Customer Reviews for

Cien años de soledad (One Hundred Years of Solitude)

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Cien Años de Soledad

Not the first time I read the book, to be honest. My dad had actually recommended it to me back in High School and I had indeed picked it up and read it cover to cover, mostly during one long swim meet weekend, between heats. However, reading it now, almost fifteen year...
Not the first time I read the book, to be honest. My dad had actually recommended it to me back in High School and I had indeed picked it up and read it cover to cover, mostly during one long swim meet weekend, between heats. However, reading it now, almost fifteen years later, I wonder if I really read it the first time, or if I really knew what exactly it was that I was reading. Though certain concepts remained the same, there was a lot here I did not remember and which struck me as brand new. Certainly one can chuck it up to a forgetful memory, a lot of ish does happen in over a decade, but I was still struck by how this book took me by surprise all over again.

As the title implies, this book is about Solitude, one hundred years of it, in fact and all of it centered around the Buendia family, starting with Jose Aureliano Buendia and his wife, Ursula, who are part of the group of people that founded a tiny town named Macondo in the middle of the bog. Largely untouched by the outside world, Macondo develops under it¿s own self imposed structure and law and the families grow. However, our point of view is always kept through the eyes of the Buendia¿s.

Ironically enough the very concept of Solitude was entirely lost to me as a high school student. Probably because I was still submerged in an environment where the idea had not taken root. Reading it now, the entire story is soaked in it, solitude suffocates every character in a way that even with the humor, the tenderness, the beauty that this story encompasses, it is not enough to get past that melancholy feeling.

The book takes us over a whole century of the Buendia family, with Ursula Buendia being the only character that manages to tie it all together until close to the end. Me meet all the Jose¿s and all the Arcadios that are born and are introduced to some very interesting women as well like Remedios, Rebeca and Amaranta, all characters fully fleshed out and quirky in their own way to help make of this story an epic.

I highly recommend this one, though be aware for some magical realism, which I guess is what they call this type of story which is set in a real world but where magical reasons for things are often taken as logical explanations for how things actually happen. It is a touch of spice that takes this story to a whole other level of enjoyment.

posted by FocoProject on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sera de un autor famoso, pero...

Puede que esta sea una obra muy famosa, pero en realidad no veo porque. Yo creo que es mas la fama del autor que la historia en si.

La historia no tiene pies ni cabeza, es confusa, sin sentido... Para mi fueron "Cien a#os de aburrimiento".

Que no me la quieran hac...
Puede que esta sea una obra muy famosa, pero en realidad no veo porque. Yo creo que es mas la fama del autor que la historia en si.

La historia no tiene pies ni cabeza, es confusa, sin sentido... Para mi fueron "Cien a#os de aburrimiento".

Que no me la quieran hacer como "El traje nuevo del emperador". Me pregunto cuanta gente que dice que la novela es "buenisima" en realidad lo piensa asi, o lo dice solamente por no verse como un ignorante que no aprecia una pieza de "arte".

En gustos se rompen generos, pero a mi en lo personal, se me hizo una perdida de tiempo tremenda. Recomiendo mejor a Isabel Allende. No gasten su dinero con "Cien a#os de soledad".

posted by KikiNB on September 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Cien Años de Soledad

    Not the first time I read the book, to be honest. My dad had actually recommended it to me back in High School and I had indeed picked it up and read it cover to cover, mostly during one long swim meet weekend, between heats. However, reading it now, almost fifteen years later, I wonder if I really read it the first time, or if I really knew what exactly it was that I was reading. Though certain concepts remained the same, there was a lot here I did not remember and which struck me as brand new. Certainly one can chuck it up to a forgetful memory, a lot of ish does happen in over a decade, but I was still struck by how this book took me by surprise all over again.<BR/><BR/>As the title implies, this book is about Solitude, one hundred years of it, in fact and all of it centered around the Buendia family, starting with Jose Aureliano Buendia and his wife, Ursula, who are part of the group of people that founded a tiny town named Macondo in the middle of the bog. Largely untouched by the outside world, Macondo develops under it¿s own self imposed structure and law and the families grow. However, our point of view is always kept through the eyes of the Buendia¿s.<BR/><BR/>Ironically enough the very concept of Solitude was entirely lost to me as a high school student. Probably because I was still submerged in an environment where the idea had not taken root. Reading it now, the entire story is soaked in it, solitude suffocates every character in a way that even with the humor, the tenderness, the beauty that this story encompasses, it is not enough to get past that melancholy feeling.<BR/><BR/>The book takes us over a whole century of the Buendia family, with Ursula Buendia being the only character that manages to tie it all together until close to the end. Me meet all the Jose¿s and all the Arcadios that are born and are introduced to some very interesting women as well like Remedios, Rebeca and Amaranta, all characters fully fleshed out and quirky in their own way to help make of this story an epic.<BR/><BR/>I highly recommend this one, though be aware for some magical realism, which I guess is what they call this type of story which is set in a real world but where magical reasons for things are often taken as logical explanations for how things actually happen. It is a touch of spice that takes this story to a whole other level of enjoyment.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    EXCELENTE

    Si hay cosas buenas que me hayan pasado en la vida... leer este libro es una de ellas! Se lo recomiendo a todos. La verdad es que depronto al principio me enrede al leerlo pero mas tarde no pude dejar de leerlo! Es fantastico. Cada uno de los personajes tiene algo que contarte y es increible ese extraño sentimiento de nostalgia que te da al terminar la obra... Debieron ser millones los años de soledad.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Have read it 4 times

    I love this book, I have read this book four times in the last 19 years. Once in english and three in spanish (there is a slight difference) I always miss the characters after Im done reading. Great book...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    Inspiring

    The book gave me a new style of Writing. It contains wisdom and Phylosophy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    En ingles por favor

    I read "solitude" in English many years ago and would like to read it again. I will attempt to read the original Spanish but it may take me 100 years. Maybe its a good exercise for my aging brain but I would really like the translation so that I could see if I am understanding correctly. Come on B&N...offer the English translation please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    A must for Book Lovers!

    This book is a complete masterpiece by Garcia Marquez, it is a must for people who like great novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Excellent have read twice and will read it again.

    Excellent have read twice and will read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    GGM el mejor y cien años de soledad es la perfeccion literaria.

    La primera vez que lo leí fue para mi clase de lectura y redaccion y no le preste mucha atencion. Cuando volvi a leer el libro quedé enamorada, los personajes, la historia, todo.
    Jamas me cansare de leer el libro. He leido como 5 obras literarias del sr. Gabriel García Márquez y cada vez estoy mas facinada.
    Espero en Dios que él se encuentre bien, supe que padece de cancer y es una gran pena. Dios le de salud.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cien por ciento recomendado, es el mejor libro que he leido.

    La forma de narrar y el lexico del escritor es encantador, te mantiene atento de principio a fin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    Jamas me gusto leer, incluso para mi era uno de los peores castigos. Haste que un dia me propuse que agarraria un libro y lo leeria de principio a fin. Este fue el libro que agarre y la verdad me quede enamorada de forma que el hace reales sus personajes. Es mi escritor favorito, es realmente un libro muy interesante y si, lo recomiendo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2006

    Fantastico....!!!!

    Aunque ya habia leido varios libros de este mismo author, este es el cual cautivo mi atencion por completo. El modo en el que se desarrolla te hace pensar si realmente habra cien años de 'soledad'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    BUENDIA.

    Un libro que tiene la capacidad de transportanos a un mundo casi real, una trabajo monumental en el cual sobresaltan los temas familiares y magicos. Perfecto para un tiempo de vacasiones. Me encanto la facilidad que puede tener uno para involucrarse en la historia, y la desorbitante manera de contar los sucesos fragmentadamente en la novela que la hacen una pieza que uno no quiere parar de leer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    Amazing

    GGM's prose is masterful and his magical realism will wrap you until the end. Una obra maestra de la literatura latinoamericana.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    the best review

    Para mi el libró Cien Años fue el mejor libro que e leído. Aun que al principio me perdía entre los capítulos por que García Márquez, brincaba de un personaje a otro, me logro cautivar y siempre me mantuvo ahí, en suspenso con los locos personaje de macondo y la Familia Buendía. Mi personaje favorito fue ¿Aureliano segundo¿ por que siempre quería estar bañándose con campaña, y malgastando su dinero.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    Cien Años de Soledad es una obra maestra

    Gabriel Garcia Marquez con su hermosa prosa tiene la habilidad de mantener amarrado al lector a sus obras como telaraña. La forma en la cual el emplea el idioma español es facil de leer y comprender. Garcia Marquez pasara a la historia como uno de los mejores escritores latinoamericanos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    El mejor libro jamas escrito

    La forma en la que garcia marquez maneja el realismo magico hace que te sientas sumergido en las historias de macondo y de la familia buendia

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2002

    My favorite book of all times

    I had to read this book for high school but as soon as i started reading i fell in love it is so well written a treaure truly... This book was meant to be read by millions and millions of times. I truly recomend it, perhaps it is confusing because of the repeating of names but this give is a great significance at the end. The end is incredivle , fif you cna understand it. Marvelous book. % stars definetly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    I've read this book many times, and still love it!

    This is an excellent book. Grabiel Garcia Marquez is one of the greatest author of Latin America. I love all his works. This book is amazing. I have read both the Spanish and the English versions. I would recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2002

    A wonderful Reality

    This book describe what life once was. It is not necesarily just Colombia cause the author is from colombia this occurred in every civilization. As times changed, people themselves have been effected. Yet the people that have been raised with these changes consider us the pre-existant, part of the past. That crazy old colonel who just lost a war. This book is history and only our deep instincts can relate with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2002

    The best book ever!

    This book is what really got me into reading, specially in high school,I love this book,and I`m going to make sure my daughter reads it too! Gabriela Garcia Marquez,One of the best writers,besides my dear Ruben Dario from my country Nicaragua. I wish they could bring more from this authors and more of this books so everybody in the United States could learn more about our culture . This is a must have book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4