Customer Reviews for

Chronicle of a Death Foretold

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chronicle of a Death Foretold

I thought the book Chronicle of a Death foretold was very interesting, I liked how you were told everything that is happening before the story is told. I enjoy books that revolve around fiction but could possibly be true. This book leaves you guessing until the very end...
I thought the book Chronicle of a Death foretold was very interesting, I liked how you were told everything that is happening before the story is told. I enjoy books that revolve around fiction but could possibly be true. This book leaves you guessing until the very end and I would highly recommend it to people who like suspense books and other things close to them. Chronicle of a Death Foretold is a book about a man, Santiago Nasar, who has been murdered because he had taken the virginity of Angela Vicario, a woman who had recently been married to another man, Bayardo San Roman. Bayardo San Roman had not known of there encounter and was angry, leaving Angela Vicario. She was questioned until she had given up Santiago Nasar¿s name. Her twin brothers were enraged that her virginity had been taken before marriage and later killed Santiago Nasar. The day of his death, the wedding was being put together for Angela Vicario and Bayardo San Roman. Also the Bishop was coming to bless the marriage so the town¿s people had gathered. The marriage had been arranged but only for Angela Vicario, Bayardo San Roman had come to town to find a bride and found her. Angela Vicario's twin brothers had set out to murder Santiago Nasar and constantly talked of doing so, but the people thought this only as a bluff. After the murder had been done with the Vicario family left town in embarrassment. Angela Vicario had later fallen in love with Bayardo San Roman on her wedding night and wrote him letters constantly he eventually came back to her. Santiago Nasar¿s death had been talked about for years after his murder building the suspense of his death making you wonder why after being warned was he not able to get away from the Vicario twins.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed.  Perhaps because it was translated, I found the l

Disappointed. 

Perhaps because it was translated, I found the language to be somewhat disjointed - much like the plot. The story is quite brief and not much is actually divulged within it. The plot is scattered and somewhat difficult to follow, while the story itself h...
Disappointed. 

Perhaps because it was translated, I found the language to be somewhat disjointed - much like the plot. The story is quite brief and not much is actually divulged within it. The plot is scattered and somewhat difficult to follow, while the story itself has many elements that are not cohesive. Having read all of the wonderful reviews, I was expecting quite a bit more from this book.  Honestly,  I found it to be rather vulgar at times and not because of the gore. Certainly not a masterpiece in my mind. 

posted by Anonymous on August 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Disappointed.  Perhaps because it was translated, I found the l

    Disappointed. 

    Perhaps because it was translated, I found the language to be somewhat disjointed - much like the plot. The story is quite brief and not much is actually divulged within it. The plot is scattered and somewhat difficult to follow, while the story itself has many elements that are not cohesive. Having read all of the wonderful reviews, I was expecting quite a bit more from this book.  Honestly,  I found it to be rather vulgar at times and not because of the gore. Certainly not a masterpiece in my mind. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    This is a great short novel.

    I think the climax is given early on but then what I want to know is how it happens. It is interesting, it is a master story teller, telling a story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Chronicle of a Death Foretold

    I thought the book Chronicle of a Death foretold was very interesting, I liked how you were told everything that is happening before the story is told. I enjoy books that revolve around fiction but could possibly be true. This book leaves you guessing until the very end and I would highly recommend it to people who like suspense books and other things close to them. Chronicle of a Death Foretold is a book about a man, Santiago Nasar, who has been murdered because he had taken the virginity of Angela Vicario, a woman who had recently been married to another man, Bayardo San Roman. Bayardo San Roman had not known of there encounter and was angry, leaving Angela Vicario. She was questioned until she had given up Santiago Nasar¿s name. Her twin brothers were enraged that her virginity had been taken before marriage and later killed Santiago Nasar. The day of his death, the wedding was being put together for Angela Vicario and Bayardo San Roman. Also the Bishop was coming to bless the marriage so the town¿s people had gathered. The marriage had been arranged but only for Angela Vicario, Bayardo San Roman had come to town to find a bride and found her. Angela Vicario's twin brothers had set out to murder Santiago Nasar and constantly talked of doing so, but the people thought this only as a bluff. After the murder had been done with the Vicario family left town in embarrassment. Angela Vicario had later fallen in love with Bayardo San Roman on her wedding night and wrote him letters constantly he eventually came back to her. Santiago Nasar¿s death had been talked about for years after his murder building the suspense of his death making you wonder why after being warned was he not able to get away from the Vicario twins.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    The book I read was Chronicle of a Death Foretold, by Gabriel Ga

    The book I read was Chronicle of a Death Foretold, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. This was originally published in Colombia in Spanish, but then translated by Gregory Rabasa into English. Chronicle of a Death Foretold was published in New York, 1983.




    This novel is about a baffling murder that took place. The narrator, whose name is never actually said, is a dedicated reporter that is determined to get to the bottom of it and find out as much as possible. Angela Vicario and Bayardo San Roman planned to get married, until Bayardo found out the night of their wedding that Angela was not a virgin. Bayardo left her, in disgrace. When the twin brothers of Angela found out that a man named Santiago Nasar was the cause of this, they straight up declared that they were going to murder him.Santiago Nasar is definitely the main character throughout this novel, because it is about the brothers, Pedro and Pablo Vicario, killing him, and everyone else telling what they know about the murder. Pedro and Pablo told every single person that they were planning to kill Santiago, besides Santiago himself, and the confusing part, however, is that not a single one of those people warned Santiago. They did not know how to tell him and didn’t want to disrupt their own personal lives by doing so.




    Throughout this story, we are taken from a male reporters point of view and see many peoples reactions to Santiago Nasars death. We also learn about his household the day of the murder. “He had slept little and poorly, without getting undressed, and he woke with a headache and a sediment of copper stirrup on his palate, and he interpreted them as the natural havoc of the wedding revels that had gone on until after midnight (page 4).” He did not recognize the omen of the tragedy that was soon to occur.




    I did not really like this book at all. I felt like the plot was all over the place, and it was just also very boring which made it hard to follow along with. For example, it seemed like the whole novel was just unorganized in every way, and was very random. “He looked like a fairy (page 26),” a woman described how Santiago looked one day. Then, in just the next paragraph, the topic already changed to the narrator’s mother writing him letters. 
     
    From Chronicle of a Death Foretold, I learned the many different ways that somebody’s death can impact people. Some people move on with their lives, and some people cannot let go. Many people also have their different ways of coping, such as venting to other people.

    I would recommend this book, only for a few specific reasons, however. In my opinion it was a fairly hard read, so you probably wouldn’t enjoy this novel if you do not read things like this. Also, if you like books that don’t exactly have the biggest rising action, climax, etc., then you would most likely enjoy reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    A masterpiece

    A masterpiece

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Highly recommended!!!

    Short and sweet! a great little book for great readers

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Very Suspenseful book!

    Santiago nasar, a young man accused of taking the virginity of Angela Vicaro. Angela's twin brothers, Pablo and Pedro Vicaro find Santiago, and kill him for his sin.
    I found the beggining of Gabriel Garcia Marquez's novel "Chronicle of a Death Foretold" to be very informative. I feel like he described the household just right. As i got farther and farther into the book, I became more and more interested. It's almost like the kind of book you can not put down once you start reading it.
    The book is about the events leading to Santiago's death. He lived in a wealthy family, taking the place of his deceased father, owning thier successful ranch. Santiago lives with his mother, Placida Linero, the cook, Victoria Guzman, and her daughter, Divina Flor. The day Santiago died was a very special day for Angela and Bayardo, it was the day the bishop was comming to bless thier marriage. Nobody believed that the twins were actually going to kill Santiago for what he had done. But they were proven wrong. After Santiago had been murdured the Vicaro family left the town, Bayardo San Roman left with his family and Pedro and Pablo went to jail for 3 years. Once Pablo got out of jail, he married Predencia Cotes, and Pedro went back to the armed forces. Even years after the crime has passed, it was still all what everyone was talking about. Though a lot of people warned Santiago of his foretold death, it failed to get through to him and as the chronicle of a death foretold lingers, so does Santiago's ghost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    "Chronicle of a Death Foretold" by Gabriel Garcia is an incredibly well written book that keeps your mind wondering till the very end. This novel takes place in Columbia, in a quiet little town where everyone knows everyone. With that fact being known, it seems impossible that everyone knew Pedro and Pablo Vicario were going to kill Santiago Nasar, except Santiago Nasar. That is how the book starts with that one bit of information, Santiago Nasar has been murdered. From there we learn the whole story, of when, where, why and how this murder is possible.
    Santiago Nasar is the protagonist of the story as well as the main character. The reason for the murder is because when Angela's new husband returns her to her mother, the person at fault for this according to Angela is Santiago Nasar. Now to reclaim their sister's honor Pedro and Pablo must go and kill Santiago Nasar. Looking at the character of Santiago Nasar you would never think he would be the target of a murder. Santiago is an easy going man whose father died three years earlier. His family has been wealthy ever sense he took over the family ranch. We know that he is opened hearted and has an appreciation of valor, prudence, firearms, and falconry. We also know that Santiago probably would have seduced Divina Flor, just as his father had seduced her mother. The narrator never gives us any other concrete details about the character or his dreams, ambitions or even if he ever committed the crime.
    The theme of this novel is honor. Everything that the Vicario brothers do are because they must restore the honor in their family and defend their sister, even if they don't legitimately know whether Santiago Nasar is to blame or not. Honor is the reason why people make their decisions throughout the novel it is a huge part of family life in this Latin American culture.
    I very much enjoyed this book because it keeps you thinking and wondering how everything could have happened or been prevented if someone would have spoken up. An example of this is in the quote, "The truth is I didn't know what to do,' he told me.'My first thought was that it wasn't any business of mine but something for the civil authorities, but then I made up my mind to say something in passing to Placida Linero.' Yet when he crossed the square, he'd forgotten completely. 'You have to understand,' he told me, "that the bishop was coming that day" (Marquez, pg. 70). No one fully steps up to the plate to stop what is going to happen. No one takes the situation seriously even Father Amador who is talking here. He has the authority to stop this but it slips his mind, meaning he did not think much of it. I could not stop thinking about the society in which they lived, and couldn't help thinking what I would have done.This book puts into perspective some of the reasons people stand by and do nothing. But to really get your own prospect and get the details on how the situation plays out you have to read the book for yourself.
    I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a short book, but one where you have to think. It is not a simple read, and takes a good deal of time to fully understand. The facts are sometimes implied rather than straightforward. But the details are outstanding. The narrator writes about ordinary things like you have never heard them be described before. If you enjoy this book you might also enjoy another book by Gabriel Garcia Marquez called "One Hundred Years of Solitude".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Recommend

    Chronicles of a death Foretold is simple enough: A story about romance and murder. A wealthy young Arab man is murdered by two lower class Spanish brothers who believe that he took their sisters virginity and has brought dishonor to them and their small Spanish town. The oddity; almost everyone in the town knew of the impending murder and did little or nothing to stop it. Marquez paints a portrait of this community and its collective psyche and culture leaving the reader torn between supporting the culture or the death of a possible innocent man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Very Recommended

    The Chronicle of a Death Foretold was a very interesting book that was defining a specific community. This novella described a community that is usually peaceful and caring, but was guilty of killing one of their own. I really don't understand why this situation wasn't resolved since everyone knew what was going on. The people in the story were from a small community where everyone was well-known. For them not to stop a murder because the murderers were known to keep to themselves was very understandable. The fact that the murderers felt they had not committed a crime was very interesting to me because according to their religion they were innocent. This novella is certainly worth reading if you are into the murder type life lesson novellas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Recommended for Imagery lovers!

    Chronicle of a Death Foretold is an extremely interesting novel. With the climax of the novel known from the start, Marquez takes a different outlook on literature. He reverses a story of a murder, collaborating his intriguing style with a fashionable storyline and tone. In great detail, he describes all the actions that led up to the crime, and drags the reader into a world that is normally not experienced. With Marquez's amazing use of imagery in his style of writing, Chronicle of a Death Foretold is vividly illustrated to any reader. It seems that the reader can actually hear, see, and smell everything that is going on in the novel. Marquez reaches out to the audience with his great sense of imagery, and this definitely creates the atmosphere completely defined in the novel. In Chronicle of a Death Foretold, Marquez demonstrates actual, real-life community, and he applies imagery to rip the reader away from the real world. Marquez is an amazing writer with astonishing creativity. This is an excellent novel for readers interested in imaginations gone wild (any of Marquez's writing would suit you!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    I recommend it, it's a good read.

    Gabriel Garcia Marquez wastes no time in telling the reader that there has been a murder. However, it takes a little longer than expected to know why it happened. In the story, a woman, Angela, who is married reveals that she is not a virgin. Her two brothers, Pablo and Pedro, then set out to kill the man who took her virginity. This man is Santiago Nassar. They were not secretive about their plan to kill Nassar, in fact, they told anyone who they came in contact with. The town, however, did nothing to stop the murder. Marquez depicts an essence of community in all of his works and it is displayed in Chronicle of a Death Foretold by the town coming together to assist in the murder of Narrar. Even though they did not actually kill him, they did not stop the murder, which makes them just as guilty. Overall, this novel was very good. The way Marquez tells his story through the eyes of different characters made it more readable and exciting. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    chronicle of a death foretold

    The book Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez is a book filled with conspiracy, plotting, and a murder to which the whole town seems to be an accessory. I found this book somewhat interesting. The way Marquez describes the situations, characters and places is very picturesque. You can almost see the people and the scenes in front of you as you read. For example when he describes one of the main characters, Santiago Nasar, he writes ¿¿he was slim and pale and had his father¿s Arab eyelids and curly hair¿¿ The way Marquez writes the book can get very confusing at times. He tends to skip around to different places or scenes when you least expect it, so you defiantly need a quiet place to read and concentrate on the book. However, when you are done with the book it all really comes together and you understand the story line a lot more than you would in the beginning or the middle, where it is kind of confusing. In Chronicle of a Death Foretold, you know what happens at the beginning of the book so it¿s not really a surprise at the end. Also, the book seems to drag on for a long time even though it¿s not a very long book. Overall this was a good book but not one of the best I have ever read. But Gabriel Garcia Marquez definitely put his heart and soul into this book and it surely shows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Absolutely Amazing~

    I had to read this book for school, so I was not a big fan of it at first. However, i must admit that this is one of the few books that i loved reading, even though it was a requirement. The story is very easy to read and to follow, and it's interesting all the way through. Marquez allows the reader to look at a simple murder in a different way, and one truly knows the events leading up to it, different views, and that fate truly can't be changed. At first it may be a bit confusing, but stick with it and you will see what i mean. It deserves every bit of praise imaginable, since it truly is amazing. I cannot wait to read another Marquez story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    Different Type of Story Telling

    A very visual novel, grotesque at the end, very different method of story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    beneath the surface

    marquez' masterful work of fiction truely bears the bulk of its power when the numerous motifs and nuances are analyzed. while his message about the insanity of an antiquated system of honor are pervasive and obvious, the way he weaves in biblical allusions and intersecting social commentaries truly makes this novel of modest length one to remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    A superb reinvention of the crime novel.

    Garcia Marquez takes one event and studies it from every possible angle giving us studies in revenge, honor, and indifference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2003

    confused

    the book wasn't horrible, but the author keeps on switching topic. You get a bit confused while reading it and Santiogo Nasar dies about 6 times in this book(don't worry i'm not giving anything away they say that he dies in the first line) Anyways he doesn't write in an easy to follow manner either. I wasn't to partial to reading this book maybe b/c i was forced to read it b/c of school but it's not something i would have picked to read otherwise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    A good Novel

    "The time has come for you to be tamed, he told her. Victoria Guzman showed him the bloody knife.¿ In the Chronicle of a death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, is a really good book, using irony, and satire to make the book suspenseful and interesting. Santiago Nasar is going to die, and Marquez puts herself in the roll of a reporter and writes every little piece of information to solve the case of Santiago¿s murder. Santiago satirizes religion by society and law. Everyone in the town are Catholic, and the Bishop will pass by their town, also everyone wanting to try to give the Bishop a kiss on the hand bringing gifts and food for him, "he does not set foot on land" Santiago felt cheated because he felt like he was used since he really brought allot. Showing that the bishop disliked the town. Religion is also very ironic to the position of Margot, Marquez¿s sister. She drinks and drinks till she gets drunk, ¿My sister the nun, who wasn¿t going to wait for the bishop¿ isn¿t that very ironic and weird that she does not show respect. She is probably drunk to the stomach to do that. Showing disrespect is not what a Nun is supposed to do. Marquez¿s use of irony, satire wants to keep the reader interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    Imoprtance of an Honor Code

    Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez was basically a book about family honor. Because of the fact that one man is accused of causing their sister to lose her virginity her brothers want to kill him because he caused the divorce of her marriage, and it has now disgraced their family. Garcia touches on a couple of huge points in our society today; Pride and Honor. Many people, as in the book, are killed over pride. Maybe because of the fact that you did something to one of their family members or maybe even the smallest of situations f.e. stepping on someone's shoe. The belief of some people is even though it may have been an accident you invaded their space and you should be punished for it. Of course you should have pride and honor, but once you get to big headedness- you run into problems and that is one of the big problems our society runs into now. Is it really that important. Do you have to show how big and bad you are because of the fact that you got disrespected. The Vicario brothers thought so and that led to the death of their sister's so called 'lover'. Marquez shows the importance of this honor code that many cultures have and always will have. Respect, Pride and Honor are huge in society, but I don't believe that they are enough to kill for. Is anythign enough to kill for? That is one question that we should all ask ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3