Customer Reviews for

The Cider House Rules

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

The Cider House Rules...

This is a heavy-hearted novel. The dreams and wishes go unfulfilled for most of the characters. The Cider House Rules takes place mostly between the 1930's and 1950's. It's about rules. It's about how society has rules for people but those rules aren't always the right ...
This is a heavy-hearted novel. The dreams and wishes go unfulfilled for most of the characters. The Cider House Rules takes place mostly between the 1930's and 1950's. It's about rules. It's about how society has rules for people but those rules aren't always the right rules. This is a story about Dr. Wilbur Larch, the "saint" of St. Cloud's, the head of an orphanage and an abortionist in a time when abortions are illegal. But it's even more about Homer Wells, an orphan who is never adopted and becomes a sort of son to Dr. Larch. This novel touches on some delicate issues besides abortion: incest, interracial relationships, lesbianism, child and spousal abuse and ether addiction. I really like the writing style which makes The Cider House Rules a good read. The content of the book is deep. The characters are believable and Irving provides a lot of background. I will absolutely be looking forward to reading other John Irving books in the near future!

posted by songcatchers on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Book is overated...see the movie!

THe plot of Cider House Rules was quite random, but pulled together nicely by the author John Irving. The story takes place in a Maine orpanhage founded by Dr. Larch. Larch has to deal with the controversial issue of abortion, but after seeing women die, some of whom he...
THe plot of Cider House Rules was quite random, but pulled together nicely by the author John Irving. The story takes place in a Maine orpanhage founded by Dr. Larch. Larch has to deal with the controversial issue of abortion, but after seeing women die, some of whom he could have saved, he decided the women has the right to choose. Whether they want an orphan or an abortion it is up to them. Homer, an orphan raised at ST. CLouds, leaves when he is ld enough to explore the world. He chooses a life of apple and cider making, and enjoys the simplicity of life...only having to follow the simple cider house rules nailed on the door. He soon finds out why Dr. Larch had tried to keep him at St. CLouds for so long. After problems with the girl he loves, his bestfriend, and also witnessing first hand the cruelties of life. He returns to St. Clouds no longer innocent and accepting they woman's right to choose. THe story is interesting, althought John Irving's writing style is very cluttered and he seems to talk way to much. My words of advice are, see the movie instead.

posted by Anonymous on May 19, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Lana

    Same here(;

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly recommend....

    Started off a little slow but I am glad I stuck with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Loved this.

    I wish the film had been faithful to the book. So much was left out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Wonderful

    One of my favortite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    This is a great book. The characters are well developed and the

    This is a great book. The characters are well developed and the storyline takes you on a trip with a whirlwind of emotions along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Amazing

    In love with this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    A wonderfully good read

    This book has been made into a movie, but is such a great read I would recommend it to anyone who wants a thought provoking book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    BEST NOVEL EVER!!!

    LOVE this book! Tackles serious issues in a great, woven story with rich, lovely characters! Way better than the movie with thebackgroun filled in. I adore when the doctors say to the orphans "Goodnight you princes of Maine and you Kings of New England!"...just lovely!...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Lizzie

    I am trying to start up a group about Deafness and Deaf culture. If anyone is interested in joining go to Deaf result 2. I do not really care if you are Deaf or not. I just want people to join!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Another awesome novel from Mr. Irving!

    Like all of his novels, this is a must read! He creates such beautiful and sad characters that totally make all the drama worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Great Book

    I think this book was excellent. The speaker is a distant narrator so you get the thoughts of all the characters. The book gives you a different perspective on adoption and abortion. The purpose of this book is to show people that abortion cannot be illegal. It is the women¿s choice and only hers. Dr. Larch says he is doing Gods work by delivering orphans and he says he does abortions to deliver the women. This book was very good and I never wanted to put it down. I would recommend it to everyone because everyone needs to read the profound words of Dr. Larch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    Very moving read... from page 1 to last page...

    The movie was seen a few years back, very good, excellent actors represented the characters. The book is a lot more involved, with more in-depth events in the story that are left out of the movie. However, readers are missing out on a lot of John Irving's writing talent if they don't read the book. A reader gets to know Irving's players in a way not many authors create and allow the reader to absorb them -- some readers put the book in a negative light by stating that the characters and issues are unrealistic... Whoa! That is definitely NOT the case. The issues existed then as they exist now and are in our sight always. The setting is State of Maine, an orphanage named St. Cloud's -- Dr. Wilbur Larch, orphan Homer Wells, and the relationship of their bonding. All characters deserve and are allowed compassion with understanding. Sub-plots are woven gracefully into the story assisting the main essence of the theme. John Irving gives credence to issues in The Cider House Rules: abortion, friendship, family, love, loyalty, humor to laugh to, and tears to cry with. John Irving has ecome one of my top ten favorite authors. John Irving was born in Exeter, NH, resides in NY, and has also authored 'Hotel New Hampshire' & 'The World According to Garp'... This reader predicts John Irving as successful as he is now, Irving's writings will be remembered on the bookshelves in future years among the 'classic' writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    best book ever

    It was different than the movie...I laughed out loud and cried

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    a modern american novel of merit

    excellent insight to the manny controversial issues of the 20th and 21st century. An exceptional story of an orphan and his hardships through life until he finds himself in an ironic situation where he chooses to have his baby over abortion. An excellent novel that keeps the eye glued to the page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    Brilliantly Beautiful

    John Irving paints a most vivid picture of the places he takes us to in the pages of this novel. His characters are weaved with such delicacy that it almost hurts to let them go. He makes each one of the people of his Maine either so pitiful or so terrible you can feel for all of them. His descriptions are most brilliant and very close attention is paid to the most easily overlooked details. His messages of moral questions are deep-seated and blunt in their presentation. The Cider House Rules will make you rethink everything you believe in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    Great Read

    This is a wonderful story, though the author included a number of passages and a subplot or two that should've been edited out. This is not as tightly written as Garp. Vivid descriptions and compelling characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    My all time favorite novel

    The Cider House Rules was an incredible book that touched me deeply the first time I read it. It carries a powerful message about abortion and a side of the issue that no one really seems to think about. The way it describes the lives that the unwanted children have is heartwrenching and eye opening. It is brilliant the way abortion is interwoven into the idea of breaking life's rules and finding one's calling. I recommend this book to anyone with an open mind and who can be truly touched by words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2001

    A Triumph!!!

    the first book by john irving i've ever read and inevitably it's a starting point of my addiction to his other fabulous works. the character of homer wells is so amiable as well as noble. i cried and laughed and applauded as he embarked on his life odyssey, trying to find his place in this crazy world. in my book he's my prince. i'm sure i'll go back to this book again and again in years to come. a masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    Cider House Rules: A Heartfelt Tale

    Before I read the Cider House Rules, I made a mistake. I watched the movie before I read the book. But, I'm kind of glad I did. The book was completely different from the movie, but I liked it because it had MILLIONS of more details. Homer Wells is this incredibly admirable character, you just are in awe with him the entire book. I loved it and I recommend it to anyone above 12-years of age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    Worth reading more than once

    My favorite novel. The characters are my friends. Wonderful to have them around and be with them again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5