Customer Reviews for

The Chronicles of Narnia (Boxed Set) (Collector's Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 616 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(454)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

More than just magic!

The Chronicles of Narnia set are what dreams are made of. The Witch, The Wardrobe, The Lion is a longing journey to our imagination. The writing of Narnia is fantastic. The characters and creatures are the best to be found. But the real magic comes when not only the tim...
The Chronicles of Narnia set are what dreams are made of. The Witch, The Wardrobe, The Lion is a longing journey to our imagination. The writing of Narnia is fantastic. The characters and creatures are the best to be found. But the real magic comes when not only the time you find these books to be your inner fantasy world to bloom, but that of your children. From day one I have been enthralled by the magic of Narnia. But the real magic happened to me when I saw my son reading Narnia to himself in his room. Hours passed, he continued 'till he fell to sleep. The following day when he came home from school he resumed reading from which he left. For three days my son continued through the first book to it's end. My little boy never before showed any interest in reading before, especially since the time he suffered a serious illness when he was young. The magic of Narnia has done more than I could have dreamed for my little boy. Thank you.

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Boxed set can be confusing

The "Narnia" stories themselves are wonderful, of course. The major problem with the set is that the books are numbered to correspond with the chronological order in which the stories are set -- rather than the chronological order in which Lewis wrote them. Narnia begin...
The "Narnia" stories themselves are wonderful, of course. The major problem with the set is that the books are numbered to correspond with the chronological order in which the stories are set -- rather than the chronological order in which Lewis wrote them. Narnia beginners will find this confusing. The excellent illustrations are the originals but have been more recently colored by the original artist.

posted by Anonymous on December 23, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 616 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    Boxed set can be confusing

    The "Narnia" stories themselves are wonderful, of course. The major problem with the set is that the books are numbered to correspond with the chronological order in which the stories are set -- rather than the chronological order in which Lewis wrote them. Narnia beginners will find this confusing. The excellent illustrations are the originals but have been more recently colored by the original artist.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    More than just magic!

    The Chronicles of Narnia set are what dreams are made of. The Witch, The Wardrobe, The Lion is a longing journey to our imagination. The writing of Narnia is fantastic. The characters and creatures are the best to be found. But the real magic comes when not only the time you find these books to be your inner fantasy world to bloom, but that of your children. From day one I have been enthralled by the magic of Narnia. But the real magic happened to me when I saw my son reading Narnia to himself in his room. Hours passed, he continued 'till he fell to sleep. The following day when he came home from school he resumed reading from which he left. For three days my son continued through the first book to it's end. My little boy never before showed any interest in reading before, especially since the time he suffered a serious illness when he was young. The magic of Narnia has done more than I could have dreamed for my little boy. Thank you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    Nothing against the books themselves...they are wonderful stories, but be forewarned that each book in this set has a yellow seal in the corner that says 'By the author of The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. Now a major motion picture.' TACKY.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great purchase!

    I think this may just be the best value I've ever gotten for my money when it comes to a book/CD/DVD purchase. These audio dramas are magnificently done. This is much more than just a narration or reading of the book. It really comes alive. In fact, I much prefer these audio dramas to the recent movies! If you are a fan of the Chronicles of Narnia do not pass up the opportunity to own these magnificent dramas. I would also strongly recommend these to fans of the Adventures in Odyssey radio dramas.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    Powerful and moving

    These books will shake your world and move you to the core of your being. Lewis' interpretation of heaven in 'The Last Battle' is truly inspired... you can feel God talking to you through Lewis. I'm not trying to turn anyone off by sounding like a religious nut, but these books have profoundly influenced my faith and given me hope and courage (of which I need all that I can get as a 19-year- old living in Southern California). If you aren't looking for a spiritual message (which I wasn't when I started reading them), these books are still full of action, adventure, and Lewis' great sense of humor. Recommended for all ages!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    Better in the Original Order

    These classics will stand the test of time, but seem to be better read in the original order, with 'Lion, Witch, Wardrobe' coming first... I'm not sure why they changed it (or who changed it.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    The most astounding books I've ever read.

    Few books have really inspired me, but that would seem odd by the looks of me. I'm only 14, but I'm totally hooked on reading. Just 2 days ago I finished this series of books, and I have been wanting to write my own novel since I was 5 or 6, but absolutely nothing really made me think about it, and now I do. I read the first book, The Magician's Nephew, about a year ago but I never really took much interest in it. I think you have to be a bit older and more mature to fully appreciate the quality of these books. Like a good movie, only better, these books will make you laugh, cry, and altogether just wish you could be in Narnia too. Who could ask for more?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Wonderful!

    I really wanted to find a hardback collection but couldn't find any without the pictures from the movie on them. I bought this set, a little hesitant, but I couldn't be happier with it. The books are well-made and the illustrations are really nice.

    The stories, of course, are just lovely.

    HIghly recommend!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First off, this box set is much smaller than you think. I rememb

    First off, this box set is much smaller than you think. I remember
    reading a few books in the series when I was younger, so I decided to
    get this. The books are great, and they look amazing. There's no 'yellow
    seal' as the other reviewer said, and the box looks beautiful. The
    series is excellent and leaves nothing to be said. You just have to read
    it yourself to enjoy it. Each book is short, however, and can be
    finished within a day. However that doesnt take away from how good the
    series is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible Box Set!

    I loved this boxed set. I have read these book many times over the years and I am a collector of books. I had purchased the leather bound edition of these book at a local Barnes and Noble store because on the webiste it had said full-color illustrations, but they were black and white. They also only had illustrations on the chapter pages. I believe they have since changed the description online. I was disappointed. This is the only full-color edition I could find. I always prefer hardcover when I can get them but there were no hardcover, full-color editions I could find. So for paperback these exeeded my expectations. The pages are thick and glossy and it includes all original illustrations in full color. It is amazing!! I love it. The kids won't be allowed to touch this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Best in it's class and best of all Narnia Sets

    This is the first set available with full color pictures. You should get this set instead of the black and white set. Each book is spellbinding fast and easy reading. This comes only from C. S. Lewis's superior writing skills. The books are for all age groups. One adventure leads to another and you cannot put the book down. There is a moral to each story with a parallel to the Bible. As an author myself, Charles P. Pierce The Time of Christ's Return Revealed--Revised Edition, I am envious of C. S. Lewis's writing ability.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    A classic tale.

    Timeless. These 7 books are so consistent with each other that you can read them as a whole. You can enjoy them at 14 or 84. It is a fairy tale for all ages. I have had my set for years and will pass them on to my children. When I was young the Chronicles of Narnia inspired me to read more books. They are easy to understand and entertain as well as teaching life lessons. Definitely one of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    All Time Favorite

    This is a series you can read over and over throughout life. I read these books to my daughters when they were little, enjoying it more than they did, I think! Now I have the set for my grandchildren and will read it to them. This wonderful story of good and evil never goes out of style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    I am currently listening to this with my family and it is a wonderful performance of a much loved series. In my childhood these stories were very dear to me and reread many times. Now they are brought to life in this wonderful dramatazation! I reccommend this to everyone to listen and enjoy with your children!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    Wonderful

    C.S. Lewis is an amazing person. It takes a great mind to be able to creat books like these. They are wonderful, and get hooked easily. You can also learn a thing or two from these, and I love them. I read them over and ever, because they never get old. I LOVE THESE BOOKS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2002

    Classic--one of the best!

    The Chronicles of Narnia does always get the attention it deserves, yet these loveable stories have been a source of delight for millions. Whenever my students are looking for something to read (and they're interested in Harry Potter), I suggest they take a look at The Chronicles of Narnia. My all time favorite in the series is The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. Another new series that I've just discovered (and had the privilege of pre-reading) are Robert Stanek's Keeper Martin's Tales (The Kingdoms & The Elves Of The Reaches Book I, The Kingdoms & The Elves Of The Reaches Book II) and Ruin Mist Tales (The Elf Queen & The King Book I, The Elf Queen & The King Book II). I compare these books favorably to Narnia in every way! Keep reading, keeping learning, keep growing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Enjoyable reading for kids of all ages

    Stories are not new, but new to me. Good reading, with interesting deeper meaning.
    Grandkids got me reading the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Great for kids and adults!

    Since I was grade school, I have loved the fantasy series of The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. Now that I am in my late 20s, I still can't get enough of the amazing imagery in some of these books. I took the leap and purchased The Chronicles of Narnia boxed set when I needed books to use as an escape from my usual books and take me to somewhere out of this world. Lewis's writing is familiar and detailed and the illustrations of this set are simple but beautiful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Cannot recommend these books highly enough - you must get them!

    These seven books in the set are suitable for both adults and children. I first read them while in college and owned them at that time. Realized later that I no longer had them and wanted to re-read all of them so I bought the series again. I have the DVD of the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. Love this series. Many lessons to be learned by both adults and children. It is fantasy at its very best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    great book!

    great book!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 616 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31