Customer Reviews for

Cinderella Stays Late (Grimmtastic Girls Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Better series than Ever After High! If you like Ever After High,

Better series than Ever After High! If you like Ever After High, you will like this! My sister and I LOVE the first two books in this series and look forward to the third one!

posted by DarcyLizzy on June 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Your right goddess girls was way better

Hate this

posted by Anonymous on July 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    Better series than Ever After High! If you like Ever After High,

    Better series than Ever After High! If you like Ever After High, you will like this! My sister and I LOVE the first two books in this series and look forward to the third one!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    In the first installment of the Grimmtastic Girls books, Cindere

    In the first installment of the Grimmtastic Girls books, Cinderella arrives at Grimm Academy, makes new friends, and discovers that her two rotten step-sisters are involved in something very mysterious.

    I loved the setting of the Grimm Academy. It reminded me of Harry Potter a little bit with the different towers, the moving library, and unique classes. The authors struck a nice balance between describing the academy and moving the story forward. They built a fun and believable world without going overkill on the details.

    The characters are cute and likable. The Steps (Cinda's step-sisters) are horrid and spoiled, while Cinda's friends prove trustworthy and loyal. I even like Prince Awesome. The romance is kept age appropriate and within believable parameters. The book mostly focuses on Cinda's friendships with the other girls and the strange happenings at the Academy.

    This is a light, easy to read, middle grade book that will appeal to tween girls. Recommended for girls that like contemporary fantasy, humor, and fairy tales.

    Content: clean

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    LOVE THIS BOOK!

    This book is so awsome! Anybody who love's adventure i'd buy this book and curl up somewere and READ!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great Use of Fairy Tale Characters! Ah yes, once upon a time in

    Great Use of Fairy Tale Characters!

    Ah yes, once upon a time in Grimmlandia... I do love a good fractured fairytale! And while Cinderella is not usially my favored princess, I found her much more likable in this rendition of the tale.

    Cinda (Cinderella prefers that here) finds going to school can be fun at Grimm Academy even though her wretched as always half-sisters Malorette and Odette go there as well. Cinda discovers some friends of her own (With names like Rapunzel, Snow and Red *snicker*) and the lot of them work to discover *que dramatic music* the E.V.I.L. Society (Exceptional Villains in Literature, something I imagine we will be seeing a lot of in upcoming books in the Grimmtastic Girls Series) and what it is up to.

    I really enjoyed reading this book, both from a juvenile and adult perspective. It felt enjoyable and age-appropriately giggly (Is that a word?) I loved having the familiar characters interacting and making relevant choices in our current day world.

    Throughout time, parables, analogies, and fairy tales have been used to get a message across to the population that the would understand and remember when the time was right for them. I feel that both the Grimmtastic Girls Series and the Goddess Girls are a modern way to get some good messages across. Things like Friendship and it's importance, Being Honest, Following Rules, Obeying Your Parents, etc. For those reasons as well as many others, I wish Ms. Holub and Ms. Williams much success.

    Rating: 4 Stars ***

    Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. All opinions are my own and no further compensation was received.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Catherine Epson

    Va va voom i love it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Anyways...

    I love this series.

    Great books

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Your right goddess girls was way better

    Hate this

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Cinda rocks!

    I love this book. I liked how they tied in the pumpkin and the fairy godmother. I can't wait to read the second one

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Well...

    This book was ok but too much fairy tale stuff was in there. May i note that even though we know Cinderella the author never cited where she got the story plot from. *note i never got a free copy for writing an honest reveiw and nor anyone does. PLEASE NOTE THAT WHENEVER SOMEONES SAYS THEY GOT A FREE COPY THEY ARE LYING AND NEVER DID ~AliKat

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Stupidest book ever

    Goddess girls wass better than this crap . By anonemis

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    What an AMAZINGLY DARLING story! LOVED. LOVED. LOVED. IT! Cinde

    What an AMAZINGLY DARLING story!
    LOVED. LOVED. LOVED. IT!

    Cinderella, or Cinda as she likes to be called, has just started Grimm Academy.
    She finds herself enjoying school thanks to her new friends, Red, Snow, and Rapunzel...
    But her stepsisters are doing everything they can think of to get Cinda kicked out.
    "When Cinda overhears the Steps plotting a villainous deed that could ruin Prince Awesome's ball, Cinda, her new friends, and a pair of magical glass slippers have to stop them."
    Can they do it before the clock strikes twelve?

    FUN BOOK!
    CUTE READ!
    A NEW TWIST ON A BELOVED FAIRY TALE.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    STOP LYING

    Alright just stop this nonsense alright. I wrote an honest review on a book and never got a free copy never. So just shut up and stop lying. BTW I love this can't wait for three and four to come out HIGHILY RECOMENDED. I only gave it four because I don't like that pepole are lying.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    awesome book we bought the first two and preordered the next two

    awesome book we bought the first two and preordered the next two

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    I DEMAND EVERYONE READ 3 AND 4 ALSO. I HAVEN'T, BUT I BET IS GOOD

    Jgvgggg i l-o-v-e-d It

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    These are a great series, and I love the concept of fractured fa

    These are a great series, and I love the concept of fractured fairy tales in an early MG book. ;) I love that the teachers come from many fairy-tales – Mrs. Jabberwocky, Mr. Hump-Dumpty, etc. Kids will love to recognize the names and fairy tales they come from. I like that Mother Goose is the librarian at Grimm Academy. :) Ms. Holub and Ms. William’s have a playful writing style that is fun to read. Grimm Academy is a very cool place that I think a lot of kids will love to read about. The books are a quick read for me but very enjoyable. These books (much like the Goddess Girls series) are great for young advanced readers and MG kids looking for a fun story.
    *NOTE I got a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Good book

    Love the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    An exciting new series for young readers! I wish they┬┐d had boo

    An exciting new series for young readers! I wish they’d had books like this when I was a young girl. The cover art is adorable and fun. How could any young lady resist.

    The wicked stepsisters, an absent father, and greedy step mother stick with the original story but then the author takes you somewhere new. Grimm Academy was established by the Grimm brothers for all of the fairytale folk and you’ll encounter many of your favorites.

    Cinda is a newcomer to Grimm Academy. She quickly becomes friends with Red, Snow, and Rapunzel and begins to enjoy her new life despite her stepsisters attempts to ruin it for her.

    When Cinda learns of an evil plot by the steps, her friends join her to stop them from ruining the big ball.

    There is so much to delight you in this short story. Some that stand out are the names the author used for her characters and the roving library.

    I think you can guess who Prince Awesome is. Then there’s Prince Foulsmell. No he doesn’t smell bad. But the name was passed down from an uncle who did. I like him and I suspect his role will get bigger in forthcoming books.

    The library is fantastical. It’s never in the same place and once you answer the riddle and are admitted inside, it stretches for miles. There’s much more than books in there, lots of magical items, and the filing system is out of this world confusing. I particularly liked the mirror the girls used to create their ball gowns. Boy, it would come in handy.

    The friendship of these young ladies is realistic and fun. I remember how scary it was to be the new kid and the girls welcomed Cinda and helped her adjust to her new life.

    I’m sure you recognize, Red, Snow and Rapunzel. Red does wear her cape, Snow hates mirrors, no one knows where Mermily sleeps, and Rapunzel is always trimming her hair. Makes you think these girls know something.

    While this is a fairytale retelling, the writing has a modern feel. And the authors having the fairytales enacted by characters at a young age makes this a “Grimmazing” good read.

    I’d recommend this for pre to early teens and all of those who are young at heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    Title: Grimmtastic Girls Book 1: Cinderella Stays Late Author: J

    Title: Grimmtastic Girls Book 1: Cinderella Stays Late
    Author: Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams
    Publisher: Scholastic Inc
    Published: 3-25-2014
    ISBN: 10: 0545519845
    ISBN-13: 978-0545519847
    E-Book ASIN: B00G5N4RNM
    Pages: 192
    Genre: Children's Literature
    Tags: Fantasy, Myth
    Overall Rating: Great


    Remember the story of Cinderella, her evil step family, a sweet little old fairy godmother and the ball the royal family threw to find prince charming a wife? Well forget all that it was only a fairytale. Her is the real story. Cinderella has been enrolled in Grimm Academy and her mean stepsisters have continued their evil ways and decided to make Cinda's life at the Academy as miserable as they can. Still Cinda is able to make some good friends. When her evil stepsisters decide to ruin Prince Awesome's Ball for everyone, Cinda and her friends with a little bit of magical help, plan to stop them. The only snare, they only have till midnight and the clock is ticking down.


    This is such a charming read for anyone with about a third grade reading level and above. My seven year old niece fell in love with the story and could not wait to read Grimmtastic Girls Book 2: Red Riding Hood Gets Lost. She read it over the weekend getting caught with her lights on long after bed time because she wanted to see what happens next. I personally laughed and fell in love with Cinda and her friends and the best thing is because I am older I do not have a bed time and was able to read it in one sitting. If you have a young female reader this is a great book for them. It is sure to one of their favorites in no time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    I adored this book - a SUPERB start to the series :) We all love

    I adored this book - a SUPERB start to the series :) We all love the classic fairy tales, but it is awesome when you can find something that puts a spin on them and that is EXACTLY what the authors of this book did! Cinderella becomes Cinda, the Stepsisters become The Steps, and all of our faves are there including Red, Snow and Rapunzel! And of course who can forget Prince Awesome???? A totally new and magical take on the old stories and perfect for YA readers but I am 37 and enjoyed it immensely :) In the books the girls are enrolled in the Grimm School, a magical place where they learn not only about magic and fantasy but balls and etiquette. Every page is fantastical and once I started reading it I was unable to put it down, and it is perfect for a quick read as it took me 2 hours to get through it :)

    I really enjoy the way the book focuses on the girls themselves rather than being the old princesses who must find a man and marry and have kids and be queen ... instead we get to see them being young and learning magic, making friends and discovering themselves. I can honestly say I have never read a series like this that was based on the fairy tales :) I loved the first book and cannot wait to read the 2nd by next week and hopefully the 3rd and 4th later this year! I will be saving these books for my daughter when she is old enough to read them :D

    **I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2