Customer Reviews for

Chronological Life Application Study Bible NLT

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I have just recently acquired the hardcopy version of Chronologi

I have just recently acquired the hardcopy version of Chronological Life Application Study Bible. The wonderful illustrations are always a bonus, but this Bible has sooooo many tools to help you better understand the times written about! There is a timeline on every pag...
I have just recently acquired the hardcopy version of Chronological Life Application Study Bible. The wonderful illustrations are always a bonus, but this Bible has sooooo many tools to help you better understand the times written about! There is a timeline on every page, along with foot notes, profiles, archaeological notes, maps, comparisons (for instance, between the four gospels), and so many other tools to help in the understanding of the time and culture, which brings understanding of what is written. I can not say enough about how great this Bible is! It is truly a great resource for those interested in a deeper, broader understanding of Biblical times!

posted by Ravenous20_Reader-13 on December 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Only old testament in chronological order; why not the new testa

Only old testament in chronological order; why not the new testament also? That's the only reason I didn't buy it.

posted by Anonymous on March 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    I have just recently acquired the hardcopy version of Chronologi

    I have just recently acquired the hardcopy version of Chronological Life Application Study Bible. The wonderful illustrations are always a bonus, but this Bible has sooooo many tools to help you better understand the times written about! There is a timeline on every page, along with foot notes, profiles, archaeological notes, maps, comparisons (for instance, between the four gospels), and so many other tools to help in the understanding of the time and culture, which brings understanding of what is written. I can not say enough about how great this Bible is! It is truly a great resource for those interested in a deeper, broader understanding of Biblical times!

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The NLT is a good easy to understand translation. The illustrat

    The NLT is a good easy to understand translation. The illustrations and study helps are a bonus. The only problem I can find with this bible is the issue with all chronological bibles- they are out of biblical sequence in chronological order. This makes the bible useless for traditional study and more like a history book. I really wish this could have all the features but have kept the traditional bible order format. I am hoping Tyndale will publish a similar bible with thetraditional order.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Bible - Not Compatible with iPad

    The Bible is phenomenal! The set up and additional information is great. I just wish that they would get it formatted for iPad!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Would not buy

    This book is so hard to understand the chapter are not altogether would not buy

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Only old testament in chronological order; why not the new testa

    Only old testament in chronological order; why not the new testament also? That's the only reason I didn't buy it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    How does this Bible stack up against other study Bibles that I¿v

    How does this Bible stack up against other study Bibles that I’ve used before? After spending some time using it, there were 3 major things I liked about it and 4 annoyances. First the things I liked…

    1. The biggest selling point of this Bible is that it is arranged chronologically, not in the traditional canonical order. For example, Job is placed between Genesis and Exodus. The Psalms are interspersed with David’s life in 1 and 2 Samuel. Samuel and Kings are interwoven with parallel passages in Chronicles. The four gospels are interwoven, making it easy to compare each gospel writer’s account of each story. The epistles are inserted in the appropriate places in Acts. This makes for a really refreshing approach to take on the scriptures.

    2. As far as study helps go, this Bible has everything including the kitchen sink: hundreds of pages of topical indexes and concordances, color photographs of places/paintings/parchments/etc, character profiles for the major biblical figures, period/book/sectional explanations, and a running timeline along the top of the pages to give you a sense of where the particular biblical story falls in history. Being ADD, I found all of these things to be exciting and more than a little overwhelming, but if you are looking to supplement and enrich what you’re reading, this Bible will help you do it.

    3. Notes… So many notes… Almost every single verse is unpacked in an easy to understand way at the bottom of the page. In fact, on many pages, there was more note text than verse text on the paper. I am excited to dive into more of these notes when I get to the bothersome and perplexing corners of the Old Testament in my Bible reading next year.

    Now the annoyances…

    1. Tyndale has only released this Bible in the KJV and NLT, neither of which are among my favorite translations for personal study (I would love to see this same Bible, but in an ESV, NASB, or HCSB version).

    2. This thing is a brick. It is significantly heavier than all my other Bibles. It’s not exactly easy to read in bed or on the bus. By the end of the year, I am going to have serious biceps from picking this thing up!

    3. The chronological arrangement becomes an irritating slowdown if you are trying to find a particular passage. Yes, it has a canonical table of contents in the beginning, but it’s not a Bible that’s useful when you want to be able to find passages fast.

    4. There is no outline/plan to read through this Bible in a year! Seriously! Hundreds and hundreds of pages of special features and you can’t spare 4 or 5 of them to make the Bible usable for the person that wants to take on a one-year chronological read through? What other way would people read this Bible? I guess I’ll just read a few chapters every day and hope I reach the end on time…

    All in all, I think that I will like the CLASB for my devotional reading, but I think it will take a little getting used to a few of it’s eccentricities. Check it out! Whether you pick up the CLASB or any other Bible in the near future, I would encourage you to take on the Bible-in-a-year challenge. 2013 was the first time in my life that I ever attempted it, and it was an extremely rewarding and growing experience. Happy Bible reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This Bible is colorful, insightful, and inspiring. The abundance

    This Bible is colorful, insightful, and inspiring. The abundance of info on each page may appear overwhelming at first glance, but the introduction is helpful, and the vast supply of information is satiating and valuable.
























    Reading the Bible in chronological order gives me a new perspective on many passages. I love having additional information at my fingertips, rather than having to Google search--which can distract from my study flow.
























    I can't think of a single reason not to purchase this KJV Study Bible. I recommend it for anyone wanting to supplement their usual studies and/or devotion time.
























    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a Review Copy from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    ¿A refreshing way to experience God¿s story; a trusted way to



    “A refreshing way to experience God’s story; a trusted way to apply it to your life.”


    I L-O-V-E this bible!! I have a ton of bibles of all sorts and this one is by far one of my most favorites!! I have never read a chronological bible, but it is a new, amazing, and refreshing way to read the bible. I would recommend this bible to someone that is already quite familiar with the bible. Keep in mind that if you are a new student of the bible, this is in chronological order, so the books in the bible do not present them self the way they would in a traditional bible.


    This bible explains God's story in a new, insightful way--in chronological order (as best man can). I'm a very visual person, so the beautiful pictures, maps, and time lines, helped me understand the bible in a very new and different light.


    The charts are so helpful in finding what you want to study. It contains all the gospel stories--for example: Jesus' miracles performed, where they are found, which gospel, and how many of the gospels tell the same story. I loved reading Matthew's account of one event, and then jumping right in to hear John, Mark and Luke's version of the same event--without having to search!! Reading the Easter story as a whole, in chronological order with all 4 gospel accounts was beautiful! It was also quite neat to read David's Psalms while he was going through his turbulent times. Although, I have not finished reading it, my understanding of the bible and the time of our Lord's time on Earth, has had a whole new meaning and understanding.


    To make this bible even better than it already is--is the study portion. It goes into further discussion on the majority of the verses in the bible, helping us understand the context, wording, and customs of biblical days. The colorful photographs, archaeological notes, maps, and time lines help bring God's Word to life like I have never imagined--a whole new understanding!. It is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!


    This is a beautiful, stunning bible! I'm in love!


    Here are the great, fun features of this bible:


    •Section Introductions—Background information help you get the big picture of biblical history

    •Chronological Format—Read God's story in the order it happened

    •Parallel Passage Indicator—Shows you when there are multiple perspectives of a single story

    •Running Timeline—Notes key biblical and world events in the margin

    •Full-color Maps, Photos, & Illustrations—Unique presentation of biblical history and content

    •Life Application Notes—Learn how to apply the Word to your life with the most trusted application notes available today

    •Archaeological Discoveries—Brings you closer to the world of the Bible with engaging insights

    •Christian Worker's Resources—Sharing the faith with others

    •The Bible Book-By-Book—Introductions and outlines to each of the books of the Bible

    •NLT Dictionary/Concordance

    •Master index to all study notes, chart, map, personality profile, or archaeology notes

    •Presentation page

    •8.5-point text size

    •9.50" x 6.75" x 2.00"


    Check out this very cool website for more info!! CHRONO BIBLE


    Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this bible in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    I LOVE this study Bible!! I did not have a study Bible, and I su

    I LOVE this study Bible!! I did not have a study Bible, and I sure didn't know what I was missing! This Chronological Life Application Study Bible published by Tyndale is a wonderful new addition to our Bible study materials! 




    Some of the wonderful things about it ~~ Chronological ~~ so cool to have the passages arranged as they occurred in history. Last year the kids and I started studying ancient history and WOW! it was amazing to see the Scripture in its historical context -- made some of the passages so much more easily understandable and just clearer! With this layout of the Bible, it's easier to connect those historical dots. There is also a table in the front of this edition that lists the canonical table of contents (the "regular" way that the Bible is arranged, book by book) and shows the pages that they can be found in this edition. 




    The study part of this Bible is multi-faceted. There's a timeline that runs along the upper margin of each page, showing which era in history the section of the Scripture that you're looking at falls into. There are maps and explanations, drawings along with other explanations, introductions, titles, little historical facts (for example on p. 1111 in the Ezekiel section, the sidenote says that in 585 BC the Greek astronomer Thales predicts and eclipse). There are outlines, summaries, . . .I just cannot give a full explanation of all the study helps available in this! You can see some more detail on the website for this Bible, found HERE.




    I definitely recommend this Study Bible. I know that it will be a great help in our family's Bible studies this year and in the future!




    I am so thankful to have received a copy of this Bible for the purpose of this review. I was not required to write a positive review, but I really like this study Bible! Get one and use it yourself!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    I've read the bible in it's entirety, cover to cover, but really

    I've read the bible in it's entirety, cover to cover, but really wanted to dig into the word chronologically. Hearing the stories unfold as they were being told. I've been looking for the right bible to do this and came across this one to review and jumped at the opportunity. I am not disappointed.

    This book is not just the bible. It's everything you need to learn about God, to absorb, and to grow closer to God. All in one.

    In today's society, we struggle to not only find time to sit and read the Bible daily but also have a tough time relating to the historical words in our day to day lives. This Application Bible helps us apply God's Word to today, to our own lives.

    It contains all 66 books of the Bible, divided into 10 eras of biblical history. The books are intermingled to show how the stories actually unfold. Chronologically. Using this will allow you to understand the larger story we often miss, reading the bible in the way it's formatted now. Putting letters, prophets etc together.

    Features of the Chronological Life Application Study Bible

    Chronological Header System
    Which will allow you to know where you are in the story of the Bible

    Outline
    Has a custom made outline designed specifically from an application point of view

    Notes
    Offers several explanatory notes that helps you understand culture, context, history, difficult to understand passages, background, places and relationship of various passages

    Maps
    This bible has more maps than any other. A thorough Bible atlas built in to each Bible section

    Illustrated Verses
    Photos appear throughout the bible illustrating important verses

    Section Introductions
    This includes- Overview, Timeline, People and Culture, Books in this Section, Article, Megathemes, and Map

    Timeline
    There are three types of timelines. Master Timeline, Detailed Timeline, Running Timeline

    Archaeological Notes
    Features full color images and highlight places, discoveries, historical artifacts that put the Bible into real historical context

    Charts and Diagrams
    Helps readers better visualize difficult concepts or relationships

    Personality Profiles
    Collection of profiles of Bible people. Their strengths, weaknesses, greatest accomplishments, mistakes and key lessons from their lives

    All I can say is WOW! I've never come across any Bible with this much information, beautiful illustrations, easy to understand format, jam-packed with everything I need to better understand the Bible in chronological order. I'm looking forward to reading this cover to cover in 2014.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The New Living Translation has been my Bible of choice for years

    The New Living Translation has been my Bible of choice for years. I love the way it translates each verse in such a way that is very easy to understand for everyone from novices to the most seasoned Bible readers. When I was given the chance to review this particular Bible I jumped at it and I'm glad I did. I would like to share some of the features I think are outstanding in this Bible.

    Special Features:

    Life Application Notes: The best feature in this Bible, for me, is the Life Application Notes. Each page has several Scriptures displayed at the top and below the original Scriptures is a section explaining the Scripture in detail. I have learn a lot I previously didn't fully understand through this feature.

    Running Timeline: The dates for key events are displayed in the outer margin of the pages. If you have trouble remembering dates like I do, you'll love this feature.

    Full Color Maps, Photos and Illustrations: Throughout the pages you'll find full color images with facts and information describing key things such as Threshing Grain, Trumpet, Millstone and Roman Whips and Scourges. There's no need for a dictionary or encyclopedia because it's all right there on the page.

    Parallel Passage Indicator: Each time you move into a new section / story it has a new header indicating the beginning and it shows when that particular section / story ends. This is a great feature letting you know exactly which verses are apart of the story you are currently reading.

    Master Index: When you look up a particular subject or person in the Bible it shows the page number for each key Scripture, chart, map, personality profile and archaeology note. For example, if you look up Aaron you will see the following:

    Aaron
    his ordination......................................... Lv 8:1ff............... 210
    his role as a high priest.......................... Lv 8:12............... 211
    criticized Moses for wrong reason......... Nm 12:1(2)......... 249
    his death................................................. Nm 20:28.......... 263
    MAP: Moses Returns to Egypt.......................................... 146
    PROFILE: Aaron (in Ex)...................................................... 184
    INTRODUCTION: Aaron.................................................... 136


    These are only a few of the features included in this Bible. There are others that you will find just as helpful. I was thrilled with this Bible as a whole. The very first page I read I learned, what I consider, a key fact that I had never realized before in my studies. It is full of information and key facts that will enhance anyone's Bible study. The Life Application Notes are my favorite part and a key feature when studying the Bible, in my own person opinion. I first came across this feature in another Bible but it wasn't my preferred version (NLT) so I was thrilled to find it in this one but this one has so much more. If you want a Bible to aid in an extensive study of the Scriptures this is the Bible for you. I will be recommending it to everyone I know as a complete all-in-one study Bible.

    Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for my true and honest review. These opinions are mine and mine alone and I was in no way compensated for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Uttyyiv

    Tuughggukcb mtu yufjruryfjcn .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1