Customer Reviews for

Chronicles of the Black Company

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Best Series I've read in years

    Exciting, engaging, gritty, and funny. I really enjoyed the camaraderie of the Company, the villainous employers, the magic that is flash and bang, and subtlety, it seems more real and natural. Magic is something powerful and rare and strange here, like in GRRM's Song of Ice and Fire series, or the Lord of the Rings. Not overused.
    I've already got the next volume bought. Definitely recommended for fans of adult fantasy (not erotica haha), or war fiction.

    Sidenote: don't be off-put by the strange names. Most people in this world go by a moniker, knowing someone's real name gives you power over them. Or in the Company's case, they give up their old name and associations to become part of the Company, and their past is dead.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    Interesting

    An interesting look at what Vietnam would be like with spells and flying whales instead of mortars and helicopters. I joke, but I do not intend to mislead, the moral ambiguity found in the story coupled with a lot of the tactics used by the Company is reminiscent of what many think Vietnam was like. Lots of misdirection and ambushes while minimizing full blown conflict. The characters aren't heroes by any stretch of the imagination, the narrator, Croaker, passes no judgment on his evil overlord, The Lady, let alone the acts of rape and pillaging that members of the Company take while in the conflict. Its refreshing to find a fantasy book that has humans as characters instead of moral extremes of angelic do-gooder and soulless villain.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    Amazing book for people of all ages

    I found this book In a library in the mall it didn't really catch my attention at first but i thought eh why not try something different. I'm glad i did because this book was an awsome read it kept my attention through most of the book there were only a few parts that i had to force through but each time i was glad i did. 2 thumbs up good job

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Absolutely Fantastic

    Gritty is an understatement; this story dumps you head first into the blood, snot, stink and filth of battle and war. It's action understated, subtle magic, and all out sensual. Read it slow, follow the story; you can't breeze through these books for entertainment, you'll not enjoy them. One of my top rated series of all times, easily. In my opinion the subtletly of the plot, the realism, the characterization and even the choppy writing make the 1st 3 Black Company books some of the most enjoyable and fantasitic books in the Fantasy field. Head and shoulders above most of the trash we're buried in now; worlds past the hack and slash and hum-drum contrived routine of Terry Brooks, Raymond Feist, Jim Butcher (gag), R.A. Salvatore, Terry Goodkind (yea, his male centric ego driven self fantasies get really old so he can join on the crud bus with the rest of these hacks)and the gaggle of other crummy writers that pollute the book shelves. Glen Cook's Black company belongs with Tolkien, Erickson, Donaldson, Hobb, Martin and Herbert's Dune.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    reprint of an military fantasy saga

    ¿The Black Company¿. The Black Company is a troop of mercenaries who know the risks they take on all their missions especially whenever they inter one of their comrades, which is frequent. They exclusively serve the great malevolent sorceress Lady. However, their assignment has changed as rumors abound of the rebirth of the good White Rose they must kill this possible reincarnation of a long dead savior before the Prophesy takes affect, but first they must find her while also slaughtering those who protect her. ¿Shadows Linger¿. The Black Company still works for the evil Lady as honor means adhering to their contract with her even when many of these soldiers know they fight for the wrong side. They prepare for the latest skirmish with the rabble and those they assume are false prophesy followers allegedly defending the White Rose. However, a twist of fate has occurred as the Black Company rescue a mute girl who brings with her the light of goodness she is the White Rose. ¿The White Rose¿. The Black Company has changed sides now that they have met the White Rose. On the Plains of Fear they prepare to battle their former employer the immoral Lady. However, once again fate takes a spin when the most lethal vilest creature ever known, the Dominator is reborn. This omnibus collection of the three 1980s Black Company military fantasy saga will please fans of Glen Cook as these are well written exciting tales that were one of the first (if not the premier) series to use real war horrors and atrocities inside a fantasy thriller. Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Proof that chivalry is no longer dead, having been necromantically resurrected

    This book will make boys into men, girls into women, and holy practitioners of faith into gibbering lunatics. Your epicness will increase 400% by simply holding this book. If you rest it you will become a demigod.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    One of the best fantasy series I've ever read!

    I was first introduced to Croaker, the Lady, One-Eye, Goblin, and the rest of the Black Company back in high school, and in the more than 30 years since, I've never found a series of books that even comes close. Glen Cook is a master story-teller with a true gift for creating believable characters, dialog that just rings true, and a richly detailed and history-filled world! I've read the entire series at least 3 times, and every time, it's like reading it for the first time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Fantasy, only twisted

    Tis book is an excellent twist on the classic fantasy setting, combining some of the most fantastic of happenings with excellent humor. Duty and Honor to the ocntract war with the morality of right and wrong. This book wakes you up and keep syou on the edge of your seat the entire ride.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Rules

    These books r so good. I credit them with making the whole two or three person "crew" not an obligation...and all the characters r really interesting.as is the concept. And the writing style. It was a sad day when i finished the final one...this entire series is easily in my top 5
    Love Cook's style with his fantasy. Not so much as far as sci fi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Great read

    Glen Cook has done a great job not only with the chronicles of the black compamy but the entire series as well. I have all the the books in the series and they do not dissapoint. They are well writen and full of depth. I also love how the story takes place over many years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Phenomenal, except the Technology

    I love this series. Completely. Without a doubt. The highs and lows and middle. The feel of it being an actual documentary of the Company. Unfortunately, my Nook has decided that this won't load, probably due to its size. I wish the store would fix this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Get through it

    The writting is a bit choppy and the story teller rushes some parts and drags on others, but you learn to love the way the story is told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Must read list item

    If you have not read this series you are sooo missing out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    This is the first three books together. Still reading it and enj

    This is the first three books together. Still reading it and enjoying the books very much. I bought the eBook version which comes without DRM, so I can read it with any reader (not just the B&N reader). Very handy, wish more books were DRM free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Confusing at first then....

    Friend highly recommended this book to me and I had my doubts. Got to the end of the first book and it got amazing. Author was finding his writing style. Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Fantastic Read

    I loved this book. For ten dollars you get close to 2000 pages! Its actually the first three books in one volume which was fine for awhile. By page 1580 or so my nook reader would crash every 20 pages or so. Which is really frustrating when you are trying to read the conclusion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly recommended-Very well written book, Good buy.

    Amazing action an twists and turns keep you reading. Book for intelligent people with a strong vocabulary though, so keep a dictionary near by. or use the one on your nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended for those looking for a change.

    My experience with this book was bittersweet. While enjoying the story as a whole, there were definite moments of displeasure. It took a while to adjust to the authors writing style, and character detail was not as deep as I had hoped it would be. The story itself was definitely original and enjoyable, but it just didn't have that special "spark" I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    Awesome

    Out of every book I have ever read, this is my favorite. It has everything you could ever want in a book, and besides that it is well written. The characters are well developed and the plot is fantastic. I would recomend this book and all of his others to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Blah

    I don't know why these Black Company books are so popular? The writing is choppy, the characters are very superficial, the military background is undeveloped. I thought the first three books were weak, and disappointing. The story never fills out or fills in. I guess if I was 15 I might find them cool, but I'm not and the books are not either. Save your time.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4