favorite authors, and ive read evry one of his books. This one was no exception. Great plot, great description, intersting ending, and good dialouge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2001

    Chromosome 6 my favorite book.

    I strongly believe that Chromosome 6 is one of the best books writtten by Cook.Actually, I really enjoy these kind of ethical topics. I think it is interesting, and at the same time it makes you ask so many questions about, ambition , power, and also the way people could feel about death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    Fun and Interesting

    I found this book was very interesting, and one of my favorites from Robin Cook. The only downfal was how unrealistic it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2000

    Great start, lame ending.

    Great concept and an interesting read but the ending was lame and dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2000

    A Promising Premise

    While once again writing on the cutting edge of technology, Cook misses the mark this time. The novel evokes memories of Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta, but Cornwell shows much better execution. It seemed as though Cook had material left over from other novels and just wanted the pay-check. A shame, considering previous novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2000

    An interesting book, but it left me hanging

    As an avid Robin Cook fan, I could hardly wait to dive into this one. I must admit I had a hard time getting into it, but once I got through the first part of it, it had me. It was very intrigueing and interesting, although I think sometimes he assumes we know more than we do about genetics and the technical side of things. I was horribly dissapointed in the ending. Too abrupt, what happend to some of the major players in the story? Where did they go? There was a whole lot of build-up to get to such a lackluster ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2000

    Interesting book...new look into ethics

    i had to read a book fiction or non for my biology class. i chose to read this after help from the salesperson at bn. this book was a fascinating view on a subject that i was not very familiar with. with the ways technology is advancing nowadays it is scary to realize that this could happen...makes you think!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    excellent and exciting novel!!

    This novel is my most favorite Cook's novel. He is brillient to use the knowledge about genetic manupulation to write a very exciting novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2