Customer Reviews for

Chugga Chugga Choo-Choo Big Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    My son loved this gift

    My son received this book when he turned 2. He was beyond ecstatic... we went through a lengthy period when he insisted this be read to him every night. And in a fit of exhuberance about the story - sounds - pictures ripped up some of the pages. So I then bought a board book ... and another paper copy, which I gave to him when he was 3.5 years and less likely to rip pages.

    My son is 5 now and still enjoys it.

    I have given this a gift to other children as well, since my son rated it so highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Chugga Chugga Choo-Choo

    The story is a very colorful story about the trains. The rhyming story delights the littlest of children and they love to participate in the reading. It is a favorite of my great grandchildren and their friends when we have story time, before naps or when they just go to pick a book to have it read. The older children love to read the book themselves. All in all it's a fun book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Up and at 'em, engineer!

    This is one of my favorite children's books. I love to read it aloud in my library story times, and whenever a new baby enters my life, it's one of the first board books I give them. The pictures are bright and friendly, filled with color and interesting---but not overwhelming---detail. The text patters in the rollicking rhythm of a train, and the rhyme scheme never feels forced or awkward. Older listeners love to join in when the train hoots, "Whoo-whoo!" while younger listeners sometimes insist on hearing the story read as fast as possible, just for the joy of the rhythm. Don't be surprised if your child reads this book to tatters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Loved it

    I gave this book to my 1 year old grandson for Valentines Day. He loved it. I think we had to read the book to him at least a dozen times that day and I'm sure his mommy and daddy have read it many more times since then.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    WHOOO-Whoooo!

    After wearing out our first copy (paperback) of Chugga Chugga Choo Choo, we replaced it with the new boardbook format. Now this story is included with every baby shower gift. The story, pictures, and rhyme are engaging and fun for the reader and listener. After reading it a gazillion times, you get pretty good at the train whistle!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    A new classic must read

    We love this book at our house. The chugging of the engine and whoo of the train make it incredibly interactive. There are great pictures which inspire children to build their own train worlds. I strongly recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    My son's favorite book!

    I love this book! This was my son's favorite book. He loved trains and we use to read this book often. We would pretend we were pulling on the train horn and yell out "Choo-Choo" each time we read that part of the book. A MUST for train lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    LOVE THIS BOOK

    My son is 2 now and he loves this book. It was given to us as a gift from my aunt who has two younger children and it had been her son's favorite book. My son Connor has to have this book read to him each night before bed. My husband and I both enjoy it as well and even after an entire year of reading it each night we are not tired of it. The colors are great and all the additional fun things to pick out in the pictures are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Little Boys will Love this book

    This book was given to my son around the age of 2 and he loved the bright illustrations, the rhythmic text, and the sound of the train that repeats through the book. I think it is a great book to read aloud to a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Love this book

    I love childrens books, and as a parent and a nanny this is one book I think every child should experience! My son 18 mnths loves this book and loves to say chugga-chugga choo-choo while I read with him, then flip through on his own repeating the same phrase. I've given it as books to other children and they all love it as well. It's a great story with wonderful pictures. I can't say enough about it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    My son's first favorite book.

    I have given it for a gift several times also. My son just loved the rhymes and went about quoting it every day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    A real winner!

    Tag along with a little boy and his steam engine as they ¿chugga-chugga choo-choo¿ to the city on a very busy day. This engaging little board book, begs to be read repeatedly due to its wonderfully rhythmic prose and vibrantly animated illustrations. ¿Sun¿s up! Morning¿s here. Up and at ¿em, engineer. Chugga-chugga choo-choo, whistle blowing, Whoooooooo! Whoooooooo!¿ This book is actually a nighttime story, but my 11th month old is so enthralled by the vivid colors and musical beat that I read it to him after his naps. Oh, and not just for little boys, my four-year old niece adores this book. She asks for Chugga-chugga choo-choo and walks around afterwards saying Whoooooooo! Whoooooooo! A real winner! Birth and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    Instant hit in my house

    This book is a favorite of my 2.5 yr old son and 4 yr old daughter. The rhyming makes the text easy to read over and over and the pictures are colorful and easy to search for items. I love it and highly recommend this book for your child's personal library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    Buy this book for your preschooler!

    This book was an instant hit with my two year old son. The illustrations are great and the text really reads like a choo choo! I am thrilled to see that a board book version is becoming available as we have worn the binding out of our hard cover book. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2