Customer Reviews for

Cibola

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mystery and Adventure!

    As a reader who loves both a good mystery story and a fun adventure, Cibola was perfect for me. The plot twists kept me guessing, and there was just enough action, humor, and even a little bit of romance. It was like a lighter version of a James Rollins book. Good fun!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    Cibola Treasure Found!

    For the last few centuries, people have been combing the deserts of the Southwest looking for the Seven Golden Cities of Cibola. A lot of people have come away disappointed, a few haven't come back at all, but no one has found that legendary treasure.until now.

    David Wood, author of Dourado (which actually had nothing at all to do with that other pre-Columbian American treasure El Dorado) has found the treasure of Cibola, and as it turns out, that treasure is Adventure! Wood's heroic team of Dane Maddock and Uriah Bonebreak, just back from the search for Goliath's sword, are ready to tear up the deserts of the American Southwest. Following the clues left by a Spanish conquistador, dogged by a militant religious cult, and courted by a memorable pair of brainy beauties, Dane and Bones-and Wood of course-once more deliver the goods: a rousing adventure with a nifty twist on the Old Testament. There may not really be any treasure out there in the desert, but David Wood certainly strikes gold with Cibola.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    david wood a very good series

    Really good I ended up reading his entire series. I like the archaeology and the underwater parts. This is very similar to Andy McDermott's series. The main characters are Dane Maddox and his partner a large ex-seal from Native American ancestry. Dane meets a different girls but seems to have one favorite.

    If you like archeology, adventure-thrilled mystery this is a good series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Giant Leap Forward for a Talented Writer!

    David Wood takes a giant leap forward with his new thriller Cibola,
    which puts a new twist on the legendary cities of gold. Dane Maddock and "Bones" Bonebrake are back for another adventure. Two separate archaeological finds lead them through a series of Anasazi ruins, where they discover pieces of an ancient artifact upon which is engraved clues to an unknown treasure. Along the way, they run afoul of the Dominion, a paramilitary group of Mormon radicals (definitely a new angle) and dangerous creatures out of legend.

    As in his previous novel Dourado, Wood preserves the element of mystery throughout the narrative. Dane and Bones aren't sure what exactly they are looking for, and even when they think they have all the answers, there are new surprises, including some at the very end of the adventure. Wood skillfully weaves Biblical, Egyptian, and Native American legend into an intriguing story that keeps the pages turning. Where Cibola improves over the equally exciting Dourado is in terms of plot complexity. The story holds multiple twists and a few big surprises, and is more fleshed-out than Wood's debut novel.

    The area in which Wood truly stands out, though, is in his characters. Dane is tough and resourceful enough to be an admirable action hero, but also has shortcomings that make him human to the reader. Unlike many leading men in the thriller genre, he actually grows and changes in each book. Bones steals the show again with some laugh-out-loud lines. Even the secondary characters are interesting, and not the "cardboard cutouts" of so many other thrillers.

    Better development of the antagonists is definitely in order. I wanted more information about the Dominion and their aims. Its leader, the Elder, and Issachar, the baddest of the bad guys, needed more scenes and a greater intimation of the danger they posed.

    Overall, this is a very good book, and a major step up for a talented author. Wood strikes a nice balance between mystery, action, and characters, and spins an intriguing yarn. If he shows similar growth as a storyteller in book three, David Wood just might become the new master of the biblical action-thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    good, not great

    Good story, but character development and puzzle development were lacking. Wood needs more detail to his description of the characters, surroundings and the puzzles / clues they are working on so that we feel we are there with them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    good read

    Good intro for me to a new author. I'm reading Quest right now and like it better so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    OK

    I'll keep the review short.

    Overall a fun read, but I have quips about the dialogue and overall prose.

    This book is much like his first novel, not much new here and that includes the stilted dialogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Not what I expected. I really didn't enjoy reading this book.

    There were so many proof reading errors in this book it was distracting. Whoever was responsible for this task did an extremely inadequate job. I wasn't stimulated by the plot or the characters. I like books that keep me awake into the night reading because I can't put them down. This book didn't do that for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2