Customer Reviews for

Chrysanthemum

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!!

I love this book I must have read it a hundred times! It is a great book and very amusing for children.

posted by 9796466 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Font size unreadable on Nook Tablet

Cute story however, the version on the Nook Tablet has such a small font size that it's practically unreadable. You cannot change the orientation of the page or the font settings. Okay for the "Read and Play" mode but NOT for the "Read Myself" mode. Disappointed.

posted by TomHamilton on January 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Best book ever!!!

    I love this book I must have read it a hundred times! It is a great book and very amusing for children.

    27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    great book

    Even my six year old son liked this book. It a nice example on how sometimes kids can be mean and how it doesn't take much to change their minds!

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Chrysanthemum

    This was my ABSOLUTE favorite book when I was a kid. I read it over and over. I HIGHLY recommend getting this for your child, and if you are a child, READ IT! It's sooo cute & entertaining, but also, I think it teaches a pretty good lesson.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Chrysanthemum

    This book is a sweet read that kids love, while showing teaching them about being different in a simple plot. Kids grasp that Chrysanthemum only dislikes her name because of bullies and that she can do nothing to change her name. This shows the real problem lies in the bullying. Kids easily understand the moral and love the happy ending.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2005

    Great book!

    I LOVE this book! This is a fantastic read for people of ALL ages, whether your reading level is college, or you cant even read yet and your parents read it to you. Fantastic!

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Sweet and charming

    I bought this book for my Nook Tablet. After I locked the page configuration, by tilting it and clicking on the on the key lock icon in the bottom corner. Also, you can increase the size of the pages, check the manual for directions.

    It is a charming book about a cute little mouse with a big name. The drawings are really sweet. There are a lot of words and pictures.

    The book has a womderful lesson about loving your name and yourself, regardless of what bullies at school may say. At the end, the young mouse has renewed her self confidence.

    Highly recommend for young children. It is also enjoyable for parents.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    My 4 Year Old Loves It

    Great Story and worth the 10.99 for how many times my little girl as already listened to it and for how long it is. :)

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    Important lesson and too cute!

    When my six yr old sister got this book in the mail, I fell in love. I love weird names and Chrysanthemum is the best. The book teaches a great lesson on accepting your differences and loving yourself. And it's really cute too! Great for anyone to read.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    LOVE THIS BOOK!

    Kevin Henkes is a wonderful story teller! He does beautifuly detailed illustration, also. Need more of his books for Nook. Waiting for Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse on Nook.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Great, I loveit!!!

    This was my favorite book when I was liitle because Iwas teased. If your child ismade fun of they need to read this story!

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Font size unreadable on Nook Tablet

    Cute story however, the version on the Nook Tablet has such a small font size that it's practically unreadable. You cannot change the orientation of the page or the font settings. Okay for the "Read and Play" mode but NOT for the "Read Myself" mode. Disappointed.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Love this book

    This book helped me appreciate my middle name (Reanne). I love it now, my dad does too... ha ha

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    I love it

    As a little girl I checked it out at the library every week, even when my parents bought it for me. I know the words by heart.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A great book-

    I really enjoyed this book of a little girl who loves her name until she attends school. This book is the reality of how unkind children can be to each other and the message that you should love who you are no matter what anyone says. The illustrations in this book are adorable and it is a fun book to read over and over. I have read it to my class as well as my children and I love the message that this book sends, especially for girls. I highly recommend this book!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    Excellent lesson

    The book Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes talks about a mouse who had always loved and appreciated her name, Chrysanthemum, until she goes to school and everyone makes fun of her name. Her parents ensure her that her name is beautiful and special, but students at her school say otherwise. Finally, when they meet their music teacher whose name is a flower name and learn that their teacher¿s baby will be named Chrysanthemum, they stop mocking her and she feels very proud of her name. With this book, the teacher can teach the concepts of self-esteem and acceptance. In addition, the concepts of print, sense of story and sequencing, vocabulary and background knowledge can be taught through this book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Great story, teaches kids early that it is O.K. to be different.

    I purchased this read and play eBook specifically for my 4 yr old grandaughter's pleasure and it fit the bill. Whenever she is with me and uses my color nook, she has a great time with this story and loves the interactive features.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Chrysanthemum C

    Very cute book my child loved it she keeps asking me for my nook the book is very toching even to me.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    OMG

    I have read this book alot when I was little" Its an all time favorite!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Great

    I love this book! I recomend it to anyone ages 4

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Love it!!

    I have loved this book since I was little and I still do! I'm glad my little sister loves it to!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6