Customer Reviews for

Ciao, America!: An Italian Discovers the U.S.

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ciao, America!-Hot or Not? I'll Be the Judge of That...

If you're not a psycho nationalist freak and you're up to a little cultural criticism, then this is the book for you. Despite the constant belittlement, as an American, I thoroughly enjoyed this book because it allowed me to analyze my lifestyles through the e...
If you're not a psycho nationalist freak and you're up to a little cultural criticism, then this is the book for you. Despite the constant belittlement, as an American, I thoroughly enjoyed this book because it allowed me to analyze my lifestyles through the eyes of an outsider. Although after each paragraph I was left with a mildly bruised ego and the longing for a rebuttal to each of Severgnini's statements, in the long run I was left with a greater sense of national pride than before. After all, what's good writing without a bit of controversy? So, I'd consider this a 'hot' book.

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

bolsterous laughter mixed with boredom

The first two chapters of this 'experience the American way' are a riot, wonderfully funny, you want to roll on the floor - Severgnini definitely has gained a good impression of the American lifestyle, and as a European who has by now survived, lived, and adapted to her...
The first two chapters of this 'experience the American way' are a riot, wonderfully funny, you want to roll on the floor - Severgnini definitely has gained a good impression of the American lifestyle, and as a European who has by now survived, lived, and adapted to her life here, I love his humorous insights. But the much promising start renders into a less entertaining month-to-month description of his experiences and observations during his year in DC, which, well, are not at all that interesting to read. The hope for more witty scenes kept me going, and here and there, Severgnini is able to spike his descriptions, yet - all in all it was not a book I'd pass on to my friends. But might want to read one or the other passage from...

posted by Anonymous on September 9, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2003

    Okay, but not great

    I didn't like this book that much, because it portrayed Americans in a bad light. Although most of it is true, I don't think he spent enough time here to get to know us. I guess if i went to Italy I would think the same thing about them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    bolsterous laughter mixed with boredom

    The first two chapters of this 'experience the American way' are a riot, wonderfully funny, you want to roll on the floor - Severgnini definitely has gained a good impression of the American lifestyle, and as a European who has by now survived, lived, and adapted to her life here, I love his humorous insights. But the much promising start renders into a less entertaining month-to-month description of his experiences and observations during his year in DC, which, well, are not at all that interesting to read. The hope for more witty scenes kept me going, and here and there, Severgnini is able to spike his descriptions, yet - all in all it was not a book I'd pass on to my friends. But might want to read one or the other passage from...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Ciao, America!-Hot or Not? I'll Be the Judge of That...

    If you're not a psycho nationalist freak and you're up to a little cultural criticism, then this is the book for you. Despite the constant belittlement, as an American, I thoroughly enjoyed this book because it allowed me to analyze my lifestyles through the eyes of an outsider. Although after each paragraph I was left with a mildly bruised ego and the longing for a rebuttal to each of Severgnini's statements, in the long run I was left with a greater sense of national pride than before. After all, what's good writing without a bit of controversy? So, I'd consider this a 'hot' book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    Another book like it, but about an American in Italy!

    A similar book, but by an American who goes to Italy, should complement this one. BOTTICELLI BLUE SKIES: An American in Florence by Merrill Joan Gerber takes a warm-hearted look at how Italy looks to Americans who encounter it for the first time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Crane

    Heh heh...-_- oi. Im b @ base

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Wolverie

    Yes.. lets. And ya. You did, crane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Winter

    Lets go back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    very enjoyable

    A good easy read. A look at americans from an Italian's point of view. It is obvious that he really likes americans and america, including some of our idiosyncracies. I visited Italy and I can really see some of the strange differences that he observed in our differnet cultures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    Shake Ya Tailfeather

    Very interesting book because it showed what the Italian population thought about us, our laziness with the lounge chair, air conditioning, and ice in our drink. Beppe has to understand and except our culture because we except theirs. But it is a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    a fun and enjoyable book

    Ciao, America was a truly enjoyable book and it made you look at yourself and realize all of the stereotypical American things to do. For example staying close to the air conditioner and always putting ice in our drinks. Things that we as Americans don't think twice about but from the point of view of someone that is not from around here, it seems very foreign.I thought that it was a truly delightful book and an easy read. Reading the book was really fun and not in the least bit tedious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    An outsider's view of an insiders country

    Severgnini is an author who has the gift of humor and sarcasm, who can point out normal American things (like our dependency on air conditioning) in a way that is entertaining and original. It's an amusing way to look in on ourselves (Americans) while getting the fresh perspective a foreigner brings. A great read for any American or anyone interested in the different life in Italy or the Italian mindset.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    YOYOYO

    This book shows an italian perspective of life in america. Its interesting to see the conflicting views that he has. The story begins with his explaination of how american homes are unfit because they are not furnished. There is a long list of events that occured after this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    thank god, it's over

    i personally could not went for the end. i am an italian student in the eleventh grade. Good writing but i disagree with many of his stereotypes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    THIS BOOK WAS GRAND!

    THIS BOOK WAS SOOO GOOD, I CRYED 3 TIMES.. JUST READING THE TITLE. SEVY PORTRAYS AMERICANS AS SMELLY PEOPLE AND UNWORTHY OF THEIR A.C. AND THEIR HOMES. I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH THAT I AM GOING TO PUT IT UNDER MY PILLOW WHEN I GO TO BED. I COULD READ IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN. MRS. LAMBERT, MY 11TH GRADE ITALIAN TEACHER IS A GENIUS FOR HAVING US READ THIS BOOK. THIS BOOK BELONGS ON THE OPRAH BOOK LIST.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    Ciao, America...Ciao Italia!

    The book seems interesting to read the views of another man, from another nation, critizing our social and industrial world in America. He goes in dept with examples on how different our lifestyles are between the U.S. and Italy, but he should watch what he writes. I feel America has many good as well as bad varieties of characteristics, but no one should judge the way we live. If we were to live in Italy for a year just like Severgnini visited the U.S., we can too write many different critizisms about their country if we wanted to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    lambert rules!

    Questo libri e molto interesante. Io vista America in occhi di Severginni e divertente perche lui e italiano e lui ha un opinione forte circa Stati Uniti e altre paese. Mi piace il libro molto e io suggerisco molto!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2003

    Great read!

    Ciao, America makes you think about all of the crazy things Americans do every day. A funny and easy read, it really makes you laugh. An ideal book to take with you on travel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2003

    This is a Funny book!

    I was pleasantly suprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I borrowed it from my friend who NEVER lends books.It was funny and poignant,and quite enjoyable. If you want to read something unexpected,read this. I am so happy to be an American!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1