Customer Reviews for

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 803 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(543)

4 Star

(185)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

69 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Smitten By Cinder

For me, fairy tale re-tellings are kind of hit or miss. As with any re-telling, you kind of have to assume you already know what's going to happen. That was not the case with "Cinder." Although it definitely has elements of the classic Cinderella story, there were reall...
For me, fairy tale re-tellings are kind of hit or miss. As with any re-telling, you kind of have to assume you already know what's going to happen. That was not the case with "Cinder." Although it definitely has elements of the classic Cinderella story, there were really enough new additions that I was kept guessing! Primarily, the setting was so...quirky and new that it totally pulled me in! Seriously. About 10 pages in and I hooked!

Generally, I'm not a big sci-fi fan. I don't like to read books that feature robots and spaceships and stuff, yet Cinder's world somehow didn't come off as cold, metallic, and unfeeling - even though the main character is a cyborg. And man, I never thought I could actually be rooting for a cyborg! I found Cinder to be really well-written. She was smart, independent, and every bit the tomboy. She just came off as real and down-to-earth, which really helped highlight the nastiness of her step-mother and sister. My absolute favorite was the side character of Iko - an android and Cinder's best friend. She's the perfect support to Cinder's otherwise lonesome life. I wish I could get my hands on her personality chip.

The world that Meyer writes is also really well-developed. New Beijing is a fully realized place which merges technology with elements of the traditional. I never thought I could appreciate an environment that featured both hover-crafts AND cherry blossoms. The conflicts and cultures that are portrayed in the book feel deeply rooted in the story - and never rushed or forced. Even the race of Lunars have depth and so much thought behind them.

If you like your story packaged into one neat story, beginning to end, you won't get that here. The book is built on there being a sequel. With that being said, I completely and utterly LOVED "Cinder," and feel it's absolutely worth it to read this book and wait for the sequel!

posted by VioletteReads1 on January 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Good read but only gave it three star because I think the plot w

Good read but only gave it three star because I think the plot was a little stretched out for too long. It was not too close to the cinderella story that you feel like you know how the plot will play out right away but a whole book just to bring it to where they left it...
Good read but only gave it three star because I think the plot was a little stretched out for too long. It was not too close to the cinderella story that you feel like you know how the plot will play out right away but a whole book just to bring it to where they left it was a bit much. That being said I will read at least a bit of the second book because there are several areas that are interesting and left for development in the next three books. I hope they really bring it and quit with the teasing.

posted by clambakecat on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 803 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Smitten By Cinder

    For me, fairy tale re-tellings are kind of hit or miss. As with any re-telling, you kind of have to assume you already know what's going to happen. That was not the case with "Cinder." Although it definitely has elements of the classic Cinderella story, there were really enough new additions that I was kept guessing! Primarily, the setting was so...quirky and new that it totally pulled me in! Seriously. About 10 pages in and I hooked!

    Generally, I'm not a big sci-fi fan. I don't like to read books that feature robots and spaceships and stuff, yet Cinder's world somehow didn't come off as cold, metallic, and unfeeling - even though the main character is a cyborg. And man, I never thought I could actually be <i>rooting</i> for a cyborg! I found Cinder to be really well-written. She was smart, independent, and every bit the tomboy. She just came off as real and down-to-earth, which really helped highlight the nastiness of her step-mother and sister. My absolute favorite was the side character of Iko - an android and Cinder's best friend. She's the perfect support to Cinder's otherwise lonesome life. I wish I could get my hands on her personality chip.

    The world that Meyer writes is also really well-developed. New Beijing is a fully realized place which merges technology with elements of the traditional. I never thought I could appreciate an environment that featured both hover-crafts AND cherry blossoms. The conflicts and cultures that are portrayed in the book feel deeply rooted in the story - and never rushed or forced. Even the race of Lunars have depth and so much thought behind them.

    If you like your story packaged into one neat story, beginning to end, you won't get that here. The book is built on there being a sequel. With that being said, I completely and utterly LOVED "Cinder," and feel it's absolutely worth it to read this book and wait for the sequel!

    69 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    The was one of the better books I have read.I was instantly immersed into this fantastic, well written story.

    50 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Best spin-off from "cinderella"...EVER!

    I love it. Its ahmazing! The first five chapters made me just abiut scream and dance and sing while anticipating the rest. Deffinatly going on my "To-Buy" list when it comes out!

    31 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Cover Amazing cover, it suits the story perfectly, and it's gorg

    Cover
    Amazing cover, it suits the story perfectly, and it's gorgeous, love the red

    Characters
    Favorite
    This question is always the hardest for me to answer. I am usually on the side of the villain, because they make the story interesting. Even though this story had an awesome villain I think it's a tie between Cinder and Kai. They are fantastic characters they really drive this story. Cinder is so smart and protective and Kai is caring and sweet. I loved both of them so much.

    Least Favorite
    Adri, the step mother plays the part well. I hated the thought that Cinder even had to deal with her on a daily basis. But as we all know she is a necessary character in the story of Cinderella

    Beginning
    The reader gets to jump right into the world, jumping into Cinder's daily life and get information about the world through dialogue or actions of the characters. I love this, I have never been a fan of big info dumps. The reader is introduced to Cinder, her job as a mechanic in the market and her family and job. We also get introduced to the Prince right away and his need to have all of his affairs in order before the big ball takes place.

    Storyline
    Cinder who is a mechanic and cyborg in the city of New Bejing, finds herself in the middle of a world being seriously threatened by the Plague. Her own sister has fallen ill and everybody is fighting for the cure. When she accepts a job from Prince Kai she soon finds herself in the middle of a galactic war in which the lunar people have been watching and preparing for.

    Ending
    Heart pounding ending. It is like the tension being pulled in a rubber band and just about to snap. Sit on the edge of your seat kind of suspense that will leave you craving for the next book immediately. This is just the beginning of Cinder's story and I for one cannot wait to see what happens next.

    Thoughts
    I thought this story was very imaginative and very well put together. It had a growing sense of foreboding and suspense that kept me reading so fast that I never wanted to set it down. Although I did not like Adri because of how awful she treated Cinder, all of the characters were really amazing and made such an impact to the overall story. Perfect pacing and an all out enjoyable read from start to finish.

    Quotes

    &ldquo;Even in the Future the Story Begins with Once Upon a Time.&rdquo;

    &ldquo;Vanity is a factor, but it is more a question of control. It is easier to trick others into perceiving you as beautiful if you can convince yourself you are beautiful. But mirrors have an uncanny way of telling the truth.&rdquo;

    27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Amazing New Twist on a Classic

    Cyborg Cinderella. I think that it was the concept of an altered twist on the Cinderella tale that really made me yearn for this release as much as I did, and Marissa Meyer fulfilled all of my fantasy dreams. Castle on Earth, yes! How about a evil empire on the Moon that is hellbent on taking over ruling Earth by offing a huge portion of the population so evil Queen can marry hot prince who is crushing on said cyborg Cinderella?! OH yeah!

    Cinder is a story about a girl named Cinder who lives with the evil stepmother in New Bejing surviving by hiding out in her workshop and selling parts and repairs in the city market. We open up to Cinder revealing to readers that she is a cyborg, part human-part machine, living in a futuristic world that wants nothing to do with cyborgs (constant discrimination) and yet they are also looking to sell off a cyborg to two into research for a cure to end a crippling disease rippling through the population. Cinder is soon asked to repair a service machine to the one and only horribly attractive, conflicted and kind Prince Kai.

    Is this book just about a relationship, nope, it is about the harsh reality of interplanetary conflict, death and disease, machine repair, medical practices, and personal leg repair. The character interactions between Kai and Cinder are fabulously written and intertwined in the plot throughout the story but really what caught me was Cinder. This amazing young woman lives a harsh life but also she carries within her a spark to greatness. We soon find in these pages a complicated past and a harrowing future for this young heroine in a world out to shun her. Marissa Meyer has taken an old tale and fashioned it into a new beautiful work that will captivate readers and keep them anticipating until the very last page.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Amazing

    This re-told classic is awesome. I was impressed with the imagery Marissa Meyers portrays. I feel the Lunar effect through the amazing descriptions. I could not put down this modern day classic. I am counting the days until 2013 when the story continues. This book leave you doing the same.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Inventive and exciting.

    Such a creative take on Cinderella! I enjoyed every minute of it. A bit predictable in some aspects, but I didn't mind because it was so inventive, with such an in-depth backstory and strong personalities. It was fun to read and I could really get into it; I read nearly nonstop. I just can't wait for the next books!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    This a great read!

    I didn't want to put it down and at work I would be thinking about this story and then couldn't wait to get home so I could get back to reading again. Waiting for the next book.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Fun fantastic read

    WOW is all I can say about this book. This is one of the better books I have read in a while. I am not a sci-fi fan and cyborgs, androids, and robots generally make me drool in boredom, however this book transcends any preconceived opinions about sci-fi. This book is great for anyone from ages 12 and up.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Good read but only gave it three star because I think the plot w

    Good read but only gave it three star because I think the plot was a little stretched out for too long. It was not too close to the cinderella story that you feel like you know how the plot will play out right away but a whole book just to bring it to where they left it was a bit much. That being said I will read at least a bit of the second book because there are several areas that are interesting and left for development in the next three books. I hope they really bring it and quit with the teasing.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    So when i first picked up Cinder i looked at it and put it back

    So when i first picked up Cinder i looked at it and put it back because
    it just sounded strange to me.. Then i went back a week later and
    figured i might as well read it since ive read everything else and i
    must say i was pleasantly surprised!! It takes a very unique spin on a
    traditional fairytale and gives it a whole new light! You have to give
    the book a few chapters before you get hooked but i promise once you do
    you wont be able to put it down! I really liked Prince Kai's personality
    and thought him and Cinder complemented eachother well! Over all i
    thought it had a fantastic plot and decent character development, im
    very interested to see where she takes the second book! Definitly recommend!!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Not what i expected

    After i read the description of Cinder i was like hey this would be a good read....

    i was a little disappointed. i felt that the story was slow at some point and some of the information that the author were giving the reader felt short. since this is just the first book of the series im going to not be to judgmental and give my full review when i have read the whole series.

    so with further a do i will say that Cinder was a unique book that felt short in some ways but you guys should read it and see what you think:)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    .

    6 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    5 STARS

    I'm wow-ing at how inventive, creative, and exciting CINDER by Marissa Meyer is!! I honestly didn't think that I was going to like it because I wasn't too sure how robotics would play out in a Cinderella twist, but Oh My Grease Monkeys I was so wrong! So wrong that I ended up paying for it with dark circles under my eyes. I started reading Cinder at around 11pm and next thing I knew day break was peeking through the curtains. Well worth the all-nighter, and will definitely not disappoint!!
    The unexpected action pack and drama/suspense had me glued to the pages. I never once needed a bookmark! Although I knew where the plot/climax was going, I totally didn't mind because the written layout has you wanting the events to build up to that point. Enjoying every detail, struggle, and anxiety inducing tale of Linh Cinder!
    I love how the introduction of non-earthen characters, the mixing of humans, and human hybrids (cyborgs & androids) made an enjoyable and imaginative twist to a well loved classic fairy-tale, Cinderella. Cinder by Marissa Meyer is no doubt on par if not exceeding the greatness of its classic!
    I will be looking forward to sharing the adventure and the thrill of delving back into the Lunar Chronicles in Book #2! A brilliant 2012 MUST READ Debut!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Did not finish Stopped at page 57, chapter 8    The beginning di

    Did not finish
    Stopped at page 57, chapter 8
       The beginning didn't grab me like I wanted. I can't put my finger on it exactly because it immediately shows us something unique about the world of cyborgs with Cinder taking off her foot. I put it down after four pages, and wandered around the house. But since I had read SO many good reviews about it, and it was voted by over half of the votes of what I should read next, I decided I would try to get through a few more chapters. 
       When we met the prince though, and the first talk about the draft and the plague was mentioned, I got into it a little bit more. But ultimately, I still didn't want to pick it back up  when I stopped, and although Cinder was brave and talented, a character that I would normally adore, I just felt indifferent about what happened. 

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Seriously???

    I tried, I really tried to read this book and could barely get through a page without getting distracted. I first got the sample which is what drew me to the book in the first place, but when I actually got the book(from the library...Thank God) I got easily bored and couldn't even finish the book. Maybe if I tried a thousand times harder I probably could have gotten past the thrid chapter, but I just couldn't pull through. Don't get mad at me, it's just my honest OPINION.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Good Book - But Wish I Had Waited!

    Well Put KimballSK! For that reason, I typically do not start series like this until the majority of the books are put out. I wish these authors would realize that a well-written book is all that is needed to "hook" a customer. Most avid readers like myself will read hundreds of books during the year that it takes the author to release the next in a series. By then, cliff-hanger doesn't hold the same appeal.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Overall, a great read!

    I really enjoyed this spin on cinderella. The characters are pretty strong for a teen fiction and the pace of the novel is perfect. I did find some of the characteristics of the Lunar race confusing.

    The book mentions that Lunar's "glamour" spells cannot reflect in netscreens, portscreens, or mirrors. The Lunar queen even goes out of her way to avoid talking on a netscreen early in the book. The last quarter of the book, however, visualizes the queen on a netscreen.

    I hope the rest of the series stays true to the already mentioned facts of the races and characters because instances like this can be really distracting for the reader. This was almost my favorite teen read for the year so far. I hope Marissa Meyer pays close attention to detail in her next book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Cool remake

    What a fun twist on an old tale but why why does it have to be part of a series... I hate the wait for her to continue the next step of her adventure. Great characters and feel. All ages would enjoy

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    : P

    This definately wouldnt be my favorite book. It was okay, but wasnt neccessarily my style.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 803 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41