Customer Reviews for

The Chronological Study Bible (NKJV)

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A good addition to anyone who loves the bible.

Can you imagine reading through a book of American History that was out of order? Let's say the narrative started with man stepping on the moon, then moved to the war of 1812, then to the Great Depression, then the signing of The Declaration of Independence and next to...
Can you imagine reading through a book of American History that was out of order? Let's say the narrative started with man stepping on the moon, then moved to the war of 1812, then to the Great Depression, then the signing of The Declaration of Independence and next to the War Between the States, finally ending with the Golden Era of Industry beginning in the 1900's. You would indeed have individual stories of historical fact about America and Americans, but it would be difficult to fully see the grand picture of the historical timeline of the USA. The bible most of us read and study from everyday is much the same way. Each book is truth and points to The Truth but, many times the narrative timeline is out of order.

The Chronological Bible does much to alleviate the problem. The editors carefully attempt at move books, chapters and verses of scripture from their canonical location to a location in the narrative that best reflects the historical order of the story of the bible, God and Jesus.
You will not notice much difference in order from Genesis to Ruth, but moving through the story on Israel¿s first monarch Saul and picking up the life of a future king David, you will see a surprising and remarkable change. The four gospels and Acts are no longer five separate books, but a written story of the life and incarnation of Jesus and the founding of the Christian Church. The voices of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John are clear, but they are interwoven into a chorus of story tellers. The editors become concerned with placing scripture in an historical order of timeline. The publisher makes it clear in the introduction that the order as chosen by the editors is not without mistakes, but in my view, the scholars did a pretty good job.

I like this bible. As a matter of fact, I wish I had owned one many years ago. This presentation allows the story of the bible to flow in a narrative form that will remind you of a novel. During my time of reviewing a copy, I took the Chronological Bible with me almost everywhere and showed it to many people. Each one that looked at the book and allowed me to show them ¿how¿ it worked had one statement, ¿I gotta have one¿.

With the positives I found, I do want to point out a few weaknesses the format has. I do not like the onion skin thin paper the book is printed on. I know this is normal paper for the bible industry, but it is too thin to take the abuse I give to my study bibles. I want thick paper that can stand a hand written note with a colored Sharpie, but alas, this may be a dream I will never experience in any bible. I liked the ghosted illustrations in the text, but the illustrations themselves reminded me of the flannel graph figures of my childhood-cheesy vs realistic. The binding is hardcover, but I don¿t know if it can hold up to traveling in my backpack from bedside, to car floor, to coffee shop, to computer bag, to airport, to office desk and back again.

It is a bible I believe all readers of The Book will enjoy. I also feel you will see and experience the greatness of the story in a new and maybe even miraculous way.

posted by Jimmy_C on December 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Chronological Study Bible

This is my very favorite hard copy Bible, but this ebook form is frustrating and virtually impossible to navigate. Scripture location is not identified and trying to locate a passage is extremely time-consuming and difficult. The "Scripture Passage" indext is nearly us...
This is my very favorite hard copy Bible, but this ebook form is frustrating and virtually impossible to navigate. Scripture location is not identified and trying to locate a passage is extremely time-consuming and difficult. The "Scripture Passage" indext is nearly useless as you must turn page by page through the entire index to locate anything. Then, it is so "touchy", it take multiple attempts to access anything. If just reading through, thisis still a wonderful Bible, but trying to use it for study is horrific and I feel I wasted my money. I hope there are improvements and updates coming very soon! It is also extremely frustrating to use the footnotes and passage referrences, as going from the "read" to the study "tools" makes it nearly impossible to return to the passage being read. Reading the hard copy rakes some patience and skill, but this is the most disappointing and frustrating of all my purchases.

posted by 6637594 on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    A good addition to anyone who loves the bible.

    Can you imagine reading through a book of American History that was out of order? Let's say the narrative started with man stepping on the moon, then moved to the war of 1812, then to the Great Depression, then the signing of The Declaration of Independence and next to the War Between the States, finally ending with the Golden Era of Industry beginning in the 1900's. You would indeed have individual stories of historical fact about America and Americans, but it would be difficult to fully see the grand picture of the historical timeline of the USA. The bible most of us read and study from everyday is much the same way. Each book is truth and points to The Truth but, many times the narrative timeline is out of order. <BR/><BR/>The Chronological Bible does much to alleviate the problem. The editors carefully attempt at move books, chapters and verses of scripture from their canonical location to a location in the narrative that best reflects the historical order of the story of the bible, God and Jesus.<BR/>You will not notice much difference in order from Genesis to Ruth, but moving through the story on Israel¿s first monarch Saul and picking up the life of a future king David, you will see a surprising and remarkable change. The four gospels and Acts are no longer five separate books, but a written story of the life and incarnation of Jesus and the founding of the Christian Church. The voices of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John are clear, but they are interwoven into a chorus of story tellers. The editors become concerned with placing scripture in an historical order of timeline. The publisher makes it clear in the introduction that the order as chosen by the editors is not without mistakes, but in my view, the scholars did a pretty good job.<BR/><BR/>I like this bible. As a matter of fact, I wish I had owned one many years ago. This presentation allows the story of the bible to flow in a narrative form that will remind you of a novel. During my time of reviewing a copy, I took the Chronological Bible with me almost everywhere and showed it to many people. Each one that looked at the book and allowed me to show them ¿how¿ it worked had one statement, ¿I gotta have one¿.<BR/><BR/>With the positives I found, I do want to point out a few weaknesses the format has. I do not like the onion skin thin paper the book is printed on. I know this is normal paper for the bible industry, but it is too thin to take the abuse I give to my study bibles. I want thick paper that can stand a hand written note with a colored Sharpie, but alas, this may be a dream I will never experience in any bible. I liked the ghosted illustrations in the text, but the illustrations themselves reminded me of the flannel graph figures of my childhood-cheesy vs realistic. The binding is hardcover, but I don¿t know if it can hold up to traveling in my backpack from bedside, to car floor, to coffee shop, to computer bag, to airport, to office desk and back again. <BR/><BR/>It is a bible I believe all readers of The Book will enjoy. I also feel you will see and experience the greatness of the story in a new and maybe even miraculous way.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Chronological Study Bible

    This is my very favorite hard copy Bible, but this ebook form is frustrating and virtually impossible to navigate. Scripture location is not identified and trying to locate a passage is extremely time-consuming and difficult. The "Scripture Passage" indext is nearly useless as you must turn page by page through the entire index to locate anything. Then, it is so "touchy", it take multiple attempts to access anything. If just reading through, thisis still a wonderful Bible, but trying to use it for study is horrific and I feel I wasted my money. I hope there are improvements and updates coming very soon! It is also extremely frustrating to use the footnotes and passage referrences, as going from the "read" to the study "tools" makes it nearly impossible to return to the passage being read. Reading the hard copy rakes some patience and skill, but this is the most disappointing and frustrating of all my purchases.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    How It Should Have Been Written All Along

    This is a beautiful master version of one of the world's favorite books, complete with numerous illustrations, sidebars, and a convenient timeline header to help the reader fully absorb the material as it should have been gathered and written in the first place. For readers hoping to delve into the biblical world, this book, in addition to the Archaeological Study Bible, is a must.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    It's About Time For This Book

    If it wasn¿t sad enough that I looked forward to getting my mail every day in anticipation of receiving the Thomas Nelson Chronological Bible, it was down-right pathetic that I stood in the parking lot like a five-year-old ripping the cardboard to pieces and squealing with delight when I finally got it open.<BR/>My pastor said if I wanted to understand the Bible¿s message I needed to understand it as an ancient reader would. So when I heard about the Thomas Nelson Chronological Bible, I knew it was the perfect find! <BR/>Oddly, the pure chaos of this book is precisely what makes it so orderly. Dozens of bible scholars dismantled the Bible book by book, and sometimes chapter by chapter, to rearrange it in chronological order. A text-long timeline accompanies frequent time capsule boxes containing bullet line descriptions of various inventions and events that occurred concurrently in other cultures. There are even pull-out explanations of various traditions and ceremonies ancient Jews observed and the sometimes similar traditions and ceremonies of other peoples. There are notes about science and architecture, cults and the supernatural and a host of other topics that marry Biblical and secular history. <BR/>The Thomas Nelson Chronological Bible is for everyone interested in an organized way to understand the finer nuances of the Bible. This is an awesome tool for everyone who complains that the Bible doesn¿t fit into every-day life. The Thomas Nelson Chronological Bible is for everyone looking for the perfect gift for their Christian or secular friends. Heck, this beautifully-illustrated text is just for everyone. <BR/>On to my next challenge: Find a cover. I¿m thinking leather¿

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Great Cover-to-Cover Bible

    I highly recommend this Bible for anybody who wants to sit down and read the whole Bible cover to cover in the order the events happened (and will happen). The pages are beautifully laid out with helpful info and articles on most pages. The New King James Version is a great translation that is more literal than some of the newer translations coming out.

    The only thing I would recommend is having a second Bible (or an online Bible) handy in case you need to read in the traditional order. I.E., don't take THIS Bible to church because if the Pastor tells you to turn to a specific passage, good luck finding it in the chronological order!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    An Excellent Resource

    This is perhaps the best Bible Resource to ever be produced. Balanced, scholarly, fact-filled. For any serious student of the Bible, this should be on one's shelf. The historical and background materials make a significant contribution to understanding the context in which the books of the Bible were written, and with that context as background, understanding is greatly enhanced.

    There is one drawback to it. Since it is the Bible in chronological order, it is difficult to find a known scripture in many cases. But the advantages far outweigh this difficulty, and one should expect to have this problem with a Bible in chronological order. The key is to have another Bible of the same translation along side it.

    IndyScholar
    Indianapolis, IN
    Author and Bible Study Teacher

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Putting complex history in perspective

    Sitting in church listening to sections of the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) always left me with a sense that there was more to understand. For example, hearing the words Babylon or Assyria didn't have any meaning until I learned that they were referring to captivity and exile of the Jewish nation. I dug deeper into history, but I had a hard time putting events in a historical timeline. This Chronoligical Study Bible for the first time game me a time for events that I could then take and study history and culture of the region and the world at those times and see what the struggles were. This Bible was huge in helping me study the Bible more deeply and more meaningfully. The timelines printed at the top of the pages are key, and the chapters are listed in the order in which the events occurred rather than the familiar order that we are accustomed to. Great idea. Also, the New King James Version is easily read and not as daunting as the KJV's Ole English. I would recommend this Bible to anyone who really wants to more fully understand Bible times.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Study Resource

    The Chronological Study Bible provides and intriguing and well researched alternative to the traditional Bible. This book is designed and written to add understanding about the context under which the Bible was written.<BR/><BR/>The Bible as we know it contains many books that tell the same history (eg: 1 & 2 Chronicles and 1 & 2 Kings), and assumedly presents these books in order of historical significance. That turns out not to be the case. Presenting the various chapters in their chronological order presents readers with a unique perspective of the traditional stories of the Bible.<BR/><BR/>Certainly a must-have for the Bible Study shelf, and the ideal tool for delving a little deeper into understanding the Scriptures.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    Chronological Study Bible a Must-Have for Those Who Like to Learn

    Fair Warning: My review of the Chronological Study Bible may add to your Christmas list, if you're at all interested in history or Bible study.<BR/><BR/>The concept is deceptively simple: a group of scholars takes the canonical, New King James Bible and re-orders the books so that they fall in chronological order, making it easier for the non-academic reader to absorb the history behind the Old Testament and the sequence of events in the New Testament. <BR/><BR/>It's a pleasure to read the introductory material, which is humble and fair-minded. The scholars aknowledge that some sections of the Bible are much harder to date than others. Their solution is to annotate those sections and offer the reader alternative explanations for where the sections *might* have appeared. <BR/><BR/>The scholars have included readable explanatory sidebars throughout the biblical text to help a modern reader understand aspects of ancient culture. For example, one double-page spread includes a summary of the Code of Hammurabi, a comparative history of ox-goring laws, and an explanation of legal codes based on retaliation. While some of you may have begun to snooze, I can only say AWESOME! Hey, if you're going to fork out forty dollars for a Bible, why not make it one that contains all this extra material? For me, these explanations make even the driest sections of the OT come to life in the context of culture. It helps to understand that ox-goring was not just some once-gored Hebrew scholar's petty obsession, but a widespread phenomenon that did require legal oversight. Goring oxen were the neighborhood pit bulls of Mosaic law.<BR/><BR/>Another nice touch: the Chronological Study Bible is full of color illustrations and photographs of places, buildings, crafts, and artwork depicting historical figures from the Bible. I'm glad that scholars and teachers finally acknowledge that even adults benefit from visual aids to learning.<BR/><BR/>As if all these teaching and study capsules weren't cool enough, there's more great stuff at the end of the volume. First, there's an index to cultural and historical topics like "Great Flood Accounts," "Chariots," "Women," and even "Baal-Zebub." Then there's a glossary, and finally a pretty good condensed concordance.<BR/><BR/>These scholars knew what they were doing. If I had to get rid of every Bible in my house but one, this would definitely be the one I would keep. It has a huge number of study tools packed into one fairly portable volume.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Great bible

    Excellent timelines and pictures are wonderful addition

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    This is my favorite study Bible (I have the hardcover book versi

    This is my favorite study Bible (I have the hardcover book version)! I long ago wished for a chronological Bible, and today we have a few to chose from. I love the Thomas Nelson Study Bible because of all the historical, cultural and timeline on each page, which helps to place you into that time and understand the when, where and why of what is being said. There are many maps and other valuable tools. The time flies and I get totally absorbed into its pages every time I sit for a study! An absolutely beautifully illustrated Bible from which I have gained much better understanding of the Lord!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3