BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Chrysanthemum

Average Rating 4.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!!

I love this book I must have read it a hundred times! It is a great book and very amusing for children.

posted by 9796466 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Font size unreadable on Nook Tablet

Cute story however, the version on the Nook Tablet has such a small font size that it's practically unreadable. You cannot change the orientation of the page or the font settings. Okay for the "Read and Play" mode but NOT for the "Read Myself" mode. Disappointed.

posted by TomHamilton on January 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Best book ever!!!

    I love this book I must have read it a hundred times! It is a great book and very amusing for children.

    29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Chrysanthemum

    This was my ABSOLUTE favorite book when I was a kid. I read it over and over. I HIGHLY recommend getting this for your child, and if you are a child, READ IT! It's sooo cute & entertaining, but also, I think it teaches a pretty good lesson.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2005

    Great book!

    I LOVE this book! This is a fantastic read for people of ALL ages, whether your reading level is college, or you cant even read yet and your parents read it to you. Fantastic!

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Sweet and charming

    I bought this book for my Nook Tablet. After I locked the page configuration, by tilting it and clicking on the on the key lock icon in the bottom corner. Also, you can increase the size of the pages, check the manual for directions.

    It is a charming book about a cute little mouse with a big name. The drawings are really sweet. There are a lot of words and pictures.

    The book has a womderful lesson about loving your name and yourself, regardless of what bullies at school may say. At the end, the young mouse has renewed her self confidence.

    Highly recommend for young children. It is also enjoyable for parents.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    My 4 Year Old Loves It

    Great Story and worth the 10.99 for how many times my little girl as already listened to it and for how long it is. :)

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    Important lesson and too cute!

    When my six yr old sister got this book in the mail, I fell in love. I love weird names and Chrysanthemum is the best. The book teaches a great lesson on accepting your differences and loving yourself. And it's really cute too! Great for anyone to read.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    LOVE THIS BOOK!

    Kevin Henkes is a wonderful story teller! He does beautifuly detailed illustration, also. Need more of his books for Nook. Waiting for Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse on Nook.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Great, I loveit!!!

    This was my favorite book when I was liitle because Iwas teased. If your child ismade fun of they need to read this story!

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Love this book

    This book helped me appreciate my middle name (Reanne). I love it now, my dad does too... ha ha

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    I love it

    As a little girl I checked it out at the library every week, even when my parents bought it for me. I know the words by heart.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    Excellent lesson

    The book Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes talks about a mouse who had always loved and appreciated her name, Chrysanthemum, until she goes to school and everyone makes fun of her name. Her parents ensure her that her name is beautiful and special, but students at her school say otherwise. Finally, when they meet their music teacher whose name is a flower name and learn that their teacher¿s baby will be named Chrysanthemum, they stop mocking her and she feels very proud of her name. With this book, the teacher can teach the concepts of self-esteem and acceptance. In addition, the concepts of print, sense of story and sequencing, vocabulary and background knowledge can be taught through this book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Great

    I love this book! I recomend it to anyone ages 4

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Love it!!

    I have loved this book since I was little and I still do! I'm glad my little sister loves it to!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!

    Chrysanthemum is an awesome book! I almost read this book all the time at night! My mom reads it to me all the time at night. I love it. My favorite part is when they change their names. My favorite name was Lily of the Valley.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    One of our Favorites!

    This is one of our favorite stories. Being unique is a good thing. The story is wonderful and the illustrations are terrific. This is highly recommended by our family.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Very Fun Book, I read it tons and tons of times. My favorite picture book ever!!!!!!

    This book chysanthimum w is a very good book indeed. There are 4 activities throughout the book. They include tapping on mrs. Twinkle to hear her sing, decorating the page with chysanthamums, drawing in the dirt and some fun triva on the the classes names. There are fun animations in the pictures along with sound effects in wich you can hit again to hear it again. Very fun. Narration is not annoying in my opinon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Grreat

    I love this book its GREAT

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect story for students new to school

    All of us have felt nervous about the first day of school: will the other kids like me? Will my teacher be nice? Enter Chrysanthemum, the mouse with a beautiful name picked especially for her by her loving parents. Unfortunately, the other kids at school don't think her name is so beautiful and Chrysanthemum has a crisis of identity. Oh, why can't she have a simpler name?

    Chrysanthemum is a delight for all ages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Chrysnthmum

    Chrysthmum is a awesome book.
    It's about the kids at school laugh at her because she has a loooong name.Then the muisc teacher made her feel beter because she was pregnt and she said she would name it chrysnthmum.


    By,
    Lizzle

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Difference makes you special

    It's a sweet story that has a strong message. We love it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4