Customer Reviews for

Chrysalis - Tribulations

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Really Great

    Book one was really good. This one was just as good if not better. Going to go buy the third one now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Chrysalis The Awakening really is a fantasy story. It has everyt

    Chrysalis The Awakening really is a fantasy story. It has everything from romance to vampires, but has a much more adult feel than other books, like twilight. Because although it is written in a common genre it is a book all of its own. The plot and story line are definitely unique to this book series. M.L. Lacy is a fantastic author, and maes the book flows so well that I read it cover to cover in two days and had the right amount of suspense and mystery to keep me interested in reading. The characters are all so well written and have depth. I would recommend reading this book, 5/5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    The Exciting Saga Continues..

    I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book after reading the first one. I was hooked big time! In this well-named second book, we rejoin Bree and her clan as they have to overcome several obstacles aka. tribulations.. that keep blocking their way. Some of these challenges come from within the clan while many are just there because Bree is still adapting to the fact that she is "The Chosen One" in a magical world that she never knew existed. The love story between Bree and her soul mate, Steven continues to strengthen even while she is trying to settle into her role as Alpha female to Bradley's Alpha male. Bree struggles with meshing her human emotions and values with the inner workings and structure of her supernatural and magical clan. The author does a fine job of building and growing her characters. Although, I would love to know more about the men and just what it is that makes them tick. Especially when it comes to their utter devotion and I guess, addiction to Bree. I have to admit that Bree's character was much more forgiving and generous than I could have been. I wanted to completely throttle Madelyn. She was petty, mean and jealous. If I had been the one with Bree's powers, I'd have squashed her in a big way. (Yes, I really got into the book!) But I did really enjoy Bree and could easily place myself in her shoes. It isn't hard to imagine having similar thoughts and feelings if I were to be suddenly told that I had all of these abilities and everything in my life to this point was a facade. I don't want to give anything else away for those who haven't had the pleasure of starting this series yet. Ms. Lacy has created a fantastic world with rich characters that I definitely want to read more about. I highly recommend readers start with the first book Chrysalis - The Awakening: Book 1 in order to get the full effect of this entire story. You can read my review of it HERE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Chryalis:Tribulations

    Tribulations is the stunning sequel of The Awakening. Tribulations continues on from where The Awakening left off, with Bree still learning the true extent of her powers, as jealousy divides her clan, she has to stay one step ahead of her nemesis, Esmeralda.
    Tribulations is a amazing book, in what is shaping up to be marvellous saga. The plot continues to flow effortlessly, with many twists and turns, leaving the readers unable to put the book down.
    M.L. Lacy continues to write interesting and realistic characters that are far from one dimensional, as even characters that aren't always portrayed as being good guys, such as Tina, are shown as having depth. The characters were very realistic, as for example, Bree doesn't immediately accept the Magical way, which is completely opposite from how she was brought up. It would have been unrealistic for her to immediately be okay with the way their relationships work, since she grew up like a human.
    The best scenes in this novel would be any of the scenes where Bree stands up for what she believes in and doesn't let anyone push her around. Bree really starts to find her place in her clan in this book; hopefully she will continue to be strong and independent in the next novel.
    In conclusion, fans of The Awakening will love Tribulations as M.L. Lacy continues to deliver novels with fascinating plot lines and realistic characters. Anyone who hasn't read The Awakening and Tribulations should, as it is shaping up to be one of the best sagas of recent years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This series just grips you and takes you for a ride!

    Again, this book is aptly titled as the Chrysalis: Tribulations encompasses change as well as hardship and suffering for the main character, Bree. She secretly learns that her family is not whom they seem to be. She has to learn and accept her role as clan leader, which is challenging when her clan member. Madelyn, is having jealousy issues being fueled by two new female members in various ways. To make matters worse for her mortal side, she learns that she has to share her long-lost true love with the other females, while she herself must be with the other men in her clan, in addition to four others that remain unknown to her at the moment. Bree also has her confrontations with Esmeralda, challenging the evil sorceress's demand that Bree remain in the council's care for her transformation.
    Bree is taken on a journey of growth, enlightenment and change. She is gifted with a keen knowledge in knowing when something is not right with her clan, able to penetrate thoughts of those in her clan without their knowing, while at the same time she can block them from entering hers.
    She befriends another vampire, as she can see beyond the evil in him and this is something that her clan has an issue accepting, but learns that Bree was correct.
    All the while as Bree is handling issues of jealousy, learning of her heritage, dealing with the men in her clan that are drawn to her, and learning of her path and what she must conquer to succeed and a highly over-protective clan that continues to stand in her way for her own good, it is impossible not to go on the ride with her as you feel her emotions as she endures each trial.
    M.L. Lacy has indeed captured me in this story because I can hardly wait for the next chapter in this series! Chrysalis: Awakening and Chrysalis: Tribulations are amazing pieces of work, as they wrap the reader in continuous nail-biting suspense, descriptive action sequences and soft intimate moments. I would greatly recommend this set to anyone that enjoys the paranormal and fantasy genre. I love how Lacy mixes the two and delivers such a wonderful tale that captures the heart and imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Fantastic Read!

    Chrysalis: Tribulations is a fantastic read as it is the second book by M. L. Lacy in the Chrysalis saga. It picks up with Aubrey, "Bree" for short settling into her new life as the "Chosen One" although her transformation to the Magical World is still many months away. Esmeralda her arch nemesis has bounties on her life to the highest bidder to get rid of her before the year's end. Bree's powers are growing as she is navigating her way through being the Alpha female of the clan. Bree not only has to contend with the jealousy of Esmeralda but also with the females within in her own clan. The newest members have pushed Madalyn the mate of the Alpha male of the clan Bradley to challenge the decision of making Bree the Alpha just cause she is the Chosen One. So instead of having her family dragged through a court, Bree and the men of her clan have pretend to agree to let Madalyn have her chance at being the Alpha female and hope that she finds out she is not cut out for that role and most likely concede to Bree. As Madalyn goes about making demands and decisions which everyone pretty much ignores, secrets meetings are held with Bree and the men of the clan on what to do to keep Bree and the clan safe while getting rid of the dark creatures who threaten everyone's existence.




    Bree also has to learn how to be able to satisfy the men of her clan. Preferably she would only want to be with her one and only Steven her soul mate but with this life there are certain traditions that are to be followed. As the Chosen One she is to have seven men that she is to be romantically involved with and she struggles with the mortal emotions that go with having to share her one and only with the other women of the clan especially with Madalyn and her cohorts but sharing herself with others. She has to learn to compartmentalize each one to keep them separate. Each one brings something different to her. She defines each one as Rick being her passion, Billy being her heart, Bradley is her old romantic love, and Steven her soul mate. At least Bree has a lot of help with guardians, teachers she sees in dreams, and two of the women in the clan who adore her and give their advice to help her along with advancing magical abilities as well as the romantic relationships that have to evolve with the men. Unfortunately, she also has to deal with this nasty demon in her dreams and waking life who is so determined to bring her to the dark side which she has now realized is her ex husband Nick in disguise. Tribulations is a fitting title as Bree struggles with preparing herself to leave the mortal world behind and crossing over to the Magical World to take her rightful place as the "Chosen One" Alpha female leader of the clan. The question is will she be alive to be able to claim it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A story not to be missed by lovers of fantasy novels

    All seems well in Aubrey Campbell's world. She is at home, enjoying a peaceful morning with Steven, her fiancée. But as the story of Chrysalis: Tribulations unfolds, it quickly becomes apparent to the reader that "Bree" is not an ordinary human. Indeed, she is a very special young woman. Born a mortal, she has recently discovered that she is a 'Chosen One,' a magical person with inordinate powers. She is just learning to use her powers but unfortunately, Esmeralda, a sorceress from the magical realm, desires both her blood and soul.

    Chrysalis: Tribulations is a classic good vs. evil story with Bree and her clan of vampires fighting for all that is good in the magical world. Bree's arch nemesis is Esmeralda, a nasty, cunning sorceress who will stop at nothing to destroy Bree.

    Fighting with Bree are the members of her clan, including Steven, her fiancée as well as Bradley, Bill and Rick. These men have sworn to protect Bree at all costs and because they're vampires, they certainly have the capabilities to fend off attackers. Of course, what clan would be complete without a matching group of women, um, vampires. As the newest member, Bree would typically be subservient to other members but because of her status as the last 'Chosen One,' she has been made Alpha (clans are matriarchal). This title does not sit well with other female members of the clan, resulting in a bad case of jealously from some of the women clan members. Add to this the fact that in the magical world, Bree is expected to be intimate with all male protectors in her clan. The young woman has her hands full, and that's before attempting to deal with Esmeralda.

    Most of Chrysalis: Tribulations is told in the first person by Bree while a few sections are written in the third person (primarily those dealing with Esmeralda and scenes that don't involve Bree). The first person telling is part of what makes this book work - the reader sees Bree's uncertainty and struggles with her growing powers and need to protect her clan. She is torn, repeatedly, when her new family is in danger. The author has created a very likeable character in Bree and seeing her mature and take charge over time is as enjoyable as the fantasy aspects of this tale. Indeed, seeing a woman in charge of a group of men will have many female readers cheering.

    There is quite a bit of action in this fantasy novel, with a tear between the magical and "normal" world causing havoc. And for the most part, the author keeps the story moving along briskly although there are several sections where the plot slows, particularly during the many dinner parties/meetings. But these are minor distractions within a story that is a lot of fun to read.

    Chrysalis: Tribulations is an entertaining romp into the world of fantasy. Because I had not read the first book in the series, Chrysalis: The Awakening, it took me a bit of time to figure out all the characters, just what was happening/had happened to Bree, and why the heck she was hanging out with all those vampires. I would, therefore, suggest reading the first book in the series before diving into Tribulations. But I suspect you'll want to read the second book as soon as you finish The Awakening and anxiously await the next book in the series.

    Quill says: Vampires, sorceresses, betrayals, harrowing rescues, and a young woman learning to use and control her awesome powers makes this a story not to be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1