BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Chronicles, Volume One

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    Chronicles, Vol. 1

    Bob Dylan is known as a spiritual man, but also a loner, often offering opaque answers (or none at all) to direct questions. True to form, in Chronicles I there are many biographical omissions, and we are not given any real insights into his spiritual beliefs. However, what this autobiography does offer is a very engaging look at one man¿s evolution with his own creative voice, both in light of, and in spite of, the public attention it has received. It is on this level that Chronicles I interested and challenged me. Unlike Bob Dylan¿s previous book, 1966¿s Tarantula, which was a psychedelic roll through his subconscious, Chronicles I features an introspective Dylan writing plainly and openly about his creative process. For a famous recluse Dylan is remarkably exposed however, many of the elements that defined Dylan¿s musical path are dealt with only in passing¿sometimes in a single sentence. In fact, in some cases the moments that made Bob Dylan into Bob Dylan are ignored completely. Counter to what many music critics and fans may have wanted or expected, we are not offered an autobiography that is a full, wide-screen disclosure. What we are given is an invitation into the creative process of one of popular music¿s most significant icons. We are given snapshots of the formation of the man at different stages of his career: the young man striving for success the successful man striving for authenticity the older man striving for inspiration. The book is an account of process, perseverance and passion, and we see Dylan struggling to form and understand the voice that he feels is uniquely his, recognized now as one of the most significant in pop culture in the last fifty-odd years. To me, Chronicles I is at its best when it is showing the Dylan of the early 1960s, when he first arrived in New York City. Virtually alone in an unfamiliar city, Dylan began playing shows in folk clubs around Greenwich Village. We are told of how he forged his identity on hard-scrabble folk music and emulated the parts of other artists that he admired, in a slow opening of his creative scope and a honing of an authentic voice of his own. Collectors of rare folk albums provided source material that became Dylan¿s foundation, and with a few specific musicians providing artistic epiphanies, Dylan¿s unusual vision took over. Dylan¿s writing is a cadence of shortened sentences and clipped asides, and often reflects a wry humour that surprised me. But most impressive about Dylan¿s prose style was how similar it is in tone to his music. Chonicles I displays the same combination of simple words and sentence structures, mixed with vivid and unusual metaphors that are characteristic of Dylan¿s lyrics. Open the book to nearly any page and read for a paragraph or two and a voice you already know is reading to you. These lyrical skills have inspired a whole raft of pale imitators in a variety of genres, but are best used in the practised hands of an old pro. I was also struck by Dylan¿s admission that he notices details more than narrative, a trait that informs his music and his writing. When I think of any significant Dylan song, it is the frayed snippets of sepia-toned characters that emerge. There are vagabonds, dilettantes and debutantes in his songs, and so too, in his recounting of his life, where he tells stories about the people and the times that were forming around him. As one of the most heralded and most revered musicians in modern times, it is revealing to see the processes of the man behind the myth.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    I picked this up out of ignorance and curiosity...

    I had never been a Dylan fan, knew only what any 40-something American knows of his public life, and the only song I ever listened to carefully enough to enjoy it was *Tangled Up In Blue*. Attracted by nothing but curiosity and the luscious noirish cover, I bought this and read it. Okay, yes, I'll make a fool of myself here---just about every word did indeed glow like burning coals. I was entirely unprepared for the rich rich ride this book provides. The untethered chronology is wonderful precisely because the voice is so present, so immediate in every epoch it offers--we are always living a *now* with this voice. I had to read it with a highlighter because by the 3rd page I found there was no way I'd be able to memorize the passages whose loveliness/ingenuity/wit/feeling burned like, well, you know. So engrossed was I in this book, that it wasn't till about page 50 that it occurred to me: Oh, wait a minute--is this why people are Bob Dylan fans??? And now, a mere two weeks after reading Chronicles, I find that I want to restrategize my longterm life plans to maximize the number of times I can listen to Bob Dylan's 115th Dream, or Fixing to Die, or Gates of Eden, or Shelter from the Storm, or Lonesome Day Blues..okay you get the picture. I hope ardently that other people will open the Dylan door through this book--it's an amazing experience.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    A hometown hero

    I was very impressed with this book. I have always been a huge fan of Dylan's and was very familiar with his work.It could be a little dry to some depending on your taste in writting and music of coarse. What makes this book so great to me is that he is very percise on small details. He does not leave anyting out about the moves he makes. You get a thourough understanding of all the things he does once he hits New York. From the people he meets, to the books he read, to the shows he plays, you get a little bit of everything. I would recommend this to anyone interested in music or poetry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    We Should Embrace

    To say that Dylan doesn't care about his fans is a lie. You don't write an autobiography just to write one, you do it for the fans. He doesn't need any more money, he did this one for the fans. Everyone needs to take this book and embrace it if they haven't already. What you need to understand is that Dylan isn't some stupid punk bad boy who writes lyrics that don't make sense. He is a poet, and probably the greatest lyricist ever. He has given us a chance to take a look at his life. This book is his own account, and when the critics embrace a book as one of the Best of 2004 in over 15 different legitimate magazines and newspapers you know there is something special. That something special is the autobiography according to the artists' memory. We could pick at little pieces and say that it didn't happen, but you look at the big picture and take it all in. Imagine if Beethoven, Jim Hendrix, or Jerry Garcia would've done something like this. A man who will never be forgotten, a living legend who has just given us a piece of his life, a piece of history. This book really shows the genius behind the songs, shows the poet even when he's writing a paragraph. Bob Dylan didn't start out as a star when he entered New York, it would take more work than most imagine. Everyone and their brother ought to read Chronicles, Volume One by Bob Dylan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    The songs, and the life that went into them

    One of the things I liked best about Chronicles is Dylan's focus on songs and musicians, which after all have been the focus of his life. Songs are living things for him, they DO things, have personalities, and he is brilliant at describing what the music and songs do. I also appreciated his description of his mind when he was on the cusp of re-creating modern music, the sense that something new had to be imagined, and the simultaneous immersion in the craft of song- writing. Besides prodding my own desires to create, I want to hear the musicians he writes about - Robert Johnson, Odetta, Woody Guthrie, not just others' renditions. This book is elusive, yes. That's what I expect from artists, and like about them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    It's the journey, not the destination...

    This book truly is outstanding. Being a creative person, myself, I understand that Dylan does not feel the need to explain his songs to anyone. You either understand them or you don't. If they were all spelled out in plain english, they would lose all meaning. This book was an amazingly honest insight into Dylan's thoughts and feelings, which is what a memoir should be. He tells of his long journey from his small hometown to New York to New Orleans and everywhere in between. This book reads like one beautifully written song. He overlooks 'major' events and instead focuses on the images he remembers so vividly. His tale is an intriguing one, if that's what you are looking to get out of this book. This is not a book for those who narrow-mindedly search for the logical explanation behind the man and his songs. Highly recommended for those with a creative spirit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    Coming Clean

    After a lifetime of playing with the press, Bob Dylan has started to come clean. This book not only gives intererting inside info about the man and his music, but the writing is elegant and stylish. No mere auto bio here, he jumps around in different time periods in his life and still only gives some of what you might want to know. STill, it is intimate, engaging and a wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2004

    Essential reading for anyone interested in art and genius

    This man is unbelievable. His music; timeless and powerful with lyrics to blow away ANY other artist ever. A sense of melody, time and songwriting unparalled in the music world. His voice always changing causing every drop of emotion to be felt. His ability to constantly move forward and never stay in one place over the years. Needless to say, once you hear it you want to know all about this guy. What makes him tick? Well, this book is beautiful. His storytelling, attention to detail, his passion. All of these things and more shine through in this book. Get his Lyrics 1962-2001 book too for another look at this brilliant mind. This book is a must have, no questions asked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    Definitely a MUST HAVE & MUST READ & MUST LISTEN!

    Just from the excerpts I've seen so far (e.g., Newsweek, etc.), this is going to be a MUST HAVE & MUST READ & MUST LISTEN! Wow! This is almost better than the songs... Well, no, never, but still. I may have to get both the Vol. 1 book AND the Sean Penn audio. Checked at my local B&N today and they said come back Oct. 5th:-( I can't wait!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Boring Read, Worst Autobiography ever

    this AutobiographyIs The Worst I Have Ever Started To Read! It Was So Badly Written And Boring I Couldn't Even Finish Reading It. No Wonder He Hasn't Written Part Two Yet. I Love His Music So He Better Stick With Music Because His Writing Career Ain't Going Anywhere. Definitely Can't AndWon't Recommend This Book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Nettlewisker and raintalons den.

    Heyo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    books

    good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Just read it!

    Such freedom in writing! No other like him! An inspiration!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    Pure Dylan

    A fun to read book. Total nonsense, but then what would you expect? Bob Dylan telling the truth, baring his soul? Right!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Bob Dylan, the Folk writer

    The Bob Dylan Chronicles, the Autobiography/Biography of Bob Dylan's career as a musician. The writing of this book was about Bob Dylan's journey to becoming the success that he is today. Bob started off as a simple boy living with his family nothing much other then doing chores and being a normal kid. Ever since bob was a child his teachers would say that he was an artist. When Bob was old enough to live on his own he moved to New York City to start a new life in pursuit of his musical talent. This book describes the struggle from being nobody to the struggles of being an idol, with every movement carefully watched and judged. There were many messages and themes in this book, the majority of which were geared towards philosophical. The main message of the book is to continue to strive for your dreams, and the harder you try the closer you get to making that dream a reality. Things I liked about the book were when Bob would tell stories about the history of the time he was living in. Bob would describe what songs were being produced, who was popular, and then even political issues of the time. I didn¿t like how the book jumped around from time to time, it was hard to follow where things were, and Bob did go off on a lot of tangents. Someone should read this book if they are interested in music, and the history of Bob Dylan, the book describes how he came to be, and who is. I would recommend The Life of Bob Marley, Johnny Cash the Autobiography, and basically any other autobiography. My overall rating of this book would be a 7 out of 10, the book was pretty decent but it didn¿t really grab the reader well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2007

    Big and worth the effort

    Even though I'm a huge fan of Dylan, I'm no scholar, and I was a little worried when my wife brought this home that I would never read it. But it is a GREAT book to just read any time you want to sit down for a minute. You can open it at any spot and just start, it's so fascinating. And of course, Dylan the poet has a great style with language. Just a great book that I enjoy looking at every night before I go to sleep to dream about the days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    DYLAN SHOWS NO SHADOWS

    INCREDIBLE!! Thats the first thought that ran through my mind after the first couple chapters. Its poignant and a great piece of history as well as a bio. Going through certain parts of his life and mentioning James Dean, Brando, Tom Petty, even Public Enemy make his story just that much more interesting. Because in the end, isn't music for everyone? From the poor to the rich, to the losers and to the icons. Even if you're not familiar with his music, the history and storytelling is sufficient enough for any reader to imagine Dylan sitting at a campfire round midnight just talking to you. (and no one else)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Where lies the truth?

    Will the real Bob Dylan please stand up! This man claims that when he played with Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers he couldn't remember the lines to his own songs because he wasn't into his old music/lyrics any longer. Come on Bobby, you were stoned. Dylan skipped and jumped over major portions of his life. He did do a lot of name dropping, I'll give him that. Maybe he'll write Bob Dylan Chronicles: Volume II, the REAL story

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2005

    The audio book narration was terrible

    I use audio books, and this audio book only comes abridged (YUCK), and is narrated by Sean Penn. I've listened to maybe 50 to 75 audio books over the last couple of years and I haven't heard a narrator as bad as Sean Penn. Thank goodness I did not buy this audiobook. The actual story is ok, though Dylan is still playing tricks with us, and I'm tired of tricks. He seems to not like us fans, and that's too bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2004

    Bob continues to be elusive!

    I found the book not to be very forthcoming. He would begin to give background, and in the next sentence ramble along. He did this throughout the book; causing me to quit caring about his personal journey. I hoped for more background on his family life and how he became the wonderfully talented songwriter. Instead he told of who he hung out with and where he stayed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3